We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but too far from the action” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #45 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice but too far from the action”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

I stayed here two days before moving on to the Planet Hollywood.
I found the hotel to be nice and clean with decent food deals, fair prices in the shops and big clean beautiful rooms. The downside is the gaming area is small, slots are tighter than Donald Trump, and the hotel is too far from the action.
Don't be mislead, this hotel is way south on the strip in the middle of nowhere.
If you just want to park yourself for a few days and never leave the property I would recommend this hotel. If you want to enjoy strip action you need to stay on the strip.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegas005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for the compliments on our guest rooms. We are approximately 5.9 miles from Mandalay Bay, but we offer shuttle service to and from the Fashion Show mall for a small fee. We hope you can visit with us again.

Sincerely, Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,075
    2,002
    563
    193
    147
See reviews for
1,147
1,808
334
699
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anchorage alaska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We booked this hotel on the same day we arrived. In reality Vegas has gotten expensive, especially with all the ridiculous resort fees for amenities that should be standard and apart of the price. Even Circus Circus was trying to charge $100/night on the weekend we went. So since we had stayed at South Point the year before and were satisfied we stayed again. Room was clean, spacious and perfect for our needs. The downside is that the pool is no longer open 24 hrs, it closes at 10pm. And the latest they'll let you check out is 12:30pm.

On the upside I like that it's a straight shot from registration to the the room elevators, it's not overly smokey and there are plenty of non-casino things to do like movies and bowling. It is perfect for families and those don't a one-night stop in Vegas and don't care about the Strip. It is a bit of a drive from the Strip but if you have a car it's no big deal since there is plenty of free parking on the Strip as well.

I would like to mention that the beds are not the most comfortable. But for reference I like pillowtop mattresses. So of course it's a matter of preference. Also as a girl that did many vegas trips with friends during college, their rooms are HUGE at South Point. You can get a room with 2 queen beds for as little as $40/night. And while they won't do roll away beds in those room, you could pack a ton of people with sleeping bags in there and split the cost of the room. Seriously. Wish it had been around when I was in college. We could barely fit 10 people into a deluxe Luxor room!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Thanks for the awesome review of our property. We really appreciate your feedback and are glad to be your chosen property when visiting Las Vegas. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We (Single Mom & 12 year old son) just spent 4 nights here and had a blast! The location - off The Strip - was perfect for relaxing and enjoying our time together. Close enough to The Strip to visit all the attractions (NYNY roller coaster, Shark Reef @ Mandalay Bay, M&M Store, etc.) without having to deal with the crowds and noise 24/7.

What we liked: plenty of self-parking in the garage, beautiful room with two fantastic queen beds, large bathroom with separate sink/vanity area (both with doors to separate from living area), 5th floor view of the pool, large plasma flat screen TV, gorgeous pool area with lots of seating and friendly lifeguards, on-site arcade/bowling alley/theater, lots of food choices (Garden Buffet was excellent!)

What we didn't like: having to walk through the smoky casino to get to and from garage/registration/elevators, lack of air conditioning near elevators going from casino to garage, no comfy seating area (couch, lounge chair) in room, very expensive "per day" cost for wireless internet service, limited channel access for TV (one channel for kids but 10+ for horse races?)

Overall, we did love this hotel and will be going back. Beautifully decorated, very clean, nice people, great pool - definitely a great deal for the money!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LGMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thanks for a really nice review of our property and for the compliments; we really appreciate them. Your feedback is important and we will address your information. It's very exciting to know that you both had a great time and you will be back for another visit.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

I visited the southpoint a few times on my trip to Vegas on Aug 9-13. I didn't stay there. The gaming area is large and roomy. The sportsbook is one of the largest I have seen in town. In the sports book they sell hotdogs for 75cents. They have the sportsbook and the horse racing area in two separate rooms. This is a really nice place with a great sports book.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mazeandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thanks for the awesome review of our sports book. We really hope that on your next trip to Las Vegas, you can stay at the property and experience the many amenities we have to offer.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed one night before flying out of Vegas after a California driving trip. Room size was even bigger than expected. That is just what we needed to spread out our things and re-pack for the flight home. We slept well and could not hear any noise from other rooms even on a Saturday night. Not sure I would pick this hotel if wanting to experience the nightlife of Las Vegas Blvd since it is at the far south however that was not our intent this trip. Staying here made it easy to get to the rental car return area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall visit with us and appreciate the compliments on our guest room. We want you to know that we do have a shuttle that travels to and from the Fashion Show mall for a small fee. We really hope you can visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Bad rooms. It has a bowlig alley & an X-D theater upstairs! The food is dissapointing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aenmrajask-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you for visiting with us and for the rating on our property. We are sorry to hear your stay was not an enjoyable experience. We want you to know that our mission here at the South Point is to know and understand each of our guest’s expectations and our goal is to surpass them.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Southpoint (SP) is the only hotel for which I'm writing an update review (so far). I've stayed at SP several times since 2008, and I've come away impressed with the hotel's quality and outstanding value each time. The hotel has grown a couple of wings since it first opened -- understandably so, as it must be doing well. What I like about SP is that the hotel has not been spoiled at all by its success, and it is meticulously maintained.

Value: If anything, I paid a bit less overall for my last few stays than for those prior to 2009. Expedia and other travel sites offer great deals at SP, usually a bit better than what the hotel's website offers. I think the hotel's regular rooms are a great value at the regular $70/night rate, but I've always found them available -- at least for weekday stays -- between $30 and $40/night. For this price, you get a very comfortable and well appointed room that's about 500 sq. feet, with a 42" flat-screen TV and, yes, my favorite hotel bath amenities in Vegas: Bath & Body Works Coconut and Lime.

Location: Many TA reviews complain about SP's south-of-the-Strip location, but one would think they'd have considered the location before booking. I actually like the SP's location, especially since the opening of a new interchange on I-15 2 minutes' drivee from the hotel. SP is only a few minutes' drive south of the Strip (it's actually on Las Vegas Blvd., which is the Strip extended), and it's much easier to access and park at the SP. Both the garage and surface parking are plentiful and convenient.

Food: Some reviews complain about SP's food options. Except for Michael's, which is reputed to be one of the finest (old-school) restaurants in Vegas, SP's restaurants are nothing special but provide plenty of affordable dining options. The main buffet restaurant is pretty good -- especially if you get coupons for free meals, as is usually the case with the coupon booklet SP gives you upon check-in.

I'm a bit surprised that SP has slowly slipped down from the top 10 to no. 20 in TA's Vegas hotel rankings, but competition in Vegas is fierce. For my money, it remains the best hotel value in the city. I'll be trying a couple of new (for me) 5-stars on the Strip later this summer -- Vdara and the Encore -- but SP will remain my regular go-to Vegas hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Wow, thanks for the really great review of our property. We are so happy to hear that we are your hotel of choice when visiting Las Vegas. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#46 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,355 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#48 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#72 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#54 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#60 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel, Casino And Spa Las Vegas
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing