We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very guest friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #30 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UAE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not very guest friendly.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was our first time to Las Vegas and we travelled with family. This property is quite a walk from the strip and annoyingly the last free shuttle from this hotel is at 2200hrs-- Its Vegas...you start partying only late here. The hotel is clean and there are two pools one for adults and other for families with children; which was nice. The other annoying bit was that you constantly have a stream of visitors in the lobby and public areas; when we asked we were told that this is some kind of timeshare thing..so the sales people are constantly roping in people to visit the hotel. As you relax by the pool you can see the visitors walking by...one wouldn't want that on a holiday. Lastly their checkout time is 1000hrs--we tried to get an extension as we had our mum and kids travelling with us; but no exception was made. We had to then spend time in the humidity near the pool area till our flight time. If you are looking to have a good time in Vegas; do skip this hotel as there are many better places to stay near the strip.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benedita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you Benedita for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Grand Desert. I am surprised to hear that you encountered some associates that were not friendly because this is our number one priority to ensure that our guests who are on vacation are as happy as can be.
You had mentioned in your review about our two pools. We actually have three pools and perhaps our third pool might have suited you better since we don't show potential owners that pool during a tour and you might have felt more comfortable at that pool. We hope that you allow us to show you the amazing side of the Grand Desert in the future?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    738
    184
    72
    52
See reviews for
727
592
39
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Wyndham Grand Desert. Although it was a Vacational Resort (timeshare) as long as you tell them from the start that you are not interested in purchasing you will not be hounded. I was in a double suite in Tower 3 and I really didn't need for anything. The apartment had everything I needed including a washer and dryer which meant that I bought home no dirty laundry. Bonus. The main Vegas strip was about a fifteen minute pleasant walk to the MGM. There was also a free shuttle bus every twenty minutes to and from the Harrahs hotel (middle of the strip) and for $5 a shuttle will take you to the supermarket to stock up on essentials. Tower 3 had its own pool and jacuzzi and gym. In the main tower there was also a large family pool and an adult pool with bar. I would definitely stay at the Wyndham Grand Desert again. There was no casino but that suited me fine as I had uninterrupted sleep being that small distance away from the main strip. In my opinion for a reasonably priced hotel this resort is a must. Enjoy......

Room Tip: From my room I could see the Eiffel Tower at the Paris Hotel and Casino.
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything about the hotel was environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dawn B thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us at the Grand Desert. When I read reviews like yours I know that we are doing the right thing when it comes to guest satisfaction. We try to offer amenities like our shuttle to the grocery store and Harrah's because that's what our guests have asked for in the past. We are so pleased that you had a great experience and we hope to see you and family and friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We booked at the resort for a week, it is a beautiful resort! The resort is very well maintained, we had a one bedroom, it was well stocked, we were on the 6th floor the view from the elevator was breath taking!! Staff was helpful and friendly. They do have a store it's kind of expensive but I guess that should be expected. The pool and the outdoor common areas are beautiful. We did get takeout from the cafe a couple of times, it was pretty good. I think it would be great if they had a restaurant on site, it would have been nice to have a nice dinner on site at least once. The only thing I had a problem with are the sales people that are there trying to sale you a vacation home, they are like vultures!!!! We sat in a meeting to get info and to try to make a informed decision because it was something we had been considering. You are offered a free lunch that you can't eat in peace because the salesperson is talking at the table in your face asking 100 questions! We weren't looking to make a decision that day but you practically have to! We were on vacation!!! The word no was like a new concept, it was borderline like being bullied! Don't get caught up on the free prizes just enjoy your time there! I would go back again just know to bypass the sales people.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much Casandra C for taking the time to write a positive review of your stay with us at the Grand Desert. I apologize for the presure you experienced during your sales presentation. We hope that we can have an opportunity to sit with you again at another time to provide you with the chance to become part of our timeshare family? We were so happy to hear that our associates provided you with an atmosphere of happiness while you were with us. Please visit us again with family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in Vegas for a week with our kids--ages 18,15,12. The property was beautiful. Kids enjoyed the game room and movie theatre. The family pool was clean and nice--always plenty of towels and lounge chairs. Adult pool had cabanas available to rent as well as a pool bar and waitresses. We had a 2BR unit that faced the pool-the views were lovely. Room was very clean and well equipped. When a few additional guests joined us later in the week, we had rented a 3BR unit that faced the strip. This room was very large and again--the views of Vegas were great. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Quick to bring up extra pillows, blankets etc. The onsite restaurant was good--the kids enjoyed the pizza of course. Also had smoothies, salads, wraps etc. The onsite bar had friendly staff and a few slot machines to entertain you if you're up for the gamble. Conveniently located--within walking distance of the strip, but the onsite shuttle to Harrah's was very convenient as well.

GREAT stay-Loved the resort!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sblank23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much sblank23 for the positive detailed review of your stay with us at the Grand Desert. We are so pleased that your entire family enjoyed all of our amenities. Reading your review I sensed you thought we had a bit of something for everyone in your family. We hope that you tell family and friends about your stay at the Grand Desert and of course we hope that we will get the pleasure of you and your family staying with us in the future? Thank you again for taking the time to write your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel.

I'm not sure if its for everyone, but the rooms and great, large and clean. The pool, albeit a little small on the weekends, and if honest quite adult themed, was good. The gym excellent.

The food and venue was average, Casino based so a little dark and smokey.

The cinema on sight was brilliant. Never seen so many great films and just outside is a lovely evening walk through shops and loads of restaurants.

There was just something thats perhaps was missing, that little delight factor. There were absolutely stunning pool side waitresses, lifeguards from Baywatch and perhaps that was the mix...it was just a little mixed up in what it was trying to attract.... but I may just be mad, picky, old or all the above.

I don't think I would go there with my family, but if i was going there with the guys or a stag then i'm not sure either....yet it was brilliant..

Room Tip: poolside view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocHappyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you do much DocHappyTom for your positive review of your stay with us at the Grand Desert. We appreciate the time you took to write the detailed review. We hope that in the future if you are traveling with adults you will decide to stay with us? Thank you again for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here with our two kids for 2 nights. Beautil fully equipt apartment. Free shuttle service to Harra's, just perfect! Check-in service was quick and so was the check-out (by phone!). And is was all so very clean!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel230468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Rachel1230468 Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review of your stay at the Grand Desert. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to have you and your family stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Love this place. My family of 3 toddlers enjoy every stay. Also when my husband and I travel alone it's perfect. Only thing they really want to sell you to hold stocks. Always clean areas and the maintenance responde well. I found that out when my little one put to much toilet paper in the toilet they came took care of it and super cleaned the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Nancy M thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive review about your visit to the Grand Desert. We are so pleased that you had a great time while you were with us. Please visit us again in the future with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,156 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,326 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,628 reviews
Desert Rose Resort
#51 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,771 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing