We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for Timeshare sales people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #28 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Watch out for Timeshare sales people”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a great resort, big friendly reception, awesome rooms, too far to walk to strip but there is a free shuttle all the time. We checked in and was sent across the lobby to another area and met an extremely friend chap who started saying he would like to give us free breakfast and tickets to a show if we spared and 90 minutes to listen to a presentation. we thought why not, we gave him a $20 deposit and left thinking what a nice chap!! Then!! we thought hang on this is a scam to make you buy timeshares in the resort so we did not attend and lost our $20. We did not appreciate this type stress and recommend either avoid this place of dodge the sales people. Check in and head straight to your room. Next time I would stay much closer to the strip!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlChal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
AlChal thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Desert. We were happy to hear that you were pleased with the accomodations and knew that we have a shuttle available. We truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    748
    189
    73
    54
See reviews for
749
599
40
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Great place to vacation and have a birthday weekend with family and friends. A home away from home. I would definitely book there and vacation at this resort again. They made the experience wonderful and eay without any hassel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tosha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Tosha G thank you so much for your review of the Grand Desert on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear that your birthday weekend was great. We do hope to see you and your family and friends again so we can continue to provide you with lasting memories of Las Vegas.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
covington,la
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My friend and I were offered use of a one bedroom condo by the timeshare owner. Our conference was at another facility but we chose to take the cost saving route and are very glad we did. The one bedroom condo was in Building 2. There was a very spacious living/dining area and a full kitchen with plenty of utensils. The shower and Jacuzzi tub were in separate areas along with 2 separate bathroom sinks. 2 full closets and a washer/dryer added to the convenience. The family and adult pools behind the main building were very nice, well maintained and had lovely landscaping, and having a small private pool at each building was even better. We really appreciated the 24 access to the pool and hot tub. Security was very present and every staff person we came in contact with was friendly and attentive.
The front desk staff and manager on duty went out of their way to correct a reservation error that could have had us on the street, but instead we ended up in our lovely room wit a free bottle of wine.
The location was no problem to us. We could walk 3 blocks to Hard Rock or 3 blocks to strip or take the free shuttle to Harrahs. We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria_rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
maria_m thank you so much for your very detailed review of the Grand Desert. We were so pleased to hear that you took advantage of our pools especially our pool that is open 24/7. We strive to be sure that our guests feel safe on our property and we appreciate you stating that in your review. We hope to see you again soon and we were happy to be a part of your memorable moments on vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge, California
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were celebrating a Bachelor and bachelorette party. We reserved 3 two bedroom suites for the weekend (5/2 to 5/04 fight weekend). We had one suite in each tower (1,2 &3) Tower 1 by far being the winner because all the rooms are the same, but the dining area in the suite in tower one had built in seating which was cool and gave the room character. As far as pool's go the big one that connect tower one and two is nice, but if you want private then tower three pool is for you.

Suits: The rooms were updated, clean and spacious. 1st bed room has two queen beds & the second bedroom is the master with a king size bed, spa tub, standing shower and separate toilet. The living area is kind of small with a pull out sofa bed, table and two really comfy chairs. Kitchenette was fully stocked with dishes and utensils and just the right size. The dining are varies, but can seat 6. Each bedroom and the living area has a 32inch flatscreen tv. The common bathroom is pretty much your standard Las Vegas bathroom. The one we had in tower 3 was faulty, the bottom spout just came off when we turned on the water...CHEAP! The rooms comfortably sleeps 4-7.

Parking: parking was good, there is alot of parking on this property, if you plan on leaving and coming back around 1am it's full. Best thing to do is to park and just grab the shuttle (drop off to Harrarhs) Limo or taxi. You can also walk to the strip or Hard Rock ( it's really close)

Bar: meh

Pool: all the pools were nice...not too crowded.

Check in: So since this property is a time share property they try to get you to go to a "presentation" ...unless you want to , try not to. they hover the parking pass area like vultures waiting to strike. I get it , just trying to make a living, but i've been over seas and all over the U.S. and you get more bee's with honey if you catch my drift.

Property: property was clean, SAFE( Security patrolling 24/7 & towers and elevators require key card) and close enough to the strip.

Bell staff: getting a cab or a ride to your tower is easy. These guys and galls work hard to get you transportation to where you need to go. if your gonna tip, tip these folks!

Over all besides the timeshare thing and the faulty bathroom spout this is a nice property for big groups, family and anyone who wants to be off the strip, but close enough. P.S. No casino.

Room Tip: Tower 1 & 2 are connected by the big pool, tower 3 is separate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJAYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
RJAYR thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Desert. We first off want to apologize for the spout issue in our tower 3 room. From you detailed review we can see that you had a great time and all other accomodations met or exceeded your expectations. We strive to deliver the best experience for our guest. Vegas is the place to have fun especially for bachelors and bachelorettes and we are glad we could be a part of everyones memorable moments. Again, thank you so much for your detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Clean, well appointed, with eveything including popcorn and a blender. Quiet with a great view of the strip and convenient to everything. Loved the no smoking environment and all the great features of this super condo at a great price!

Green Features: Great green conscious products included..shampoo, dishwasher detergent, soap etc.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianneBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
JulianneBradford thank you so much for your positive review of the Grand Desert. We were happy to hear you appreciated the popcorn and blender in your unit. Did you know we have a movie Theater on property with 3D movies. We hope you visit again soon and can take advantage of all we have to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were looking for a 2 bedroom hotel in Vegas and were lucky enough to find the Wyndham Grand Desert. We were very impressed with the security and maintenance. It has a beautiful pool area. The room was very clean and well equipped. We have a relative who is a Las Vegas police officer who informed us that he was impressed with the hotel's security and lack of incidents. That's a great thing to know when staying in Vegas. I would highly recommend this hotel. The only downside is that it is a timeshare and although we were not there as time share guests, they do try to convince you to talk to them about ownership. They have many, many sales people giving tours all day long but if you are not interested, and are very firm about it, they will leave you alone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much mmgm for your review on Trip Advisor of the Grand Desert. We were so happy to hear your stay exceeded your expectations. We truly appreciate your comments concerning our 24/7 security and how you felt safe. We often talk about the number one concern for our guests is safety and we keep that in the forefront of our minds when our guests visit the Grand Desert. We hope to see you and your family and friends again. Thank you again for the time you spent writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This property is well-kept, especially the grounds and plantings. And it's in a great location -- you can easily walk to the MGM, NY NY, and even the Hard Rock Hotel, plus the self-parking was plentiful and safe. We were in Tower # 3 on the tenth floor with a partial Strip view and also to the airport. It's a nice view and the accommodations are just fine, especially the bed, which we found very comfortable. Of course this is a time-share property, so you have the "opportunity" to get a free breakfast with 90-minutes presentation. We did not attend.

The problem we had was noise from the adjoining suite next door (door opening to door type of room), plus from the MGM's afternoon pool party. The people next to us didn't just talk loudly to one another, they shouted. They weren't causing any trouble, they were just (rudely) loud. We asked security to talk to them, and they were a little better after that. Also, and maybe even worse, was the thumping electronic "music" coming from the MGM pool party. Now, this was spring break time, so I imagine they don't do this all the time, but from TH through SAT we heard (felt!) loud, jarring, thumping noise in our room.

Other than that, the stay was fine and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: If you're in Bldg. # 3, which also has a pool open 24-hours which could be a problem for rooms c...
See more room tips
Green Features: There were recycling bins readily available. And there are only a few balconies, thus saving on air conditioning costs.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vintagemary67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you vintagemary67 for your review of the Grand Desert. We appreciate your honest, detailed feedback. We were pleased to hear that the resort accomodations were pleasing and that our associates made you feel at home. We were glad to hear that you alerted security about your concerns of noise. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,269 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,359 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,412 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Desert Rose Resort
#44 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing