We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food poor service”
Review of Empress Court - CLOSED

Empress Court
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: The Strip
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food poor service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Ate here a few days ago. Nice ambiance and decor. The restaurant was not real crowded but I found the service very slow. My wife ordered a glass of wine he brings a glass to her and my sister, but my sister didn't order it. The waiter focused on Americanized items and seemed floored when I ordered the non American main dishes and desserts. I am no spring chicken and have been around the world... Furthermore I was never offered another drink after my first one, the waiter came by once after our food was served (runner brought it) and it was to show the dessert cart.
All in all good food marred by poor service. Would I go back? Not sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otterman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Food was authentic Hong Kong style and fresh. Not a huge amount of choice but the basic menu is good. Portions are huge. The cocktails are great too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cjr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Suprisingly expensive for a quick bite”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stopped by when we flew in for a quick bite to eat. God two pieces of pizza and two drinks for $30.00. Could have went to Trevi for cheaper !! Was okay in a push but I dont think I would ever head back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank colleenp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Will return!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I am surprised at the comments on the service. I guess I was lucky because our server was very polite and attentive. I went there with my mom for her birthday and we both pleased with our dining experience. I had the lobster cantonese and she had the fillet mignon, We found our dishes to be fresh and tasty. And if we knew how much food there was we won't have started with an appetizer. Yes, it was expensive but I am unable to find this lobster dish in my new hometown so it was a special treat. I will, without a doubt, go right back to Empress Court on my next visit. Just hoping to get the same experience and not the bad ones folks are writing about.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriamb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Bland!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

First the pros - our service was good and the atmosphere is nice.

Then the cons - the food, the value. For the price, this food should be really special. It's really not! Incredibly bland and tasteless!

There are definitely better Asian restaurants all over Vegas!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenk54653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing