We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above mediocre motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
Ranked #194 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Super comfy beds, quiet yet central location, no resort fee, great value. Staff was good. Close to Coco's restaurant!!!
Cleanliness needs improvement and parking lot was somewhat sketchy, not monitored/too dark. Would I recommend? Probably not. Would I return? I think so.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwbwbwbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and opinion regarding your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our pillow top mattresses and found the property to be such a great values. We look forward to having you again soon as our guest, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent location! excellent deluxe rooms! Friendly front desk! Low rates! very clean. great pool. close to the strip and all big hotels. renovated rooms are very very nice. 5 minutes from the airport. Great vacation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and your business. We are truly happy that you enjoyed our location and that you found our property and newly renovated rooms to be so nice. We look forward to having you back again as our guest in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vegas F, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The only reason I stayed here was because we happened to be passing through Vegas on a Saturday night where all of the hotels on the strip were well over $200. For the location, this was a great place for walking to the strip as it is just down the street. When checking in, the staff didn't seem very friendly. Signs on the door state specifically check in is at 3:00 and you will not get a room if you try to check in before then. I didn't have this problem as I arrived later but the sign itself seemed rude. Also, this was the only hotel I have ever stayed at that charges a security deposit that I get back when I check out, provided that the room is in good condition. A $100 security deposit!! Why?? You have my credit card on file, charge it if anything is missing. But to put an additional $100 charge on my card is ridiculous. Also, take my address and phone number on my ID at check in like normal hotels if you are concerned about someone stealing something. I went to the desk because my key got locked in the room, and couldn't verify who I was because there was no address, phone number or anything on file. The room itself was mostly clean, except the dirty stained carpet. Although I rated this poor, I actually would stay here again because of the location, but only if the resorts on the strip cost too much at the time.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have a car, then you can park right in front of your room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vegas F, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize that you were not informed when you made your reservation about the security deposit. The security deposit is totally refunded upon check out. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank jccgunnar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vegas F, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Charlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vegas F, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I only used the room to shower, sleep and get ready in the morning. The room, price and location were great for that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vegas F, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review and your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hooters Casino Hotel
#123 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,667 reviews
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#119 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,552 reviews
The Strip
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
#159 of 263 in Las Vegas
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip

Address: 165 E Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-7306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: £26 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Strip from our Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas hotel. Our pet-friendly hotel in Las Vegas is a quick walk to casinos, restaurants and shopping. Take a dip in our seasonal outdoor heated pool and enjoy a meal or slice of pie at neighboring Coco's Bakery Restaurant. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, and if you need fax service, you will find it in the business center of our hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. We are also conveniently located just 2 miles from McCarran Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson On East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near The Strip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing