We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Prices”
Review of South Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
South Point Hotel
Ranked #38 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My wife and I went to Vegas to work on our rental property and we decided to stay at the South Point. I found the rates to be very reasonable and the hotel had pretty much everything you need right there. We didn't get a change to enjoy it all but it has a movie theater, bowling alley, and several restaurants. There are a lot of different restaurants with pretty much any style cuisine you could want.

The AC unit in our room made an annoying ticking noise that made it hard to sleep so we notified the front desk after the first night and they moved us into a new room for the remainder of our stay. They also discounted all of the nights we stayed there so we basically ended up getting the last night free. The rooms are nice and very roomy with a 42" flat screen TV. We are going back to Las Vegas soon for a quick trip and we will be staying at the South Point again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mswguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Wow, thanks for such a nice review of our property. It's exciting to know your first stay went so well you will be staying with us again. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,171 - 4,177 of 5,444 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed here for four nights in the middle of the summer heat and loved it. This hotel has it all: big and clean rooms, an impressive 15$ breakfast/lunch buffet (read: early dinner) in the weekend, a restaurant for every day of the week, nice pool area with a shallow pool for children, a huge bubble pool for the ones who like it hot, as well as a normal pool for the rest of us, a huge bowling hall, an arcade hall and a 16 screen cinema complex!

So even if you are not in Vegas to gamble you could actually have a great vacation just staying at the hotel. The gambling and bingo halls would probably satisfy the gamblers too. We used the hotel as a base and drove the 15-20 minutes into the heart of the Strip were you would go to se the shows and the insane amusement park for grown ups and children alike called Las Vegas.

We liked the free parking and that it is only a 5 min. drive to Food4Less, and disliked paying 13$ for internet (per unit per day) and 10$ for changing rooms. If you want to use the spa area and the training room, which we didn´t, you have to pay 25$ extra. But for the budget minded these extra expenses are avoidable and a hotel like this for just over 50$ per night through the weekend, is just incredible.

This is syden and danskebåten in a complete package which is Norwegian for sun, cheap alcohol, young people partying and old people sipping drinks, listening to out dated artists and playing slot machines. But yet it is possible to have a fairly quiet vacation in this impressive resort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Thank you for such a great review of our property. We are so excitied to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope you can plan a future stay with us.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Unless you want to be treated like a criminal. We went to the pool one morning and no towels, eventually a kid showed up with a cart of them at 10:30 am so I went over to get towels for me, the wife and kids. I was told I was only allowed one. I explained that my family is by the pool and he didn't believe me and started grabbing the towels? So I asked if he wanted to walk over to them with me so he could verify "my story". To my suprise he said yes. After everything checked out (lol) then I had to return with him to sign the faded dingy towels out? I asked for the manager and explained to her that maybe this isn't how you want to treat people and she told me "its your perogative to go somewhere else"

From now on, I will- Its a dump

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UALDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

We are sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience at our property and appreciate your feedback. We want you to know that we will address this information and hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

This hotel is very good a value if you just want to lay out at the pool, gamble and stay away from the very large crowds. The pool and jaguzzi are never over crowded and you can always find a lounge chair. There is an abundance of gaming tables and slots and I never had to wait for a seat at the tables.
My room was very clean and the staff friendly.
If you are traveling with a family they have things to do in-house such as the movies, bowling or even hit the arcades.
I always rent a car when I am in Las Vegas, but there is a shuttle to the other casinos and I believe the near by outlet mall.
They have a very good buffet which was included in my on-line reservation. The finer dining restaurants were not open during my stay.
Over all I enjoyed this south end strip hotel and did recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFVicki59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Thanks for a really nice review on our property. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look foward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This place is a great find. From the super staff working there, to the easy access to the Las Vegas area. We used to stay "on the Strip", This hotel has changed our minds. I like the strip, it is fun to be down there and enjoy the Rush. However coming back to South Point was what we needed to relax and have great fun. My wife and I would always say it was good to be "Home" at South Point.
The rooms and great and large compared to some of the strip rooms. The place is clean and well lit. The casino floor is bright and well run. The food is good and won't break the bank. The breakfast buffet is a "Locals" favorite, not expensive and good food. The staff is always there to help with anything you may need.
We drive everywhere in Vegas. It is easy and allows one to see the other great sites in the area. South Point has its own exit on and off the "15". You can't beat it for access to the highway system. They also offer an airport shuttle to and from the Las Vegas Airport.
If you are looking for great value, great service and lots of fun things to do at your Hotel, South Point will not fail you. Do not let the distance from the Main Strip scare you away.
Always remember too, you'll make it what you want it to be. Everyone has a bad day sometimes. The folks there are great and I think they try very hard to make one feel at home.
We will be staying at South Point always.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank digamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Thanks for such a really nice review on our property. We appreciate the compliments and are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. We hope you can visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We had a wonderful stay at South Point Casino in mid-July. Checkin was quick and efficient. After having read some of the other reviews, we asked for a room higher than than the 2nd or 3rd floor and not facing a wall. We were told a room “with a view” would be extra each night. We decided to forget the view, as we were not planning on sitting in the room looking out the window much while on vacation. We were given a room on the 22nd floor overlooking the pool and a great southern view spanning Las Vegas Blvd to past I-15. The room was spacious, with a sofa, table and chairs, desk area, flat screen TV, along with a king bed, which was just like Goldilocks bed –not too hard, not too soft, but just right! Pillows are not feather, which is fine by me, as I am allergic to feathers and hate to be a pain for housekeeping to ask for non-feather pillows. The A/C was fully adjustable and was VERY quiet when the fan was on low or automatic. There are not one, but 3 telephones in the room, with one being in the bathroom next to ‘the throne’. Lighting was plentiful, with eco-friendly CFL bulbs (the hallways used CFL or LED lighting). The closet contained the iron and ironing board, along with an in-room safe, which is great to leave your winnings. ?;- )

The bathroom was not one, but two rooms – the toilet and bath/shower were in a separate room off the room with the sink and vanity. This is good since the coffee maker (also has tea) was on the spacious vanity, as was the hair dryer. Plenty of toiletries were left by housekeeping each day. The bath had a great rainfall shower head and there was plenty of water pressure, even on the 22nd floor! There was also a nice metal grab bar in the shower with a rough grip spot so if your hand was slick with soap, you won't slip.

The rooms are very quiet – we saw a family with elementary school-age kids next door, but only heard them in the morning if they bumped into the wall. Security in the hotel was very good, with key check in the evenings before you get to the elevators.

The swimming pool and hot tub were good. With the extremely high temps while we were there, along with a high school basketball tournament in town, we decided to use the pool immediately upon getting up in the morning. The hot tub, which is designed like a lazy river, was great. However the pool was a little cold, since the sun only hits it in the afternoon.

Received coupon books upon checkin, which contained some good deals, including a free lunch buffet at the Garden Buffet on the 1st floor, which they also accept for breakfast. If you are looking for a fancy buffet, this is not the place to go. However, if you want good food at a very reasonable price (breakfast was only $6.99 with a Bloody Mary or Mimosa included), this is the place to go. We ate there once for dinner the night we checked in and twice for breakfast and were very pleased each time.

Parking was plentiful, with some outside spots and a HUGE 7 floor parking garage which was great to help keep the car from baking when it was 110 degrees.

The front desk people were very helpful – when I asked about using the points on my Player card toward my bill, they explained how to do that, along with pointing me to the Business Center when I had some items I wanted to ship home. Checkout was just as efficient.

The only ‘down side’ to the whole trip was the long walk from the parking garage to the hotel room elevators, especially with luggage. But then there is valet parking and bell service, if you desire.

I’ve never stayed at any of the ‘Strip’ hotels further north on Las Vegas Blvd. but I can’t imagine them giving me more value for my money than what South Point provides for a vacation visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idreamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthPointLV, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Wow, thanks for such an awesome review on our property. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you plan a return trip sometime soon.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Having absolutely no idea of what Las Vegas would actually be like in "Real" Life! This hotel was a great find! It is at the southernmost point(hence it's name!)of Las Vegas Boulevard with a regular Shuttle to the Main part of the Strip. We had everything we could possibly want in that hotel, great , cheap and lovely rooms, a fabulous selection of Dining,for all tastes. An exciting atmosphere with superb staff, A Cinema, a Bowling Alley, a lovely swimming pool and an Equestrian area that frequently holds Rodeos and other Cowboy Entertainment. All Fabulous Will Deffinately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driver39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#40 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,036 reviews
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#34 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,510 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#56 of 264 in Las Vegas
6,069 reviews
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#49 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel

Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £59 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your South Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing