We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,549)
Filter reviews
2,549 results
Traveller rating
1,284
875
233
84
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,284
875
233
84
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews time share full kitchen free shuttle bedroom deluxe parking pass adult pool off the strip washer and dryer family pool sales pitch activity center timeshare presentation timeshare resort shuttle service pools and hot tubs main tower nice resort
Filter
Updating list...
2,084 - 2,089 of 2,549 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We recently stayed at the Wyndham Grand Desert for a week with our two teenage girls. Looking for a place to get away with the "family", we were a little hesitant to pick Vegas, but the Wyndham property eliminated any of our concerns. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was spacious and very clean, with everything that a family needs for an enjoyable vacation.

When booking the hotel we actually expected the hotel to be farther from the strip than it was. Upon arrival it was in a great "off-strip" location and a VERY quick drive (less than 5 minutes) away from any entertainment. There was also a free shuttle that many guests were taking advantage of. Although it was possible, walking to the strip probably wouldn't be the method of choice for most people (especially when hot).

The hotel had 3 pools and a few spas, although there were 2 main pools: one for adults and one for families. The family pool was just the right size for us, not super huge and fancy like some of the hotels that charge a cover to swim, but comfortable for guests that want to enjoy the sun and water with kids (definitely not a drunk party atmosphere, although adult beverages were sold for those interested a little ways away at the adult pool ). In addition to the pool, we enjoyed playing pool, video games, and even checked out a board game from the entertainment room on site.

Although I'd probably pass on this hotel if I was planning a bachelor party, the hotel is perfect for families with teens or younger children, or couples of any age. Parking is easy, rooms are spacious and clean, and "what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas" is only a few minutes, or a shuttle ride away!

Mark
FYI - As a disabled traveler, this hotel was accessible and provided suitable accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sactosource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We spent two nights at the Wyndham Grand Desert while our daughter/husband and children (teen and 5 y/o) spent a time share week. We were able to get adjoining and connecting rooms. They had a larger unit with two bathrooms and a large dining/kitchen area. We had a small kitchen/living room area. This was perfect for visiting with great "Nana and Papa time". The two pools (one adult and one family/children) were excellent for family or adult fun in the sun or just working on the suntan! I personally found the phone call to remind us of the 10 a.m. check out time and an insistent suggestion that we do a "wake up call" annoying (it is a time share property that does "hotel" accomodations). Our room was a bit small (but we were not in it enough for this to be a problem) and otherwise comfortable. The property in general was in excellent condition, everything worked, and we were not bothered by noise. The air temperature was up to 108 during our stay but the room air conditioning worked quite well. The location is excellent for walking to the strip! We took advantage of the "mini kitchen" and prepared our breakfasts in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We've stayed here many times. It is a lot more crowded than it used to be. It would be an excellent place to stay with childred. They have a noisy pool for kids/families and an adult pool. If you must have sun forget it past about 3 or 4 p.m. because it's all in the shade by then. The rooms are in perfect condition. They offer lots of activities for all ages.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunnieinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This was our first time to Las Vegas. We are Wyndham timeshare owners. We had a 1 bedroom unit and it was perfect. The location is off the strip which some may find "inconvenient". However, if you have a car (which I HIGHLY recommend!!) then it's no problem. There's plenty of parking too. The location is convenient - 10 min drive from airport, 2 min drive to the "strip", and great side streets to avoid traffic on LV blvd. The unit was spacious and had everything we needed - full kitchen, washer/dryer, ironing board, and whirlpool. There are 3 pools so we never felt over-crowded. There's an onsite cafe in the main tower that served pretty yummy food. The only downside is that WiFi is an additional charge. We paid $30 for the week. My personal opinion is that EVERY hotel/timeshare should have FREE WiFi these days! It annoyed me that Super Motel 8 across the street advertised free WiFi - UGH! Hopefully one-day they will upgrade the timeshare unit and join the cyber world and have in-room WiFi available to all their guests at no additional charge.

If you are a first-timer to Las Vegas, here's the best advice I got from some friends who frequent vegas - RENT A CAR! That was the best thing we did. There is sooooo much walking in vegas. The hotels are massive and all you do is walk. It is so convenient to drive to a hotel and park in their self parking lots for FREE. Trust me, after you park... you will WALK! On our first day in vegas, we chose to leave the car at the hotel and walk. It was about 110-degrees out and we walked for almost 5 hrs and only saw Planet Hollywood. Needless to say, we drove for the rest of the time. Also, if you choose to walk and stay at this hotel, the walk can be "scary" in the evening. All the more reason to drive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowergirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My husband, parents, brother and sister in law all met in Las Vegas for a Labor Day weekend getaway. We'd gotten a two bed/two bath unit for all of us. If a three bedroom was available, it would have been perfect, but a two bedroom unit worked for us. Our unit had a great view of the strip, as we were on the 14th floor. The unit was very clean and spacious.
My group spent some time downstairs at the pool(s), there's a family pool and an adults only pool, which was very nice. We also really enjoyed the small cafe just off the adult pool.
The resort offers a free shuttle to the strip, but we had our own cars, so it wasn't needed. It's a really nice service, though. The location is decent, but a bit away from the strip by a few minutes.
We really enjoyed this resort and will definitely return soon!
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTOATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews