We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 stars the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South
Ranked #119 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
germantown tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 stars the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

the front desk, brain david,lisa,and janel was very kind and wonderful.i couldnt believe how wonderful this place was.this was a good location,and best for your money.thank every body for been so kind and nice keep up the good job

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armstrong72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    150
    56
    23
    9
See reviews for
105
86
23
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

This hotel is a great place to stay, even better if you have Priority points. Just to the side of Mandalay Bay and close to many food outlets and next to a gas station..The staff are helpul, the hotel is great, free wi fi, wonderful breakfast, shuttle bus. The rooms were spacious, beds large and comfy and a microwave ( well in ours anyway) Its so nice to be able to get to your room within 2 minutes of parking your car compared to the main strip hotels..If you stay here you will be surprised by the place and just how close it is to the strip.. As I have said we have stayed there 4 times, that says it all

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Let me begin the review with the welcome at the hotel. We reached the hotel late evening from the airport and were welcomed by Brian at the front Desk. Our names were displayed at the front desk board as GUESTS OF THE DAY and we were given a bag of goodies and an upgrade to a top floor 'strip facing' room. This was a great begining.

ROOM: A spacious room with a seating area, nice fragrance, did not look tired, crisp white bed linen. We were given a microwave and a refrigerator. I believe it is usually available on request.The rooms have a Wi-Fi free of cost. The lobby has a PC which gives free access to internet limited to 15 minutes per user.

BREAKFAST: Is served on the ground floor opposite the front desk and has a good spread of cereals, toast, boiled/scrambled eggs,bacon, juices, tea/coffee, toast, bagels ets. Good enough to start your day.The hotel does not have any restaurant serving lunch or dinner. Recommend eating the buffet at Ceasars and MGM Grand though.

LOCATION : Is a 5 minute drive to the strip, the hotel has a shuttle to MGM and Mandalay Bay every 30/60 minutes. The drivers are most helpful and informative. On request they can drop you at the Town Center a great place to spend an evening with kids. We did not rent a car and on the Strip itself you can hire taxis. The Hotel shuttle will also drop you to the Vegas airport but inform them in advance. This property is for families mainly who can enjoy the Strip during the day/evenings with the glitz and noise and come back to the tranquility of a good night's sleep in this hotel. If gambling is the main agenda then this place does not have a casino so it will not fit your needs.

LAUNDRY: There is a laundry room on the 2nd Floor, with coin operated washing machine and dryers. The front desk can give you the quarters for operating the machines and you could also buy the washing powder from them. $ 1 for a wash and $ 1 for drying. We liked this a lot sicne we were staying for 4 nights. Freshly washed clothes.!

PARKING: I believe is free, we did not have a car though.

SERVICE: EXEMPLARY, Brian at the Front Desk is AWESOME to say the least. Wish there were more like him in the industry.RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY for every family

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrashRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sky Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

My sister and I were in town for Clinton Anderson's Walkabout tour so we stayed at this motel three nights. Overall, we had a very good stay. It was in a great location; close enough to walk to the MGM Grand but not as congested as being on the strip. Easy access to the freeway, too. Our main focus whenever we stay at a motel/hotel is cleanliness. We were pleased that this establishment was very clean, in good condition, and did not reek of smoke like most places in Las Vegas. Our room had plenty of space and our beds were comfortable. The bathroom was very clean but our only complaint was that the showerhead was a bit harsh and hard to adjust. The breakfast wasn't bad; the coffee and OJ were standard motel-fare: weak and watered down but we enjoyed the hard boiled eggs and yummy cinnamon rolls. The workout room was adequate with plenty of clean hand towels. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East TN
Level Contributor
176 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

An older Inn which has been upgraded to meet HIX standards. It qualifies but is wearing quickly, Close to the "Strip" with transportation. Rooms are crowded and halls are narrow. Breakfast area was dirty (more the guests' fault than the staff''s). Unless you want to be in Vegas, keep moving up the road.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alvis-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Let's face it - choosing the Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South is a pure rate/value play. Or perhaps a pure rate play. The hotel is often $10-20 less than its counterparts at the I-15/Russell Road exit, so it's a relative bargain at face value. However, once you get inside the hotel, you can easily see where corners are cut and capital expense hoarded to allow for that shaving of rate.

The lobby, entry, hallways and rooms are as if time had stopped around 1995 - dark green carpets, often worn and dirty; scuff marks along all walls and room doors; pillows that needed to be replaced a couple of years ago; worn linens and towels; a hulking tube-style TV sitting on top of a dresser. The hotel is simply tired.

So is the service. At check-in, I was greeted with a mass-copied "letter" stating that the HIE pool "is not currently heated" and that I was welcome to use any of the heated pools at the neighbors - the Staybridge Suites, Fairfield Inn and Courtyard share this plot of land. Upon entry to the room I got ready for bed, hunkered down, reached for the remote - and couldn't find it. I called down and was first told that I could come down and get a replacement, then reluctantly told that they would bring one up. 20 minutes later, I had to get dressed and trudge down to get a remote and was met with "Oh, sorry. Here."

There are a few bright spots, although none rise to the level of delight to make this a "high value" choice. Room AC units are as powerful and ice-cold as I've ever seen, especially in Las Vegas. The HIE breakfast is stocked well and kept clean for the entire length of the shift. Beds are comfortable and the room itself is clean with no major issues. Water pressure is fantastic and the HIE signature shower head pumps it out well.Blackout drapes do a better job of actually blacking out the room than in most hotels in this price range.

As long as I'm generally not bothered and they can clean the room, I can stay here for the 3 nights of my stay.

Next time, however, I'll consider other options. That's the danger of trying to manage a hotel at the edge of the value proposition - you'll slip over that edge and lose future guests and never know it. While I originally chose this option because it was $10-20 less than competitors, next time I'll remember the overall tired appearance and I'll try something else.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, RS
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

It was our last Hotel after 12 days of an Arizona roundtrip through the Navajo reservations and National Parks. We decided to stay here after reading the reviews here at Tripadvisor, looking for a Hotel that avoids the loud street Strip rumble, but were located only 5 minutes from the airport and casinos. The decision to stay here was absolutely right. We stayed in this Hotel for 2 days, May 6th and 7th.

Fast and easy check-in, front desk staff friendly, comfortable rooms, clean bathroom, high speed Wi-Fi, good TV, quiet (ask for a room in the third floor heading the opposite side of Russel Road) and a good breakfast in a comfortable lobby, makes this hotel a hidden Gem in Vegas.

There is also a free Casino Shuttle Bus every 30 minutes to Mandalay Bay and every 60 minutes to MGM Grand.

Great Hotel, fantastic location, good price.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Las Vegas South
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Las Vegas South
Courtyard Las Vegas South
#104 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Las Vegas South
Residence Inn Las Vegas South
#85 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Las Vegas 215 Beltway
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Las Vegas
Staybridge Suites Las Vegas
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Vegas Tropicana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South
Address: 5760 Polaris Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89118-3102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****Renovated Hotel**** Fridges,Microwaves and safes in all rooms. State of the art exercise facility. Stay Smart and welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South. We are located minutes from McCarran International Airport (LAS) and 6 miles from the Las Vegas Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South is just minutes away from the famous 'Las Vegas Strip' and Las Vegas Speedway, host of NASCAR. Guests visiting Las Vegas for business or pleasure can easily access the I-15 and I-215 routes or use our complimentary shuttle service to and from Aria, Town Square Shopping Center and Mandalay Bay. Our shuttle operates daily from 6:30 AM - 11:00 PM making visiting Las Vegas convenient. The Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South makes comfort a top priority with our free Express Start breakfast, relaxing Jacuzzi, heated outdoor pool, fitness center, free high-speed wireless Internet in each guest room and lobby and the use of our free business center that is available 24 hours a day. Local businesses, universities, and attractions near hotel: UNLV, IBM, Triaga, Konami Gaming, IGT, Pepsi, American Family Insurance, MGM, Excalibur, Luxor, New York New York, Belz Outlet Center, Town Square and Fashion Show Shopping Center. Planning your next meeting, sports tournament or family reunion in Las Vegas? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Las Vegas South Hotel Las Vegas
Holiday Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing