We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Platinum Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Dubuque, IA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews and it did not disappoint. The rooms were large and comfortable. The hotel's calm, relaxing atmosphere was a welcome refuge after a day on the Strip. The service level from the staff exceeded our expectations, especially the restaurant staff. We really enjoyed Jeff, our waiter, who went over and above to meet our needs. We will recommend the Platinum to family and friends and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Princess suites are well worth the extra money. We had a city view and enjoyed watching the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
We love our service to exceed our guests expectations! Thank you for sharing on TA..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,488
    862
    200
    60
    47
See reviews for
924
1,434
143
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I decided to take my mum to Las Vegas for her birthday and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I selected the Platinum and I'm so glad I did.

Room:-
We had a Princess Suite on the 14th Floor with a Strip View and balcony which was wonderful, although as we went in February it was a bit cold to sit outside when it was dark, so we enjoyed the view from the lounge.
The suite was spacious, nice furnishings, usable kitchen, a lovely bedroom with 2 big comfy beds and pillows, a lovely big bathroom and ample closet space. More than enough room for a mother and daughter. Some reviewers had mentioned that the t.v.'s weren't modern, we didn't go to Las Vegas to watch telly so it wasn't a problem for us. As we only have a snack first thing in the morning, the fitted kitchen with a toaster, microwave, over and hob was more than adequate for our needs, as was the massive fridge freezer.

Facilities:-
The hotel doesn't have a casino, it's completely non-smoking which is great. Coming from the UK, it was really strange to see smoking indoors in public areas and in some hotels/casinos the smoky smell is over powering.
The restaurant food and staff were the same as everything else in the hotel, FANTASTIC!! as was the gym and the pool.

Location:-
It's proximity to the Strip meant that my mum and I walked to the Bellagio in 10 minutes, which is quicker than the time taken to exit the casino hotels on the Strip, due to casino, restaurants, and shops.
Some reviews have stated that the area around the hotel wasn't great, my mum and I walked to and from the hotel day and night and never felt unsafe. Infact, I've been in scary places in the UK, any homeless folk we did see were not interested in us.

Staff:-
Everyone we dealt with was brilliant and they could not help you enough. When I wanted to use online booking for our flights home, the guy at the front desk did it for me and even printed out the boarding passes.

Hints:-
If you get a taxi from the airport, as the driver not to take the freeway, it's cheaper.
If you have never gambled before, start at "Ellis Island" next door it's a small casino and the odds are good. Then when your ready, move onto the bigger Strip casinos.
Get your tickets for shows from the discount booths.

My mum really enjoyed her birthday and when we come back again, we will definitely being staying at the Platinum.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, as the noise from the A/C units and the hot-tub and pool will travel if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ET0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel, staff and surrounding area. I can tell you did a lot of research on our hotel and I'm pleased we were able to exceed all your expectations. I'm glad you mum had a great birthday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcalali, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on TA. We were upgraded to a Princess suite with a strip view which was amazing! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was also my Birthday while we were there and my son and daughter asked if they could buy some champagne or flowers to be delivered to my room. The concierge said that it would not be a problem but the it would be compliments of the hotel!
I received a bottle of French champagne and a tray of huge strawberries dipped in chocolate. What a wonderful gesture. We did not find the walk to the strip a problem as you can walk through a shopping mall into Ballys or Paris.We loved returning to the tranquility of our suite pouring a drink and sitting looking at the strip as the hotels began to light up. Other great benefits are the fully fitted kitchen, plasma tv and fire, jacuzzi bath and laundry facilities. Our room was near the pool and lifts which we found very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. We were happy to help make your birthday a little more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Platinum is off the strip, doesn't have a casino and has a relatively quiet vibe. If you're OK with that, it's a wonderful place to stay. Much of the property is sold as condos, so the rentals are equivalent to a 1 BR condo, with full kitchen, jacuzzi tub and flat screen tvs in each room. My only peeve...parking is valet only so allow a few minutes to get your car and have a wad of tip money handy. Tip: Often The Platinum's normal rates will be less than what other hotels on the strip charge for weekends and holidays.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siliobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Happy to hear you had a great getaway. Our non casino, non smoking and tranquil environment are the reason most people come here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Would have loved to give this hotel 5 stars but the furniture and rugs needed some TLC. Saying that our overall experience was great. Very fast check in and out. We were greeted by very friendly staff who called to make sure we were happy with the room and asked if we need anything to make our stay comfortable. Realized we had forgotten bathrobes and they immediately sent two up. Housekeeping was amazing, great attention to detail. Comfortable bedroom with two queen beds. Large bathroom with a soaker tub, loved that spotless every day. Room service the fastest I've experienced, so we ordered a good breakfast every day and enjoyed a relaxing start to our day. Enjoyed the balcony and the separate living room. Quiet hotel and after a long day and late night on the strip it was greatly appreciated. Most days we walked but when to tired took cabs. Thank you to all who made our stay so enjoyable..

Room Tip: Don't mind sharing a bedroom, the princess suite with queen beds is great. To big for one couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much for the great review of the hotel and our fantastic staff. Hopefully when you stay with us again we can get that 5th star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great things about this place:-
The princess suite was huge
Great bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower
There are laundry facilities
The restaurant does a great good value breakfast
The pool area is a great sun trap area
The bed was really comfortable
For the space it represents very good value at present
Not so great things:-
It is starting to look a bit tired, the carpet was worn and they will need to refurb in the next couple of years
We were kept waiting for forty minutes for our room
The walk to the Strip is 10-15 minutes which is generally fine but if you are in and out to the Strip a few times a day, for lunch, dinner, a show etc, then it gets a bit inconvenient

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Escape_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your input on the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I had never heard of the Platinum until I saw it on TA rated number 3. I really enjoyed my 3 nights there. We stayed at the ARIA before we moved and the walk from our room at the ARIA to the strip took longer than from the Platinum.
Good: We had a fantastic room, they gave us the top floor (16) on the nw side. Out our balcony we could see from Mandalay bay to the Wynn. The room is big, the bed is comfortable, enough room on patio for table and four chairs, big, big bathroom, 2 person bathtub was great, fridge with icemaker and all appliances were nice, pool area had plenty of comfortable seats with two big fire pits, pool is heated (we swam at 55 degrees), loved the pool area (but more kids than you would see in a big hotel), stir lounge had 1/2 price appetizers (the burger sliders and wings were great, artichoke dip not as good), elevators were fast, you can get a quick taxi from here unlike the big hotels (longest wait was 3 minutes), the cleaning was done promptly for us and well. VERY quiet, always got a great nights sleep.

Bad: Check in was difficult, we checked our bags since the room was not ready, was told they would call us, but they never did. We called them and it was ready. We walk a lot and have no problem, but at 1 am and a full day of walking the extra 10 minutes from the strip does stink after 3 days (not enough to not stay here, it was still easier to walk then trying to get a taxi most nights). They need more waitresses at Stir during happy hour. At Stir, they did not make very good drinks, we had the worst stawberry daiquiri we have ever had. The rooms are worn down some, the carpets need replaced and the TV's are very old (both did not bother us, but might others). The hot tub was extremely hot one day and had no heat the next day.

Saying all of this we really like this hotel. I do not know if we will stay here often, but will be back. We have stayed at over 10 different hotels in Vegas and this would rate in the upper middle. My wife does not gamble, so this hotel stopped me from gambling (both good and bad) normally I would stay up and gamble, but did not want her to walk back by herself. There is no place to get groceries, the 7 eleven and gas station across the street only had eggs, nothing else to make. We bought wine and some snacks for our room. With the breakfast prices at the hotel and Ellis Island (right around the corner) I would just let them make it. The Wynn is a 20 minute walk, only walk that way during the day, I would never walk it at night. The walk to the strip is 10-15 minutes 5 minutes to the back of Bally's. Checkout they gave us a ride in their hotel vehicle to the airport, tip well. Next time we will just take more taxi's .

Room Tip: The stip view is worth it. Ellis Island is right around the corner and has very good food and beer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for all your comments. We appreciate hearing the good as well as the ones we need to work on. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the rooms and views. I do apologize for the wait to get into your room, you should definitely have received a call from us when it was available. We hope we do see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,592 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,214 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#11 of 262 in Las Vegas
15,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARIA Resort & Casino
#15 of 262 in Las Vegas
23,842 reviews
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Property: Platinum Hotel and Spa
Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-4708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa
Platinum Hotel And Spa Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing