We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #27 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location. It's about a 5 minute walk from the strip. They also after shuttle service through 10pm to Harrahs (which is located on the strip). The tower we stayed in was very clean. They have free wifi and a business center. Myself and 5 other friends slept comfortably in a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. They don't offer shuttle service to the airport. The cab ride will cost less than $10.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Todd W,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback as well as the very accurate information you shared on your review. We truly appreciate your contributions to our success and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had peviously stayed at this property and liked it very much. The location is absolutely convenient to the Strip and major arteries to get around Las Vegas. The 2 bedroom unit we rented was well equipped and very clean. The property's pools are large and clean. During our stay, one of the hot tub whirlpools was not operational. The change we noticed the most was the apparent shortage of help- no, not the sales personnel selling the "points", etc., but rather in basic areas like the Oasis (snack bar)- it shouldn't take over one half hour for a simple sandwich during midweek well after lunch- they didn't have enough personnel to sevice the waiting customers. Also, the property provides no routine cleaning services- you dispose of your own waste baskets, etc.- not such a big deal. However, towel supply was less than adequate- we never did get a resupply of bath towels although requested. For a week's stay in hot weather, multiple showers are the norm. Parking availability was generally very good during this non peak period in early May. We passed on the offer to sit for the "owners review"- feedback in the pool indicated it ran well over 90 minutes- high pressure, etc. Overall, a great location, but services were only average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honge76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear honge76,
Thank you very much for the detailed feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at Wyndham Grand Desert. Your comments are really important for our success and we will use them to improve. We do hope you will visit us again soon as I am confident we will exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at the resort for 2 weeks. Overall we had a great stay, the staff are very helpful, the resort very clean. The shuttle service (free), to the strip. To grocery shopping, chocolate factory (minimal charge) was very convenient and timely. No need for a car rental. One of the 2 pools is adult only which was great since we had no kids travelling with us. One drawback was the timeshare sales people using the Oasis Café to conduct their business therefore limiting the number of seats available to the guests.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool from Tower 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadian_Traveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Canadian_Traveller89,
Thank you very much for the great feedback you provided about your resort stay and our convenient location. We really pride ourselves in providing exceptional service! We also appreciate your comments regarding your dining experience regarding the availability of seats in our Oasis Café.
We hope to see you back at Wyndham Grand Desert in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Timeshare owned by a mutual friend. We rented for a week but were only able to stay for 5 days. The way they do it is week by week. So if you can only stay for a few days you still get charged for a week and if you stay for less than a week (7 days) you also have to pay an extra cleaning fee for the days you don't use. This property is big on trying to get guests to purchase timeshares with their holding company which is RCI. Not sure if all the properties that RCI supports are this bad but this one sucked. They offered these little meetings to sign up for timeshares and kept changing the rules. We were supposed to get a free breakfast & amex gift card; free casino play, etc. but this never happened. There is only one restaurant that serves primarily already made/frozen pizza.The only good things about this property were the quick service from the concierge/cleaning staff; they changed the towels and linens everyday, also came with laundry detergent and other things you call for that are needed for the suite swiftly. Another positive was the shuttle bus service which ran every 15 minutes up until midnight. It drops you off and picks you up at a hotel (Venetian) right on the strip. So you really don't need a car unless you plan on doing things off the strip. The workout room and pools were nice too; the jacuzzi was also nice. Did not see a spa nor were we told about it. If you have a timeshare where you are in an exchange program, beware of this property. It's not as nice as some of the others. I will have to shop around before purchasing my own timeshare.

Room Tip: Rooms are chosen for you. It will depend on what type of timeshare the owner has. We only had two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbrink7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Dbrink7,
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the great feedback you have provided about your resort experience. We often get very positive feedback regarding our shuttle and its convenience to the famous Las Vegas Strip. Its drop off point is at Harrah's Hotel & Casino which is very centrally located if you want to see the sights. Thank you also for your comments on our vacation ownership informational sessions, we will use these to improve. We really appreciate you being part of our success!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a great resort, big friendly reception, awesome rooms, too far to walk to strip but there is a free shuttle all the time. We checked in and was sent across the lobby to another area and met an extremely friend chap who started saying he would like to give us free breakfast and tickets to a show if we spared and 90 minutes to listen to a presentation. we thought why not, we gave him a $20 deposit and left thinking what a nice chap!! Then!! we thought hang on this is a scam to make you buy timeshares in the resort so we did not attend and lost our $20. We did not appreciate this type stress and recommend either avoid this place of dodge the sales people. Check in and head straight to your room. Next time I would stay much closer to the strip!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlChal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

AlChal thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Desert. We were happy to hear that you were pleased with the accomodations and knew that we have a shuttle available. We truly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Great place to vacation and have a birthday weekend with family and friends. A home away from home. I would definitely book there and vacation at this resort again. They made the experience wonderful and eay without any hassel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tosha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Tosha G thank you so much for your review of the Grand Desert on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear that your birthday weekend was great. We do hope to see you and your family and friends again so we can continue to provide you with lasting memories of Las Vegas.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My friend and I were offered use of a one bedroom condo by the timeshare owner. Our conference was at another facility but we chose to take the cost saving route and are very glad we did. The one bedroom condo was in Building 2. There was a very spacious living/dining area and a full kitchen with plenty of utensils. The shower and Jacuzzi tub were in separate areas along with 2 separate bathroom sinks. 2 full closets and a washer/dryer added to the convenience. The family and adult pools behind the main building were very nice, well maintained and had lovely landscaping, and having a small private pool at each building was even better. We really appreciated the 24 access to the pool and hot tub. Security was very present and every staff person we came in contact with was friendly and attentive.
The front desk staff and manager on duty went out of their way to correct a reservation error that could have had us on the street, but instead we ended up in our lovely room wit a free bottle of wine.
The location was no problem to us. We could walk 3 blocks to Hard Rock or 3 blocks to strip or take the free shuttle to Harrahs. We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria_rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

maria_m thank you so much for your very detailed review of the Grand Desert. We were so pleased to hear that you took advantage of our pools especially our pool that is open 24/7. We strive to be sure that our guests feel safe on our property and we appreciate you stating that in your review. We hope to see you again soon and we were happy to be a part of your memorable moments on vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,398 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,385 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,747 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £53 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing