We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic family friendly hotel in vegas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #27 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Stayed here for a week in May and have to say it was a quiet oasis in the heart of wild vegas!
Easy walk to the strip - if feeling enegetic but i would advise (especially if you have kids) to drive to another hotel and park in their carpark - for free. There is lots of walking beware!!!
I tuly believe this is an excellent location, they offer free shuttles to and from Harrahs and were regular and reliable in our experience.
Concierge and the all general staff were extremely knowledgeable and gave great tips on where to go and eat.
Ellis Island was great for cheap and lovely food.
Now for the resort itself. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was modern, fully furnished and immaculately clean. Loved the welcome pack with the free popcorn - nice touch. We had a room overlooking the pools which was great.
Felt very safe in this hotel and it was always quiet - only negative is that the elevators/lifts were an absolute nightmare as you had to put your room key in to take you to the floor you needed and i seemes to have the knack of demagnetising my room key!!!
Other than that it was faultless - the staff went out of their way to help you and make your holiday special. The family pool was great and the two jaquzzis/spa. There was lots of entertainment along the pool side and the female singer was excellent - loved the music quiz. Never found a problem getting a lounger there always seemed to be plenty to go around. It was a shame that the pool was in the shade most of the afternoon, but having said that it was perfect for the kids as it ensured they stayed out of the sun in the incredible heat!
If i was to return to Vegas with the kids i would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukidsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,752 - 1,758 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

We recently stayed at the Wyndham Grand Desert for a week with our two teenage girls. Looking for a place to get away with the "family", we were a little hesitant to pick Vegas, but the Wyndham property eliminated any of our concerns. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was spacious and very clean, with everything that a family needs for an enjoyable vacation.

When booking the hotel we actually expected the hotel to be farther from the strip than it was. Upon arrival it was in a great "off-strip" location and a VERY quick drive (less than 5 minutes) away from any entertainment. There was also a free shuttle that many guests were taking advantage of. Although it was possible, walking to the strip probably wouldn't be the method of choice for most people (especially when hot).

The hotel had 3 pools and a few spas, although there were 2 main pools: one for adults and one for families. The family pool was just the right size for us, not super huge and fancy like some of the hotels that charge a cover to swim, but comfortable for guests that want to enjoy the sun and water with kids (definitely not a drunk party atmosphere, although adult beverages were sold for those interested a little ways away at the adult pool ). In addition to the pool, we enjoyed playing pool, video games, and even checked out a board game from the entertainment room on site.

Although I'd probably pass on this hotel if I was planning a bachelor party, the hotel is perfect for families with teens or younger children, or couples of any age. Parking is easy, rooms are spacious and clean, and "what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas" is only a few minutes, or a shuttle ride away!

Mark
FYI - As a disabled traveler, this hotel was accessible and provided suitable accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sactosource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We spent two nights at the Wyndham Grand Desert while our daughter/husband and children (teen and 5 y/o) spent a time share week. We were able to get adjoining and connecting rooms. They had a larger unit with two bathrooms and a large dining/kitchen area. We had a small kitchen/living room area. This was perfect for visiting with great "Nana and Papa time". The two pools (one adult and one family/children) were excellent for family or adult fun in the sun or just working on the suntan! I personally found the phone call to remind us of the 10 a.m. check out time and an insistent suggestion that we do a "wake up call" annoying (it is a time share property that does "hotel" accomodations). Our room was a bit small (but we were not in it enough for this to be a problem) and otherwise comfortable. The property in general was in excellent condition, everything worked, and we were not bothered by noise. The air temperature was up to 108 during our stay but the room air conditioning worked quite well. The location is excellent for walking to the strip! We took advantage of the "mini kitchen" and prepared our breakfasts in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We've stayed here many times. It is a lot more crowded than it used to be. It would be an excellent place to stay with childred. They have a noisy pool for kids/families and an adult pool. If you must have sun forget it past about 3 or 4 p.m. because it's all in the shade by then. The rooms are in perfect condition. They offer lots of activities for all ages.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This was our first time to Las Vegas. We are Wyndham timeshare owners. We had a 1 bedroom unit and it was perfect. The location is off the strip which some may find "inconvenient". However, if you have a car (which I HIGHLY recommend!!) then it's no problem. There's plenty of parking too. The location is convenient - 10 min drive from airport, 2 min drive to the "strip", and great side streets to avoid traffic on LV blvd. The unit was spacious and had everything we needed - full kitchen, washer/dryer, ironing board, and whirlpool. There are 3 pools so we never felt over-crowded. There's an onsite cafe in the main tower that served pretty yummy food. The only downside is that WiFi is an additional charge. We paid $30 for the week. My personal opinion is that EVERY hotel/timeshare should have FREE WiFi these days! It annoyed me that Super Motel 8 across the street advertised free WiFi - UGH! Hopefully one-day they will upgrade the timeshare unit and join the cyber world and have in-room WiFi available to all their guests at no additional charge.

If you are a first-timer to Las Vegas, here's the best advice I got from some friends who frequent vegas - RENT A CAR! That was the best thing we did. There is sooooo much walking in vegas. The hotels are massive and all you do is walk. It is so convenient to drive to a hotel and park in their self parking lots for FREE. Trust me, after you park... you will WALK! On our first day in vegas, we chose to leave the car at the hotel and walk. It was about 110-degrees out and we walked for almost 5 hrs and only saw Planet Hollywood. Needless to say, we drove for the rest of the time. Also, if you choose to walk and stay at this hotel, the walk can be "scary" in the evening. All the more reason to drive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowergirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My husband, parents, brother and sister in law all met in Las Vegas for a Labor Day weekend getaway. We'd gotten a two bed/two bath unit for all of us. If a three bedroom was available, it would have been perfect, but a two bedroom unit worked for us. Our unit had a great view of the strip, as we were on the 14th floor. The unit was very clean and spacious.
My group spent some time downstairs at the pool(s), there's a family pool and an adults only pool, which was very nice. We also really enjoyed the small cafe just off the adult pool.
The resort offers a free shuttle to the strip, but we had our own cars, so it wasn't needed. It's a really nice service, though. The location is decent, but a bit away from the strip by a few minutes.
We really enjoyed this resort and will definitely return soon!
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTOATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Stayed here because my brother is a Wyndham owner. Got a 2 BR suite which has the living area and kitchen in between the two bedrooms. Layout very similar to other Wyndham resorts which means the master bathroom has no door or partition between it and the bedroom. So if you're staying with friends, then everyone has to be booted when someone takes a shower in the master bathroom.

Otherwise a very nice property that's very well maintained. There's a handful of things to note - there is only one elevator bank so unless you want to walk all the way down the building's wings, get a suite closer to the elevator. Also along the same lines - for security purposes the only entrance into the building from the parking lot is at the lobby, so try to park as close to the entrance as you can. They also charge for wifi - though there are plenty of computers for use at the business center. However, I have Verizon DSL at home and got free wifi as part of Verizon's partnership with the wifi provider there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coloneltigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,398 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,385 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,745 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £51 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing