We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few bumps at the Platinum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Platinum Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A few bumps at the Platinum”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband was attending a conference in Las Vegas for 3 nights, so my daughter (4 yrs) and I tagged along. After reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor, I cancelled our booking at the Bellagio and booked us into the Platinum, as the suites are huge and the prices were good.
I have to say that the rooms are very nice, however we had a bumpy experience with the Platinum – so we will not be returning.

I think we were just unlucky, most people have had a wonderful stay with the Platinum and I think our case is rare, but here's our experience.
The negative stuff:
The first suite we were put in was 1715 (i think) on the top floor. the whole room vibrated with noise from the air-conditioning units that must be on the roof-top. The noise was terrible. It was a rough night with very little sleep. The next day we moved rooms, which was a pain as we had to re-pack and then unpack again. The staff were very nice about this, but later a member of staff said "oh are they still renting out that room? – it's so noisy". Would have been nice if we could have known that when we checked in!
Also the door to the room was kind of dirty, with dribbled coffee down the door frame, scuff marks on the wall etc. I think we just pulled the short straw.

There was another hiccup with housekeeping. We called them 4 times to have our room cleaned. After the 4th attempt we went down to the pool and waited for the room to be done only to discover that it still hadn't been made-up. I went down to the lobby to complain and then eventually they did do it, and again the staff were polite and courteous.

I personally found the walk from the hotel up to the strip to be a bit seedy. We walked it a couple of times when there weren't any taxis. However i would not do this if you are female or have a child with you (in the day time even, and definitely not at nighttime!).

The positive stuff
Generally this hotel is excellent value for money. The room service is excellent and the food is great. The staff are lovely. Check-in is quick and seamless. Breakfast is wonderful. The pool was quiet and empty. The suites are huge with everything you need right there from a washer/dryer to a full kitchen. So there's lots of great things about this hotel for sure.

I think we were just unlucky. The hotel did compensate us with free breakfast for the trouble of zero sleep and having to change rooms, so they have the right attitude.
If you do want a nice quiet stay in Las Vegas and a massive suite for a very reasonable price, I think this hotel is a good choice.
Just make sure you don't get room 1715!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
We thank you for your comments. I am sincerely sorry about the air conditioner noise in your suite, your comments are extremely important and corrective measures have been taken to rectify the problem. We are glad our staff was able to help and make the rest of your stay a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,484
    861
    200
    60
    47
See reviews for
921
1,433
143
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Just returned from a terrific stay at this hotel and can't could not have been more satisfied. Every staff member was helpful and positive. After observing the hour long check in lines at some of the huge casino hotels, I would stay at the Platinum for that reason alone. Check in and out were both less than five minutes and there were no lines. Try the restaurant for a really good breakfast or lunch and make your reservation on their web site for a little reward.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida-Traveler-888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2010

This was my first stay at the Platinum and I was thoroughly impressed. The rooms are huge (with full kitchen, washer & dryer), clean and comfortable. And the staff is really great. Everyone was very friendly and really made me feel welcomed. The pool is nice but there's no action at this non-gaming hotel but it's a great spot to start and end your day's Vegas fun. A short walk to the heart of the Strip it was so nice to be able to get away from all the fuss at the end of the night back to a quiet room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetJLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2010

This truly is a hidden treasure right off the strip. My husband actually picked this hotel because I didn't want to deal with the traffic and the noise of the strip. We both 30 so its not like we're old, we just wanted some quiet time at night. I would have given this hotel 5 all around except, when my husband and I went down to the restruarant the door was closed yet when we walked in there was a sign that said, "Please seat yourself". We chose a table and no one came out for 10 minutes. We immediately left and went down the street to Bucca Di Peppo. Other than that this hotel was great. The price for what we experience was incredible. I've attached some photos of our amazing suite 1504 that over looked out to the LV Strip. This will be the only place we stay at from now on!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliQueen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We could not fault this hotel, the staff where always willing to help.

We had a one bedroom suite, it was large, modern, clean, quiet and had a relaxing feel. It’s was nice to be able to escape to our hotel and get away from the madness of The Strip. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to The Strip or the bell boys were more than happy to get a taxi for us.

The kitchen with all facilities, washing machine and dryer and internet was great to have. 7-Eleven is around the corner which made it easy to grab a few things.

We ate in the restaurant a few times and was rewarded with meals that tasted like the menu said it would. It was great to get a good quality meals at a reasonable price.

This hotel met all my expectations, it would be our best hotel we stayed in; We visited Miami, NY, San Francisco & LA on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and chose it on the basis of Tripadvisor comments. 1 block back from the Strip but an easy walk.
We had a strip view apartment on the 11th floor which was a peaceful retreat from the madness of Vegas. This was very spacious and well-equipped and we enjoyed our time there.
Front desk staff were very helpful. However on the debit side, we had some problems with the electrics in the apartment, although these were resolved quickly after our second request. Room cleaning was also a bit hit and miss, with no clean on one day and the trash not removed for two days.
But with 110degF temperatures outside, it was a great place to come home to.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

This was my second stay at The Platinum. I travel to Las Vegas 3-4 times per year, and have stayed at some of the better-known properties. The Platinum is by far the best value, despite its distance from the strip. When the weather is good, the walk is good. And when you need to take a taxi, the bellmen are quick to secure one for you, and there is usually no waiting line .

The best features are the full kitchens (refrigerator/oven/sink/microwave) and jacuzzi tubs (all rooms), and the fireplaces and washer-dryer units
, and balconies (ask which rooms feature these). To top it off, there is a Bose radio in the living area, and an additional CD player/radio in the bedroom area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysmeeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,576 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,202 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#11 of 262 in Las Vegas
15,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARIA Resort & Casino
#15 of 262 in Las Vegas
23,797 reviews
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Property: Platinum Hotel and Spa
Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-4708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#7 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa
Platinum Hotel And Spa Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing