We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for Mother, daughter and aunt to celebrate 21st Bday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #47 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect place for Mother, daughter and aunt to celebrate 21st Bday”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

In 2007, my sister and I brought her son to South Point to celebrate his 21st birthday. The hotel and casino still looks brand new and spotless. Being away from the Strip, I felt safer since we left our spouses at home. Checked in with Chelsea and what a pleasure! She smiled, laughed easily and listened to my requests then worked to locate the room, floor and even suggested the pool view which my niece loved. Due to severe allergies, bedding was a concern but Chelsea 's hotel knowledge enabled her to give me correct information without a delay.

I checked in a day early and didn't want to eat by myself in a restaurant so I ordered "TO GO" at the new Steak and Shake. Without a digital number display, we all had to listen for our order numbers to be yelled (no microphone) but as the restaurant filled it was impossible to hear. We had to keep checking on numbers and clustering around the cashier. The hamburger was delicious, I enjoyed it in my beautiful, quiet room.

The A/C wasn't cool but within 30 minutes after calling housekeeping the filter was replaced and the room cooled down.

The next morning I had some time to kill before picking up my sister and niece at the airport but I couldn't find the penny slot machines. I asked a guard near the cashier's cage and he took me to some slots and explained how to change the coin play amount. Wow! I had no idea!

Maria from Housekeeping kept our large room immaculate and had no problem with our request to change the linen daily (they prefer every 3rd day) and leave us plenty of towels. I love the luxury of clean linen and towels each day in a hotel. The towels were big and fluffy but we didn't use any of the toiletries due to allergies.

I don't remember the coffee pot in 2007 but it was very convenient. The bathroom is large and the early morning I returned home, I rolled my suitcase into the bathroom to finish packing so I wouldn't wake my sister or niece.

We ate breakfast in the Coronado Cafe each morning. The wait staff and their assistants anticipated our needs so we never had to ask for any refills or condiments. Do avoid the early morning counter service if possible. You won't save any time and service is not good.

We invited some friends over for a delicious lunch in the Garden Buffet. We were able to use our complimentary coupons and only paid for our guests. I loved the Chinese and my niece enjoyed the Mexican food.

After returning from dinner we played the 9:30pm Bingo. The second night we each rented the electronic units, so much easier. The complimentary beverages at the bar was a nice touch.

My sister and niece enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing massage in the Spa on their last day. The warm oil they rubbed on did wonders to their dry skin and for the first time in a week, they felt like they had some moisture in their skin. They were pleased they weren't pressured to purchase any spa products.

Thank you South Point for the comfortable beds, huge room, wonderful employees and having everything we need under one roof.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Wow, thanks for such an awesome review of our property; we really appreciate the compliments on our property and staff. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and we really look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,127
    2,046
    580
    198
    151
See reviews for
1,178
1,845
340
718
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My stay at the south point was terrific. Check in was easy, the pool was wonderful, the food was good, overall i would reccomend this hotel in vegas. try other hotels like the mandalay bay, sunset station, or the orleans if you don't like the south point.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jak3man1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property; you feedback is very important to us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate you recommending us. We really look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Too far from the strip, basic casino hotel, huge so it's a zoo, bowling alley & movie theatre good but every thing else is below fair. Wish we could check out but would lose $ with holiday weekend. The towels still smells like smoke even in non smoking rooms - gross. If you really want a nice non-smoking hotel, this is not it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank huladolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
We are sorry to hear your visit with us was not a pleasant experience. We want you to know that we will address this information and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We really hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Don't be fooled by their street name. Way off of nowhere near Las Vegas strip. Even if you are not there to have Las Vegas fun, they are totally overpriced. Worse yet, they said one thing to book the room then gave me another. Worst out there, including their foods.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykat44197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
We are sorry to hear your visit with us was not an enjoyable experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that our mission here at the South Point is to provide the best possible service to our guests, and anything short of that is unacceptable. We offer a strip shuttle for a small fee and all information is listed on our website. On behalf of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced, and we really hope this does not deter you both from visiting us in the future.

Sincerely,
Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Just back from 4 days in Vegas staying at the South Point. We did a fair bit of research on the internet before booking our reservation here. The start wasn't great as the hotel shuttle arrived late and the driver had no customer service savvy...he seemed rushed, harried and very curt. We had read the casino and hotel was smokey but we found it the best of all the US casinos so far. For the most part, we enjoyed our stay. Downside included a room looking out at the hotel roof. Room was large but stark, bed had an undersheet that had an underside that was plastic I think. It bunched underneath and rustled when you moved. Bed comfort was okay. Coffee maker was broken and we had to ask for a new one. They gave us enough coffee for 1 cup only on the first two days. After leaving a tip we got an extra pod for our last day. Definitely buy water as the hotel water is highly chlorinated. We didn't have our shampoo replenished until the 3rd day so we luckily had bottles from other trips. Wi-fi! They wanted $12.99 for the internet. Forget it! Talk about nickle and diming you to death. I've seen small motels offer free Wi-Fi and these guys can't give you access in your room? We found a small lobby area down by the registration desk where we were able to connect for free. Casino - okay. We managed to win some and of course lose some. Lots of machines but most are the old been around a long time type. Food - Steak n Shake...blah! Greasy and of course no comparison to the menu pictures. Small burgers and just okay. Ate at the buffet and it was good. But word of warning...should you get a coupon book each which includes wine with the buffett dinner know that you should pay individually.. Because we paid for our dinner together, we got one bottle of wine. Had we known we would have each paid separately...they don't mention this so you're not aware! Great dinner at the Italian restaurant. Great Service! Coronodo Cafe - breakfast first morning...we sat almost 10 minutes before we got coffee. 2nd morning much better. Good breakfast but not cheap. Upside - Amenities. Great movie theatres but again snacks are expensive. Cleaning crew came in just before show start and asked us to exit as they needed to clean! But show was great and enjoyed that this hotel offered this option. Bowling alley looked amazing...pool was great with the exception of the snack bar which didn't offer food weekdays! What??? We enjoyed being able to have a beer at the pool BUT our second round (exact same beer) cost more than the first...guess they just pick a number and that's what they charge. Shuttle to the strip was convenient and after wading through the crowds and looking at some of the bigger hotels, we were thankful we were at the South Point. Good value for the shuttle at $8.00 per person. Shuttle driver again not personable but thankful we had the option. All in all a good trip. Booked through Hotwire and felt we did get value for our dollar.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxxy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall visit with us and thank you for the feedback. We want you to know that we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our hotel lobby (across from the hotel registration desk). We will address the information pertaining to the guest room amenities and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We really do hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Really enjoyed this place. It's a little out of the way but the rooms were nice. It's a great value for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paoli, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

When we first arrived to Southpoint we couldn't believe the size of the place and how clean it was outside and inside. The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from the airport which was a plus and they also have a shuttle that will take you to the Las Vegas strip for 8 dollars for the whole day!! The hotel not only had tons of gaming, but upstairs, there is a huge bowling alley and theater that we didnt even know existed til after day 3 of being at the hotel!!! The people were super friendly the food was pretty good as well. They give you coupons for a free buffet and percentages off different food items and such. Had a great swimming area and all in all I give this Hotel 5 stars out of 5 stars!!! Great place to be for the people interested in a nice time in Vegas without being surrounded by drunken idiots!!! Hotel is AWESOME!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveJaniece2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Wow, thanks for such a great review of our property. We are happy to hear your experience was enjoyable, and we appreciate the feedback. We hope we can serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#48 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#40 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#52 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#67 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#63 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#49 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel, Casino And Spa Las Vegas
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing