We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Place Away from the Strip - but Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliffs at Peace Canyon
Ranked #55 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quite Place Away from the Strip - but Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our 1st stay here and overall happy with the resort but not with the customer service. It is located about 30 minutes away from the strip in a quiet residential location. We had a one bedroom ground floor unit which was located at the rear of the resort and it was very quiet.. The unit was well laid out and had all the necessary item required for a comfortable stay. The resort provides a shuttle bus which runs on the hour to the strip and picks up on the half hour, this was extremely useful and we used it most nights. The staff were mediocre, we asked the concierge for some tour recommendations and his lackluster response was disappointing, we ended up booking everything ourselves. The main problem i had was that after check in we had to get a car parking pass from the concierge desk, this was just a ploy to try and get us to sign up for a free breakfast / lunch which was just a sales pitch to sell timeshare. After a 12 hour drive from our previous accommodation we arrived tired and just wanted to get to our room. I asked at the time if this was a sales presentation and was told no. We were asked to pay a $20.00 deposit to make the breakfast booking, which would be returned as a $100.00 visa card. I must have been crazy, (i can only put it down to being very tired) but i agreed and paid the $20.00. The next morning i read through the paperwork and realized that it was a going to be a sales presentation, i went back to the desk and asked to cancel and get my $20.00 back, Well this seemed to cause all sorts of issues, first i was told that i would have to wait until later that afternoon when the person i originally spoke to would be on duty and no-one could cancel it except him, I stood my ground and asked them to deal with it now as i was not going to plan my day around some-one else roster. Then i was told that they would have to ring the manager, as if this was some big deal. Finally after much huffing and puffing i was given my $20.00 back.
Maybe this goes toward the lackluster help from the concierge in booking tours.
Also don't bother asking for any help from the front desk, after losing a credit card we wanted to make an international call to out home bank to cancel the card. I rang the front desk for help and was told."you can't make any international calls from your room" i explained out problem ans asked it i could use a phone in the office and pay for the call, i was told " No". No help was offered at all. We ended up making the call from on of the Major Casino's on the strip, even though we were not staying there they were happy to help us. Apart from this lack of customer service, we were generally happy with the resort, the pool area was well maintained and the pool and spa were heated so it was comfortable to use even in January. The unit was well maintained and i could not fault it
I would not recommend this resort due to the poor customer service we received.

Room Tip: Some of the unit face onto a busy road, units at the back of the resort are generally quiet although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffs at Peace Canyon, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. We understand that customer service is key to being successful in the travel industry and we clearly dropped the ball. We’re very sorry for the issues you had with our staff and have notified the resort’s management team so that it may be addressed. Though we cannot change what happened during your visit, we will use your comments as a training tool so that we can improve our service for future guests. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Cliffs at Peace Canyon so that we may have another chance to prove that we are the best choice for a Las Vegas vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    178
    58
    14
    15
See reviews for
171
157
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

To get the best of Las Vegas you better choose a location right on blvd, this is a really nice place resort-like. what we didnt like is that the 6 person room can not accomodate 6 adults. The sofa bed mattres is really thin. By car is 10 min to the strip and they offer free shuttle

Room Tip: ask for a room on a the first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katulo_Viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffs at Peace Canyon, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your vacation. Many of our travelers prefer The Cliffs at Peace Canyon because it offers a peaceful retreat off the Strip, but close enough to visit the excitement of Las Vegas when the mood takes over. Our two- bedroom suite should accommodate six adults with ease, as they feature one king bed, one queen bed, and queen size sofa bed. We hope the next time you want a relaxing Las Vegas vacation you will think of us and return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Station, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a week of timeshare and were meeting family in Las Vegas during Christmas so we decided to book at the Cliffs at Peace Canyon. We were given a room close to the main check in area on the first floor and it was easy to get in and out of the resort. The staff were very accommodating whenever we had questions or requests and any maintenance issues were handled promptly. The Cliffs is away from the Las Vegas strip with a kitchen, washer & dryer and a large walk in closet and big bathroom but the only thing negative was the couch in the unit was very uncomfortable and probably needed to be replaced. I also was annoyed that there was a charge for the safe in our room. You would think that safety would be a concern and it would have been included. I also feel that the rooms need to be updated which includes new curtains and bedroom accessories.

Room Tip: The room was on the first floor near the check in area and tucked around the back of the unit. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franced45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffs at Peace Canyon, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for commenting on your vacation with us. We appreciate your comments as they help us decide what areas need care. We’re happy that overall we were able to provide you with a good family vacation and we hope that you will return to The Cliffs at Peace Canyon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked this timeshare as it was close to our family that lives in Vegas (in Summerlin). We had two units total and we previously requested that they were close, and we ended up next door so that was great.

Both families had ground floor units. The downside was the noise of the upstairs tenants - their footsteps sounded like they were performing Riverdance. Also, the ceiling (their floor) creaked terribly when they walked about; we kept looking up to make sure chunks weren't coming down! (it was that bad). Chairs being pulled back from the table sounded like they were in our room. I can only say I am glad they appeared to be in the same timezone as us and slept when we did, or we would not have slept at all!

The unit was mostly clean, but some of the bedding we washed ourselves as it had hair on it (blankets mostly; those fleece ones attract hair I guess). Having the washer and dryer was great (tho the dryer took two cycles to dry a load, we think the outside vent may have been blocked). Lots of dishes etc for the few times we ate in. The bathrooms and closet were large but the bedrooms a bit cramped.

The pool was great and is heated YEAR ROUND to 83 degrees! It was great to swim in winter. The hot tub was great too. Even at 60 degrees we could lay out by the pool and get sun. :)

Any maintenance issues were handled right away (our CD player didn't work) and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The resort is walking distance to JCPenney, and a bit further to Kohls, Target, Albertson's (supermarket) and restaurants... tons of little stores. Close to I-215 too.

All in all a great stay, I just think next time we'd ask for a top-floor room and deal with the stairs!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmtreequeen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffs at Peace Canyon, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recommendation. Our spacious rooms, friendly staff, and perfect locale make The Cliffs at Peace Canyon a perfect vacation destination for the holidays or any other time of the year. All though we didn’t meet all of your expectations, we’re happy that we could provide you with a great Vegas getaway and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This place is a perfect place to relax while in Vegas. Close to the Strip as well as area attractions. ...Hoover Dam, Lake Meade, Red Rock Canyon, etc. Rent a car and enjoy Vegas the right way. Hit the Grand Canyon South Rim.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithWesu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffs at Peace Canyon, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We’re glad to read that you enjoyed you stay at The Cliffs at Peace Canyon and that you appreciated all the exciting attractions that the city has to offer. Thank you for writing and we hope you’ll return for another relaxing getaway with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Two years ago, I found a deal for this hotel at Travelzoo. This place is neat, comfortable and quiet. I prefer to be further from the strip because of the nighttime noise. Cliffs reminds me of time-share units. It has a full kitchen, laundry room and even a boom box, just like home. It's also conveniently close to the neighborhood shops and restaurants. The staff are friendly too!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdS90041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffs at Peace Canyon, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of The Cliffs at Peace Canyon. The resort is a timeshare property and we’re glad to know that you appreciated our spacious rooms and accommodating staff. We appreciate your loyalty to The Cliffs and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you on another relaxing Vegas vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Cliffs at Peace Canyon as what was supposed to be a Gold Crown location with RCI, it is well situated in Vegas with above average staff, but the rooms are very tired with poor quality furniture and bed, definitely should be downgraded.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Zymelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffs at Peace Canyon, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We’re happy that you appreciated our staff but are sorry that our accommodations didn’t meet your expectations. Only approximately 10% of RCI’s participating resorts have been awarded a Gold Crown status. This award recognizes quality and is given based on positive comment cards received by members who have visited the resort on exchange. The Cliffs at Peace Canyon is proud to be a recipient of this award and has continued to maintain this status since 2007. We regret that now you have this negative impression of us and hope that you will return so that we may have another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Element Las Vegas Summerlin
Element Las Vegas Summerlin
#93 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#49 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffs at Peace Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffs at Peace Canyon

Property: Cliffs at Peace Canyon
Address: 4550 S Grand Canyon Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89147-8252
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#72 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffs at Peace Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, The Cliffs at Peace Canyon offers you a peaceful and elegant vacation spot that serves as your gateway to all that Las Vegas and the surrounding area have to offer. Units feature all the comforts of home such as private living and dining areas and bathrooms with oval garden tubs. Fully appointed kitchens equipped with; range, dishwasher, full-size refrigerator with ice maker, microwave oven, coffee maker, blender, and toaster. Washers and dryers are available in every unit. Take advantage of the resort’s shuttle service to various Las Vegas sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliffs at Peace Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Peace Canyon Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Cliffs Peace Canyon
Cliffs Peace Canyon Las Vegas
Cliffs At Peace Canyon Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing