We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skylofts at MGM Grand
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Caesars Palace(Las Vegas)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Las Vegas(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Mirage Hotel & Casino(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
342
39
8
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
39
8
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom loftbutler servicesky loftssteam showerinfinity tubespresso machinepre arrivalpillow menuprivate elevatorchampagne bubblesfree moviesmedia roomprivate butlerairport pickconcierge teamtop floorvip lounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2009

My partner and I had decided to head down to Vegas to get hitched, and to make the experience a memorable one, after reading all the positive feedback on the Skylofts we thought we'd give them a go.

From the moment we stepped off the pane and were met by our personal customer service rep, to when we sank back into the luxurious leather seats of the $450,000 Maybach 62 courtesy transfer limousine - I knew we were in for a treat. These guys actually GET service (maybe a little too much).

We were greeted at the hotel by our personal concierge, who introduced us to the myriad of staff who would be looking after us during our stay - butler, facilities, etc. It was slightly daunting at first, but we quickly got over that.

The Skylofts are more expensive than most of the top level rooms on the strip, but are definitely worth it. They are 2 x level luxury apartments with a separate lounge/dining/study level with great views of the strip.

Something as simple as room service is a truly wonderful experience - with staff taking time to set up the whole meal at your dining table every time - true in room dining.

The spa and steam room, combined with the Bvlgari bath products make bathing an even more pleasurable experience.

The only negatives we could find were that the air-conditioning in the rooms is very dry. We would regularly wake up in the morning extremely dehydrated and turning it off was not really an option.

The other slightly negative comment related to tipping. I'm aware that tipping is the norm in the US, and ordinarily I don't have an issue with this. But as we had encountered at least 5 x staff before even getting to our room (limo driver, concierge, butler, porter, etc), combined with all the others during our stay, we found ourselves constantly tipping staff.

I also agree with oscar2405's comments about lack of privacy. Being a regular hotel stayer i've gotten into the habit of dead-locking the door every time i'm in a room - this is due to the experience of staff entering the room (at all hours) without your authority. I found that at Skylofts the staff would knock/ring the bell and enter before you had a chance to actually get to the door to open it. If you were in the shower or napping, they would end up calling you to get you to open the door - which was annoying.

The other thing that surprised us was the actual MGM lobby/casino. Rowdy, intoxicated, shirtless teenagers, and people milling around (sitting on the floor) the lobby were a regular sight. Combined with the stinking smoke filled casino, full of people wearing bathers made us wonder if we were actually staying at a 5-star hotel or a Club Med resort - no wonder they have a private entrance/check in for Skyloft guests.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vortexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

There are some hotels in the world that have a very devout following. Even staying one night at the Skylofts, one understands this concept very well. After being a guest at the Skylofts you understand what it means to be pampered and attended to is like. The entire experience is truly luxurious.
After making reservations, I was contacted the next day regarding my pickup information and my personal preferences for soft drinks, coffees, juices or other assistance with dining or show reservations.
There was a slight glitch with the pickup service but it was handled very professionally and gracefully. We were picked up in the MGM limo due to other pickups but the Mayback would have been nicer. We were greeted curbside by a Concierge and our personal bellman and shown to the new (since Jan ’09) Skylobby adjacent to the MGM main lobby area. It is a small registration area staffed with a 24hr Concierge and Ambassador who will arrange for transportation (ie private taxi line). I think after a few complaints the MGM built the separate Skylobby to compete with the exclusive hotels-within-hotels trend. I appreciate that alot: a hotel that listens. Prior to the Skylobby, guests of the Skylofts had to wait in the same lines as guests of the MGM for taxis. Not exactly optimal if you’re paying upwards of $500/night.
We were whisked through the VIP Lounge to the private elevators of the Skylofts. Already waiting for us outside our Loft was our Butler and Bellman with our luggage in tow. “Sign here,” and our keys were handed to us. My favorite drink, watermelon juice, was waiting for us on the dining table as well as an icy Dr Pepper for my partner. I actually think they remembered how much I loved watermelon juice from my previous stay. Amazing. We were shown the multitude of gadgets and endless features of the Loft: Jura Espresso Machine, Kohler Infinity Edge Bubble Jet tub, Sony TV, B & O sound systems, and Crestron Controls for lighting, drapes, climate, and electronics. Then you are left in peace so you can, as another reviewer stated, to pick your jaw up from the floor.
There are endless rooms that continue to go on and on. The two bedroom consisted of three living areas, three dining areas, powder bath, and gameroom with a fooseball table. Upstairs, one bedroom with King bed and another bedroom with two Queen beds each with private baths that including the Infinity tub, Steam Shower with multiple body sprays and rainshowers, toilets with bidets and closets as big as some New York City hotel rooms.
The Skylofts have complimentary internet access throughout and On-Demand movies, yes even those movies.... Your loft is always refreshed with your favorite non-alcoholic beverages and some light refreshements twice daily.
This is the type of establishment where staff stand up when you walk off the elevator, step aside in the hallway, and address you always by last name. But never at anytime did it ever feel stuffy or overbearing. We just felt tended to.
I must mention the housekeeping and turndown service are exemplary. The Lofts are kept spotless. Our turndown service was beyond slippers beside the bed and chocolate on the pillows. Our toiletries we brought with us were laid out neatly on the vanity, my toothbrush was tucked into its own linen napkin, the clothes strewn across the chaise were neatly hung in the closet, shoes laid out in a perfect row, the Kleenexes were embossed with the Skylofts logo, and our sunglasses placed on yet another linen napkin. And Voss water with glass next to the bed on, you guessed it, another linen napkin. Awesome.
We ordered room service breakfast for 8:00 am delivery. At exactly 8:00 we came downstairs to the main dining table and breakfast was served. Not the standard issue cart or tray room service but fully laid out china and silverware, restaurant quality dining service for two.
This is not merely a hotel. It is an experience. A total sensory overload and a pure only-in-Vegas decadence.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank texastraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at the MGM Skylofts June 7-11th. The Skylofts really are in a class by themselves. The service is really what sets them apart from other high end Vegas Suites.
I have stayed at the Wynn Salon and Parlor Suites, both are very very nice but the Skylofts have them beat. Only at the Skylofts can you wake up to breakfast waiting at your in suite dining table and the Butler (yes I said Butler) is making your Latte. The Butler is not your full-time private butler it is one of a pool assigned to the Skyloft suites. Therefor should you want him/her in suite making your latte at 8am promptly you need to make your request in advance. That being said if you decide at 8am that you want a latte it's pretty safe to assume the butler will be there making it within 5 minutes of calling the concierge.
Anytime you walk through the Skylofts lobby any employee sitting will stand and greet you and any employee standing will move aside greet you and humbly wait for you to walk by. With one exception, one of the staff will race to the elevator to press the call button for you, pretty easy to get accustomed to.
I booked through Amex FHR for roughly the same price as the Wynns parlor suite(mid week). I was upgraded from a one to two bedroom Skyloft suite. It included Free wirless internet, Free continental breakfast, all the non-alcoholic beverages you can drink, free limo to and from the airpot and $100 spa credit. If you add up all the extras you really are getting a big bang for your buck
If you are going as a couple (just two people) don't bother getting the two suite upgrade unless you plan to have a party in your suite. The two bedroom suite was so large (3000 square feet) that we rarely even ventured into the other side.
So by now you're asking why does the title of my review say "Almost Perfect" Here's why, a few of my small request did not happen immediately and I had to reiterate my request. The staff apologized and promptly took care of the requests but that would never happen at the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo the only place I have received better service than the Skylofts.
In conclusion unless you are a Casino Whale there is no better suite or no better service that you will get anywhere else in Vegas. Do yourself a favor, stop researching Vegas Suites and book the Skylofts nothing else compares.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank worstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We were in Las Vegas to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and my 40th birthday. So after staying on the north end of the strip for three nights at the Encore in the Tower suite section we then headed down to the Skylofts for 2 more nights.

Firstly all our bookings were done direct with the hotel well in advance of our trip from Australia. We received excellent service from Valerie, the event concierge service that is on offer once you make a booking. Valerie assisted us with all of our bookings for restaurants, activities and show (L'atelier, The Mansion) plus multiple services at the day spa for my wife and golf for myself at Shadow Creek.. Best person we dealt with for our stay, everything was spot on as requested.

The services from all of these areas mentioned above was excellent. Best golf course I have played on anywhere in the world to date and my caddy Ryan was excellent. Ok it did cost me US$650 including tips for the round that included private maybach car transfers, club hire, buggy and drinks but hey you only turn 40 once. Great memories and played good golf which added to the day.

Now as for our stay we left with mixed feelings mainly to do with the staff rather than the ammenities on offer. Yes the rooms are very nice and large mezzanine style apartments with high end finishes and great views etc. The previous reviews have mentioned all of the gadgets and tvs, baths, automated accessories etc. So no issues here - very nice set up and the space is great even when you have come from a bigger than normal hotel suite.

The room in places was however a little worn, the limestone flooring was chipped and discoloured in places, the timber boards of the landing on the stairs warped and split, the carpet, walkways and lounge suite also showed signs of guest wear and tear. The decor is nothing offensive nor cutting edge however the 2 storey window view of the strip etc was incredible. The decorated cake, box of chocolates and fresh juice on arrival was a very personal touch for our stay.

The steam room shower was excellent although the negative egde spa looks great is was not comfortable nor was the bubble pattern adjustable to a more vigorous setting. Imagine sitting in a half flat bottle of soft drink, yes you know there are bubbles but they aren't really doing much to your senses. The Bvlgari bath products provided were exquisite.

During our stay we needed some laundry done as we were short of clothes due to the warm Las Vegas weather and the disgusting smell of cigarette smoke throughout the various casinos. So we had our butler organise this for us. Should have known better and this proved not a wise move - $160 just for the washing plus butler tip on top as well. Our small amount of washing was beautifully clean and individually folded and wrapped.

So what about the staff you ask? Check in was fine the Maybach driver collected us from Encore and we were handed over to a concierge person, then a check in counter person then on to our room butler, plus a visit from the bag person as well. Of course other than the reservation attendants everyone else stands around waiting for tips. So you tip and go with the flow.

2. Housekeeping comes twice a day and take an eternity to do their thing, mind you there are two of them working the room and of course they make sure they come and say hello and collect their tip.
OK I know in the US tipping is the norm but at some point the fee you pay to stay in a hotel should be sufficient for staff to be paid a decent income for their employment) in this instance where is my $900 p/n going if the cleaners are both standing there waiting for a tip?) don't forget the tip for the ice delivery, the room service,( even though they already add gratuity + a service fee to the bill), room butler, car driver the list never ends, oh and the butler to escort you to breakfast at the Mansion.

You cannot move about the place without someone wanting to "latch" on and do this or do that. I appreciate its a fine line between service and over servicing guests, but after a while it does get annoying as we felt there was no privacy in or out of the room. We might as well have had a revolving door for the myriad of staff who come and go as they please. If guests want assistance they will ask and no doubt the Skylofts staff will deliver, but, otherwise give guests the privacy they deserve!

On the second night, turn down service took 20 minutes and a third person / manager was in attendance the whole time as well. My pet hate throughout our stay was the continuously ignored privacy sign on the door. Staff would ring the door bell then proceed to opening the door and entering the room. I spoke with the concierge / service desk to ask them for privacy and even this failed. I went to golf and my wife wanted a spa bath so I politely asked them not to have anyone enter the room. No problem I was assured, so 15 minutes after me leaving, my wife answered the phone from the spa only to find a man from housekeeping at the door wanting to come into the room to store our laundry. Hell does anyone here understand what Do Not Disturb means? (PS there is a huge glass panel between the bath and the stairwell so there is certainly no privacy from unwanted guests or hotel staff.).

3. Everytime we left our room or came out of the lifts and passed the service staff desk they all stood up to attention. A very nice gesture but totally unwarranted and despite our requests for them not to stand up they continued this throughout our stay.

Look we are just normal people trying to enjoy our time away. Skylofts may have a high end hotel but not all guests want to overtly flash there wealth position or act like pretentious wannabes or upper crusted higher than thou types who demand everything and anything. Some people just like to be humble and private rather than in your face. Skylofts obviously has fewer guests in the humble category and more of the demanding style clientele as they are well geared for this latter style customer.

As a side note Skylofts hotel area is in the top 2 floors of the MGM Grand. It is very private and quiet unlike the general MGM casino below it. At the time of our stay it was coming up to memorial weekend as well as a big fight night in their show room so the general casino area was very busy. The casino was filled with people from all walks of life as well as the smoke from the millions of cigarattes they bring with them. The general casino is dated and and we felt sorry for the staff working in these conditions and with the numerous intoxicated and obnoxious patrons they are forced to deal with. Now as a Skylofts guest you need to go through the general hotel lift well area to get to the designated Skylofts lifts door. To do this you must work your way through the crowded waiting masses who think you are trying to push in for a limited spot in their lift. So you are in fact running the gauntlet of the gatherings of loud and intoxicated masses - not an experience for the faint hearted.

It was an indifferent experience at Skylofts, brilliant in so many areas but then mixed with some basic areas, along with some instances that were either lacking or just down right annoying. Not sure we would rush back to Skylofts or the MGM Grand.

Thanks to those staff that did listen and help us during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank oscar2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Spent 7 nights with my fiancee in the Skylofts, nothing was left to be desired, from the VIP Check-In to the Maybach transfers..

You have to experience it to believe it...

Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ericlaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews