We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently placed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South
Ranked #117 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is handily placed close to the airport. We were only staying for two nights en-route to a rafting tour of the Grand Canyon. We couldn't locate a shuttle bus at the airport so had to catch a cab, which wasn't very expensive. The hotel does have a shuttle to the airport but it runs to a fixed half-hourly schedule; easy to organise when going to the airport. They also have a shuttle to The Strip, dropping off at New York, New York. From there you can get the monorail to other places.
The hotel was standard fare but perfectly acceptable. The night porter was rather extrovert or else had been on something, but polite and he did the job. The hotel was also very happy to let us leave our bags there for ten days while we rafted, even though we weren't staying the night on our return.
One thing I was unhappy with was the disposable cups, plates and cutlery at breakfast, but this wasteful practice seems to be standard at US hotels. It's time they got some environmental awareness.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan1fromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Good Holiday Inn. Near major roadway so this is a travel dream for anyone passing through or going to the airport early. We did request first floor and it was not available but they have an elevator if needed. Just OK but adequate for a short stay. If you want the Vegas life stay somewhere more expensive or take a cab. This is a place for rest. Will stay here again when flying.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatTabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear KatTabler,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy you found our location convenient and you had an adequate rest. It is always hugely motivating to read positive feedback from valued guests like you.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again soon.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here March 7,8, 9 2013. In town for a volleyball tournament so hotel prices were high. $120 a night. We arrived from Southern Ca late and asked for a non smoking room. They said they didn't have any. We were placed in a smoking room but told we could move the next day. Mentioned fans and room spray for the room but it never came. Ironically we moved EARLY the next morning and obviously no one had stayed in the room the previous night. I guess they were waiting for the Queen of England or some poor soul who was going to pay $140 plus for a room. Once we moved in it was off to volleyball. The breakfast was fine, better than I eat at home. The beds were good. Room was clean. Bathroom towels were plentiful. Housekeeping was responsive.

Noise is a factor. We were on the top floor. Good thing but, and I am going to put this in the tips area too. DO NOT get a room that faces the street (front) on Monday- Thursday nights if you are a light sleeper. The amount of big rig traffic going down the street was incredible and they all downshift right at the light. Saturday was fine. Do bring ear plugs if you need. My family didn't notice it at all and slept just fine, I was not so lucky.

Staff was unobtrusive, breakfast workers were nice. Work out room has 3 pieces of equipment.

Shuttle runs on the half hours. We took the one to New York New York and then walked around on the strip and took it back so we didn't have to hassle with parking. Not super convenient but workable. The shuttles share with other nearby hotels that are very similar in style, offerings and cost so do compare prices if you want to be away from the casino hotels.

Room Tip: Monday through Thursday ask for a room away from the front, facing the back if you are a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDPadres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a job interview in the Las Vegas area. The company with which I interviewed set up the reservation as it is a hotel they regularly use. The hotel is very nice and the staff is excellent. A hot breakfast is included and it was really good. The hotel offers a shuttle to the Las Vegas strip, to Mandalay Bay and also to New York New York. I used the shuttle and it was right on time. No problem. Only two very minor drawbacks. I could hear people in the next room, Secondly, the shuttle to the airport does not run 24 hours a day, so I had to take a cab for my 0600 flight for $23. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobVMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We've actually stayed at this hotel on 2 previous visits and had nice stays which is why we came back, however our most recent stay(April 26th and 27th) was exceptiionally bad. We arrived early on Friday at about noon and Justin was working the front desk. We did not request to check-in early, but we did request a top-floor room as we did when we made our reservation. Foot traffic noise in this hotel is exceptionally bad. Every person's footstep sounds like a loud bass drum, so if you're a light sleeper, you need to be on the top floor or you're going to have a long, miserable night. So when we politely asked Jason about a room on the top floor, he said, "Sure, I can get you one of those" He wrote down our names on a scrap sheet of paper and told us he'd call us when the room was ready. By 3:30pm we had not received a call so we decided to head back to the hotel since we were near the area. When we tried to check-in with Justin, he said, "Okay, I've got you in a room on the 2nd floor." We asked why he put us there when we specifically requested the top floor from him only 3.5 hours ago. He said, "Sorry, I'll put you back on the waiting list". So we had to continue to wait. When we came back about 6pm, a different person was working the front desk. She said, "Sorry we won't have any more rooms on the top floor tonight. I don't know what Justin told you, but they're simply not available now". So they basically gave those rooms to someone else. Here's where it gets really bad. This woman apologized for the situation and said, "Here, I'm going to block off a top-floor room for you tomorrow night so you'll be guaranteed a top-floor room tomorrow." We said "thank you" and managed to sleep on and off despite the fact that she placed in a room that bordered the stairwell and we got to hear people running up and down the stairs all night, and we got to stand in 5 inches of water in the shower since it didn't drain properly. Now, the next day, we try to check-in early and Justin says, "Your room should be available in a few minutes". So we waited there at the hotel for 90 minutes just to watch Justin walk out the door for the day and the new woman(same woman as day before) promptly tell us that there won't be any rooms available for another 2 hours. I verified with her that she still had that room blocked off for us and she said "yes". So we headed out and when we later returned that evening to our "guaranteed" top-floor room, and the new guy at the front desk says, "Sorry, I see that she blocked off a top-floor room for you, but for some 'unknown' reason, I don't have one for you". Someone at the front desk that afternoon/evening basically unblocked it and gave it to someone else. So the front desk staff there basically lies to your face, kicks the ball down the rood and points their finger at the previous shift, and steals rooms from each other, Also, despite leaving a tip for housekeeping on our first night's stay, they decided to keep my iPhone charger instead of turning it in to the front desk. So they're a pack of thieves who steal even when you are nice enough to leave a tip. Overall, a horrible stay at this Holiday Express which is unfortunate because we've had 2 nice stays in the past which led us to stay again on our recent trip. We will absolutely never be back.

Room Tip: You have to be on the top-floor or else you'll be listening to very very very loud foot traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager45963, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for posting your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I would like to extend a sincere apology for the way your request was handled during your check inn process and would like the opporunity to speak with you further. Please contact me directly at 702-736-0098. Sincerely,
Sarah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel was convenient for doing business in Las Vegas. Near major streets, easy in and out. The hotel was very clean with a friendly staff. Their amenities were above standard for an average hotel. Internet access and breakfasst always appreciated. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Room Tip: 418 is a great room, two queens with a small view of the strip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spolar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Spolar999,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found the hotel to your liking and I will pass on your comments about the staff being friendly and helpful to them all, it’s always nice to hear we are getting it right.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this quiet, very good located small hotel. They have a shuttle that takes you to the Strip. The New York New York stop is excellent but the Mandalay Bay stop is a disaster – in the middle of nowhere. There were refrigerator and microwave only at the executive rooms. One night we stayed in a regular room and had no refrigerator for our cold water. The nice thing is that they encourage you to prepare sandwitches and take them away, and supply a nice bag for take away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Hampton Inn Las Vegas/Summerlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#27 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,300 reviews
Hyatt Place Las Vegas
#64 of 264 in Las Vegas
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South

Address: 5760 Polaris Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89118-3102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#69 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £97 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****Renovated Hotel**** Fridges,Microwaves and safes in all rooms. State of the art exercise facility. Stay Smart and welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South. We are located minutes from McCarran International Airport (LAS) and 6 miles from the Las Vegas Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South is just minutes away from the famous 'Las Vegas Strip' and Las Vegas Speedway, host of NASCAR. Guests visiting Las Vegas for business or pleasure can easily access the I-15 and I-215 routes or use our complimentary shuttle service to and from Aria, Town Square Shopping Center and Mandalay Bay. Our shuttle operates daily from 6:30 AM - 11:00 PM making visiting Las Vegas convenient. The Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South makes comfort a top priority with our free Express Start breakfast, relaxing Jacuzzi, heated outdoor pool, fitness center, free high-speed wireless Internet in each guest room and lobby and the use of our free business center that is available 24 hours a day. Local businesses, universities, and attractions near hotel: UNLV, IBM, Triaga, Konami Gaming, IGT, Pepsi, American Family Insurance, MGM, Excalibur, Luxor, New York New York, Belz Outlet Center, Town Square and Fashion Show Shopping Center. Planning your next meeting, sports tournament or family reunion in Las Vegas? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South Hotel Las Vegas
Holiday Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing