We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Visit”
Review of Casino Royale

Casino Royale
Ranked #107 of 458 things to do in Las Vegas
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
273 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“Another Great Visit”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We enjoyed gambling at Casino Royale again this year. We actually had a couple of the $1.99 foot long hot dogs this time, and they were awesome! The $3 crap table is now a $5 table, but the atmosphere was still just as lively as ever, with people cheering and clapping with almost every roll of the dice. One older lady went almost 30 minutes without rolling a seven, and people really made some money on that roll.

Good times, great casino....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Gizmo311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    170
    78
    32
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gamble, Kamikazes, and get yelled at by the staff!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

It was another successful, fun yearly Vegas vacation for the 3 of us college buddies. We stayed across the street at the Mirage (see separate review), but we gambled at Casino Royale 4 nights in a row and had a blast!!

Played craps every night at their $5 tables with 20x or 100x odds. $1 Michelob at the bar. But, we tipped our server Emily (she works a lot) every drink that came around and she appreciated it. She nearly became our exclusive drink server. Awesome!

Each of us were yelled at by the craps staff at some point in the trip. Haha! You just have to have a good attitude about it. They run a tight ship over there. Many of the craps "dealers" were angry, and looked like they'd been trapped in that smoky little casino for about 30 years without getting much sunlight.
However, a $5 or $10 tip meant the world to them, and they were as soft as butter after that.

It's like having a much smaller, smokier casino smack in the middle of the giant ultra-modern Vegas billion dollar casinos. A nice throwback to unhealthier times if you will.

** There is a $1 fee for withdrawing money from the ATM there! That's it $1. How cool is that?!?

Helpful?
5 Thank medmike07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Only visited the casino, but it was worth a review.”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

After many years, I once again visited Las Vegas. The strip has changed so much, but one thing that I found refreshing was the friendliness of the casino staff at Casino Royale. From the people manning the 'free pull' slot machines outside, to the restaurant workers in the back, this took me back to a simpler Las Vegas...you can still get a hot dog here for $1.99!

My husband and I used to gamble here because there were so many low-bet slots. Obviously the rest of the strip learned their lesson...and now have penny slots, as well. But the Casino Royale crew add that extra "Vegas" feel from days gone by...if you want a taste of it, without going downtown, visit Casino Royale...

BTW....WHAT happened to the Stardust, The Silver Slipper, The Desert Inn and The Frontier???? (Just kidding...they are now either lots waiting to be developed, or classy and glitzy new hotel/casinos...*smile*)

Helpful?
4 Thank kmarq55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good news: low minimums Bad news: rude dealers”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The tables have low minimums which draws a financial-appropriate and beginner crowd and the slots are as loose as they get in Las Vegas if you understand that there are no loose slots as we used to think of them anywhere to be found in LV, the entire town, on the strip, downtown, or in the suburbs, having tightened the odds against you in this economy.

Another reason the place crawls with drunkards are the cheap margaritas & bottle beer.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rfkiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Casino is horrible looking, some of the machines are old and even rigged. They gave out 400 dollar coupons at the Venetian which were only valid on "promotion" machines which are really old and horrible and you don't actually win anything at all. And even if you win something, you can't pull the money out. It was a waste of time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Akriti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casino Royale also viewed

 

Been to Casino Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing