We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Las Vegas True Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #44 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Las Vegas True Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This place is a great find. From the super staff working there, to the easy access to the Las Vegas area. We used to stay "on the Strip", This hotel has changed our minds. I like the strip, it is fun to be down there and enjoy the Rush. However coming back to South Point was what we needed to relax and have great fun. My wife and I would always say it was good to be "Home" at South Point.
The rooms and great and large compared to some of the strip rooms. The place is clean and well lit. The casino floor is bright and well run. The food is good and won't break the bank. The breakfast buffet is a "Locals" favorite, not expensive and good food. The staff is always there to help with anything you may need.
We drive everywhere in Vegas. It is easy and allows one to see the other great sites in the area. South Point has its own exit on and off the "15". You can't beat it for access to the highway system. They also offer an airport shuttle to and from the Las Vegas Airport.
If you are looking for great value, great service and lots of fun things to do at your Hotel, South Point will not fail you. Do not let the distance from the Main Strip scare you away.
Always remember too, you'll make it what you want it to be. Everyone has a bad day sometimes. The folks there are great and I think they try very hard to make one feel at home.
We will be staying at South Point always.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Thanks for such a really nice review on our property. We appreciate the compliments and are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. We hope you can visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,202
    2,096
    598
    201
    156
See reviews for
1,232
1,892
350
728
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We had a wonderful stay at South Point Casino in mid-July. Checkin was quick and efficient. After having read some of the other reviews, we asked for a room higher than than the 2nd or 3rd floor and not facing a wall. We were told a room “with a view” would be extra each night. We decided to forget the view, as we were not planning on sitting in the room looking out the window much while on vacation. We were given a room on the 22nd floor overlooking the pool and a great southern view spanning Las Vegas Blvd to past I-15. The room was spacious, with a sofa, table and chairs, desk area, flat screen TV, along with a king bed, which was just like Goldilocks bed –not too hard, not too soft, but just right! Pillows are not feather, which is fine by me, as I am allergic to feathers and hate to be a pain for housekeeping to ask for non-feather pillows. The A/C was fully adjustable and was VERY quiet when the fan was on low or automatic. There are not one, but 3 telephones in the room, with one being in the bathroom next to ‘the throne’. Lighting was plentiful, with eco-friendly CFL bulbs (the hallways used CFL or LED lighting). The closet contained the iron and ironing board, along with an in-room safe, which is great to leave your winnings. ?;- )

The bathroom was not one, but two rooms – the toilet and bath/shower were in a separate room off the room with the sink and vanity. This is good since the coffee maker (also has tea) was on the spacious vanity, as was the hair dryer. Plenty of toiletries were left by housekeeping each day. The bath had a great rainfall shower head and there was plenty of water pressure, even on the 22nd floor! There was also a nice metal grab bar in the shower with a rough grip spot so if your hand was slick with soap, you won't slip.

The rooms are very quiet – we saw a family with elementary school-age kids next door, but only heard them in the morning if they bumped into the wall. Security in the hotel was very good, with key check in the evenings before you get to the elevators.

The swimming pool and hot tub were good. With the extremely high temps while we were there, along with a high school basketball tournament in town, we decided to use the pool immediately upon getting up in the morning. The hot tub, which is designed like a lazy river, was great. However the pool was a little cold, since the sun only hits it in the afternoon.

Received coupon books upon checkin, which contained some good deals, including a free lunch buffet at the Garden Buffet on the 1st floor, which they also accept for breakfast. If you are looking for a fancy buffet, this is not the place to go. However, if you want good food at a very reasonable price (breakfast was only $6.99 with a Bloody Mary or Mimosa included), this is the place to go. We ate there once for dinner the night we checked in and twice for breakfast and were very pleased each time.

Parking was plentiful, with some outside spots and a HUGE 7 floor parking garage which was great to help keep the car from baking when it was 110 degrees.

The front desk people were very helpful – when I asked about using the points on my Player card toward my bill, they explained how to do that, along with pointing me to the Business Center when I had some items I wanted to ship home. Checkout was just as efficient.

The only ‘down side’ to the whole trip was the long walk from the parking garage to the hotel room elevators, especially with luggage. But then there is valet parking and bell service, if you desire.

I’ve never stayed at any of the ‘Strip’ hotels further north on Las Vegas Blvd. but I can’t imagine them giving me more value for my money than what South Point provides for a vacation visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idreamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Wow, thanks for such an awesome review on our property. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you plan a return trip sometime soon.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Having absolutely no idea of what Las Vegas would actually be like in "Real" Life! This hotel was a great find! It is at the southernmost point(hence it's name!)of Las Vegas Boulevard with a regular Shuttle to the Main part of the Strip. We had everything we could possibly want in that hotel, great , cheap and lovely rooms, a fabulous selection of Dining,for all tastes. An exciting atmosphere with superb staff, A Cinema, a Bowling Alley, a lovely swimming pool and an Equestrian area that frequently holds Rodeos and other Cowboy Entertainment. All Fabulous Will Deffinately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Driver39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octavia, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My husband was entered in the world series of roping finals held at south Pointe last december. My son, his wife and 1 1/2 year old son was with us. My grandson had some kind of virus most of the time we were in vegas. Lots of dirty sheets and towels because of that but the housekeeping staff was so good to us. They didn't seem to mind the extra work keeping clean linens and things for them. So kudos to them for that. Overall, we had a nice time in spite of that. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanticnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Thanks for the compliments on our housekeeping staff; we really appreciate that. We hope you can visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsawwassen, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

When we booked this hotel I was a little worried about how big the room would be considering the price we paid. I was not dissapointed at all as the rooms were a fair size. The hotel is a bit of a drive from the strip but that could also be considered beneficial. The rooms were very clean and smelled fine (I really dislike smelly hotels). We ate at the Big Sur Oyster bar and were very pleased with the crab leg special, the Oysters Rockerfeller and the wine we had. I can't say I have any complaints about this resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herctech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed here for two nights with my wife and two boys, ages 12 and 14. The hotel was clean, the room was of decent size and we had no real complaints. I thought the beds were quite comfortable and we all slept pretty solid. That was one of my main reasons for choosing the hotel, two queen beds at no additional costs. It is a casino, so I didn't have any false ideas that me and my family were their target audience. There were no smiles, just and efficient, almost robotic, check-in. To be fair to them though, they were right. Besides what I spent on the room I didn't contribute another cent to their business. Didn't gamble, didn't buy any of their overpriced meals, not even a soda. Sorry South Point.

I had never visited Las Vegas before so I didn't actually know what "off the strip" meant. I'm thinking a couple blocks back from the strip. Not exactly, think 4-5 miles. Basically on the highway bypass around the city. That's fine, I'm not complaining...just didn't know we were going to be so far away.

The whole casino scene is somewhat icky to me but I am trying to not let that pollute my review. We didn't go to LV for gambling, just to see what the place was about. So this place really was just a place to stay for us. Yes, you must walk through the casino to get to your room; but I just chalk that up to the cost of staying in Vegas. If you have a good open relationship with your family (especially your two teen age sons), it's actually a good teaching environment on the ways of the world. Anyways, everything you want to do in Vegas requires you to walk through a casino.

There was a gas station/convenience store within a stones throw. I got my morning coffee there. Why didn't i drink the hotel coffee? Because you get a single cup package. It makes a SINGLE cup, and you get one. That wasn't quite going to cut it for me and my wife. The down side to going to the nearby gas station/store is it's a 20 minute or more round trip. It takes 5-7 minutes just to get to your car (and of course 5-7 to go back to the room). So the five minutes to drive there get your joe and drive back takes at least 20 minutes. But I got other things as well, breakfast for the boys, water, etc. I probably could have chased down a cleaning lady for more coffee but to make in the room but I didn't mind the trip.

Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:15 in the morning. What is that about? I guess I should look at it from their point of view. How many times has the occupant been passed out and they didn't know whether they were checking out or "checking out". Besides that we were not bothered at all.

Oh, NO INTERNET...unless you spend 12.99.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyrkik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Worse hotel ever. This hotel has no regard towards patrons. Upon arrival the housekeeping manager let herself into our room with her key to check I'd we were "ok". Afterwards we placed a " do not disturb" sign outside only to have her return leaving with my jewelry that has yet to be compensated. The front desk was very nonchalant and careless about the missing valuables as I was told there were no comptent managers on duty on the weekends. Will never ever waste my money here again and I strongly advise anyone to never stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#50 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,377 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#43 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,611 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#55 of 262 in Las Vegas
5,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#54 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,115 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#51 of 262 in Las Vegas
973 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel, Casino And Spa Las Vegas
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing