We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wyndham Very Comfortable and Accommodating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #30 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wyndham Very Comfortable and Accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A few family members gathered from Ontario, BC and Alberta for a few days in Vegas in May. From May 18 - 25 our base was Wyndham Grand Desert. We had 3 units booked and staff were helpful in accommodating our request for rooms in the same tower/same floor. Free parking was abundant on the property. We had a rental car but used the free shuttle to Harrah's one morning. The friendly driver seemed surprised when we gave her a couple $$ tip. Come on people, stop being so cheap!

Everything worked in our 1-bedroom unit. The jacuzzi tub is in the bedroom, separate from the bathroom where there is a toilet/shower/sink. We went down to the pool one day. Again, lazy people, when you are done with your lounger, remove your towel so people know the lounger is available!

As with most condo properties, this one is a bit off the Strip. That wasn't a problem as we had a car. When we didn't want to drive, we called for cabs down in the lobby. The wait was usually under 5 minutes. A quick call from the room to front desk and we were checked out.

It would have been nice to have more than 1 roll of toilet paper and 1 box of kleenex in the unit as there was lots of room to store them. We didn't run out but it may have been a minor annoyance to wait for housekeeping to deliver. Remember to turn off the ice maker in the fridge before you leave for the day or you may come back to an iceberg in your freezer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvLVEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
LuvLVEdmonton thank you so much for your very detailed review of the Grand Desert. It was great to hear that you enjoyed tha accomodations along with our amenities. As you mentioned our resort is a bit off the Las Vegas strip and we were also happy to hear you took advantage of our free shuttle to Harrah's. We hope that we will have the opportunity to see you and family and friends in the near future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    714
    181
    71
    48
See reviews for
703
565
38
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had an awesome stay. Staff were very friendly. And Thankfully we did not get any pushy timeshare sales person, they did ask us bu we politely declined it. The room as really clean and big with washer and dryer, super plus when you have a family of 5 plus the kitchen was really good too. The Kids enjoyed the hotel activities. We will sure go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you Ana B for your review on TripAdvisor of the Grand Desert. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and that our associates made your experience even more enjoyable. We hope you bring family and friends back soon. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile


The Wyndham Grand Desert was ideal for us. We stayed four nights before setting off for the Grand Canyon. We stayed with my parents and son in a two bedroomed apartment which had two bathrooms and plenty of space. There isn't a casino but that didn't bother us, we were close to the Strip and it provided us with a break from it. A free shuttle is available to take you to the strip but it was easy enough to walk. The staff were very helpful and the apartment was very clean. We loved the family pool. It's timeshare and we were approached once but having declined the offer to attend a presentation we were left in peace.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank New L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
New L thank you so much for your review of the Grand Desert on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your amenities including our shuttle. We strive to be sure that our property is clean from top to bottom and we thank you for noticing our efforts.
We hope to see you again and hope that you share your experience at the Grand Desert with family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Check in was great. Room ready early and Kimberly was wonderful. You get your room key immediately and if you'd like, you can go on up to your room or head to the next station for your "welcome package". If you don't want to do a timeshare presentation, avoid the welcome package desk. Bellmen are in the same direction as the welcome desk, it is the smaller station to the right.

We are Wyndham/ Worldmark owners and opted to take the presentation since we've avoided them for the last decade or so, as we own 3 other timeshares.

Room was your average 2 BR condo at a nice place. No balcony which is a total bummer and if you smoke you will hate it because the only designated smoking area was down 9 floors, though the family pool area, up the ramp, then up the stairs, then through the adult pool area, then back. not worth the effort. You can also smoke at the bottom of the elevator shaft and outside the lobby in front. Not really big enough for 8 adults. I would bring no more than 5. You will be cramped. Small dressers and micro closets.

Bed was hard and lumpy. Mattress pad needed replaced a long time ago. Sheets have been so badly bleached in hot water so many times they had shrunk and no longer fit the bed. Fitted sheet kept popping off and the top sheet was queen sixed on a king bed.

Plenty of hot water with good water pressure. Bath towels are small and sub standard. Pool towels are great so we ended up using them instead. (Not supposed to though). Bathroom lighting is poor but there is a lighted magnifying make up mirror that more than made up for it.

Several items in the room were broken, but maintenance was there in 10-15 minutes each time and they can't know what the previous occupants didn't report.

Pools were a disappointment. On several occasions we couldn't get pool chairs, get there early as they fill up quickly in the morning. The afternoon sun starts to fade around 2:15 as the pools sit between two tall towers. It took 3 days before we found out there was a cocktail waitress. She's very nice but its a hit or miss for service. We ended up mostly bringing our own drinks down in a small cooler. Pool music consists of mainstream pop hits from the last 5 decades. Nothing current. No rock, no country, not our thing but it was ok. Could have turned it up a notch or two though.

The staff was excellent and definitely one of the best I've run across in over 50 vacation exchanges. Even on their breaks, they were friendly, courteous and helpful.

The location is great. Its right next to the Hard Rock. We went there for the GNR concert and then the next night for Bumblefoot.

Timeshare presentation was the worst ever. Our guy Edgar was great but the next guy he passes you onto was a nasty old jerk. He insulted us, lied to us and did everything in his power to upset us. Our time was wasted. The 90 minutes took 3 hours, an hour and a half of it was wasted time just waiting and waiting. Had they just got down to numbers with us, there would have easily been a 50/50 shot or better that we would have purchased more points and upgraded to their VIP level. I still might, but it looks like I'm gonna have to research the program on my own and see if its for me. Time spent waiting could have been answering questions and updating me on their Wyndham Club Pass and Club Wyndham. At least I can catch this on an upcoming Webinar or maybe I'll do it when I join them in Hawaii 2 months from now. NOT. I'm going to Hawaii and staying at their resort but I will never sit through a Wyndham presentation ever again.

Room Tip: Don't bring more than 5 people for a 2 BR or you will be cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trekingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you trekingirl for your detailed review of the Grand Desert. We appreciate all of the comments concerning the resort and assure you we will address each and every one of them with our depts. We were so pleased that Kimberly made a great impression on you to mention her in your review. We hope that you visit us again and if there is anything we can do to make your next trip more enjoyable we would love to hear from you. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

When we checked into the hotel, I asked the front desk agent for a room close to the elevator. We received the furthest room from the elevator.
Two of friends signed up for the timeshare sales-pitch. We were told for about an hour of time they would receive discounts on show tickets, breakfast, and a gift card. It was about 5 hours. They did eat and received an AMEX gift card. One of my friends bought a timeshare points thingy. No discounts on show tickets.
Check out was $10am. Late checkout would cost an additional $135 on Sunday.
The room was nice and comfortable.
I prefer Palms Place and Trump Towers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alwayschels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
alwayschels I want to thank you for your thoughts on the time you spent at the Grand Desert. Please be assured that we will address your comments internally. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and we apologize for falling below in this case. Thank you again for your feeback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

With 5 people traveling in our family the tradition motel room normally doesn't fit and booking suites and units can always be a challenge. When we booked into the Wyndam Grand Desert we were extremely impressed. From great service to the best bit being the quality and size of the two bedroom suite. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jock L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you Jock L for your review on TripAdvisor of the Grand Desert. We were so happy to hear that our accomodations and amenities exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you gain. When traveling with 4 or 5 people it does make sense to have accomodations that will make your experience pleasant. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham Grand Desert complex 18 May – 28 May 2014, I will list the good points before the bad. The apartment had everything we needed. We eat out when on holiday but there was a coffee machine, cooker, microwave. We made full use of the large fridge and freezer. And a bonus was the washing machine and dryer – a real treat to bring home a suitcase of clean clothes for a change! I would recommend this apartment to travellers who know Vegas well and do not feel the need to stay on the Strip. We actually enjoyed the walk every morning, just 5 minutes to reach Planet Hollywood. Bad points - I did not appreciate being given a full-on sales pitch after having travelled for 24 hours. The associate was unwilling to give me the required parking ticket, when all I wanted was to sleep. The next morning another associate called our room trying to sell us an apartment; for the rest of our time there we just didn’t answer the ‘phone! The one bad design in the apartment is the lack of mirrors – just one in the bathroom. I needed a makeup mirror and a full length mirror; I had to shower, then vacate the room so that my partner could shower, returning then to finish my makeup and hair preparations. One evening the bathroom lights failed completely, but they were fixed very quickly after we reported the fault. The other problem during our stay was the noise of the planes – we have stayed in the same road at other establishments for the past 13 years and the noise has never annoyed us like it did at Wyndham. When we were ready to leave, I asked a member of staff for a final invoice; she very rudely told me she was a salesperson, not reception staff. I felt very belittled. I watched her speak in the same manner to another guest. Despite these concerns, I would consider staying at the Wyndham Grand Desert again, only because the price and location suited me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 227vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much 227vegas for your very detailed review of the Grand Desert. First off we want to apologize for the rudeness of an associate. We at Grand Desert strive to make every interaction with an associate a pleasant and memorable one. We were on the other hand so pleased to hear that you our amenities and location made for a comfortable vacation. Detailed reviews like yours help us to get better. Again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Desert Rose Resort
#51 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing