We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skylofts at MGM Grand
Ranked #49 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Reasonably priced (for Las Vegas) and great location. Right by the monorail stop, so its easy to get around to some of the other hotels. We liked it better than another we stayed at in Las Vegas. Staff was very helpful and we were able to buy tickets to a show right at the hotel. We picked a show that was right in the hotel (Ka). The show was great and it was relaxing not to have to go out anywhere to get to the show.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kosBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2009

Having stayed in the Burj Al Arab, Dubai and the Conrad, Tokyo I still think this is my favourite hotel in the world. Unobtrusive but attentive staff, amazing decor and a real feeling of been treated as a VIP from the second you arrive. We stayed for a week and everythign was perfect. I recommend this hotel to anyone, provided your pockets are deep. Go for an afternoon to Wet Republic and eat at Joel Robuchon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HentiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Let me preface this review by saying we had been staying at the Bellagio in the 2 bedroom penthouse suites. When the included perks disappeared, so did we. Since 2007 I have become partially handicapped and returning to Las Vegas with the huge walking distances was daunting.

After reading all of the Skylofts reviews we were expecting a certain level of service and we were not disappointed. It was one of the few times I can say I had an experience that was beyond my expectations. When we arrived for our 5 night stay there was a shiny red scooter waiting and the news that our loft request was not available…we were being upgraded to the 3 bedroom loft that had an en suite elevator. This is the one suite that has not been redone with the new electronics and infinity tubs. The décor was still the European style. I don’t know how they do it but there was not a nick, a gouge in any of the furniture, a spill, a stain or speck of dust anywhere. And waiting in the entryway was a lovely cake for our 30th anniversary. I guess the point I am trying to make is you don’t need to be hipper than thou to enjoy the Skylofts.

We did have a great breakfast at the Mansion as other reviewers have mentioned and understand it is now open for lunch too. Had the fridge stocked with Coke Zero, water and pitchers of iced tea. Tried to figure out how to get the espresso machine in the luggage but thought it might be missed.

The staff was super…I am not going to name names because of fear of forgetting someone. We spent a lot on tips, all of it deserved.

And I would like to apologize for any claw marks I might have left in the Maybach as I was being dragged out of it at the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LynnKerrville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I did two nights at skylofts and two at Bellagio. Its a hard comparison, truly. Skylofts is very nice, the service is great. You get picked up in a Maybach. I arrived at 11 and couldn't check in until 3. Everyone is very nice and cordial. Skylofts is definitely worth it if you want VIP service at clubs. They do a tremendous job getting you on the lists and table service. Skylofts is a very recognized and big name in Vegas. Even when I was staying at Bellagio, I slipped skylofts into my conversation with the doorguy at Jet and we were through the door in no time. We ate at the Mansion the morning of and had missed our original reservation, however they were able to let us eat breakfast there at 11am. even though we were really hung over the food was good. The Bellagio is just very very classy and sophisticated. The penthouse is huge with his and her bathrooms and 5 T.V.s throughout. I had a lakeview which was an amazing view of the fountains from the top floor. We ate at Picasso which was amazing, very small portions, but amazing food and a little over $125 each plus the costs of wine or whatever extra. However being that they are so big they kind of lose that personl touch that skylofts emphasizes so hard on. If skylofts and Bellagio were the same price I'd definitely do skylofts. However, I would gladly spend $450 a night in bellagio penthouse on a weekday as opposed to $900 a night on a weekday at skylofts.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VinceValdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I had the opportunity to compare the Skylofts 2 BR with the Bellagio 2 BR Penthouse Suite. Skylofts win. Hands down actually. Skylofts really is a superior experience, different than other hotels offer. That is my summary.
My long winded version follows:
I booked the trip through American Express Platinum Travel, which I became a member of just to use the travel benefits on this very trip. I highly recommend the Platinum service. With it I had expected to get an upgrade from a 1 BR to 2 BR. Unfortunately even though the website showed availability for two 2 BR lofts and two 3 BR lofts on the day of my arrival I was told that none were available for the 3 days of my stay and that a @ BR loft was only available for the first night. Needless to say a was steaming mad. My wife and I traveled with our friends and really needed a 2 BR room. They were very apologetic but not too helpful in getting the situation resolved. I would have hoped that they would have offered a second room/loft at a deep discount but they had no 1 BR lofts available and didn't offer anything at the MGM. They did offer a room at The Signature, no discount. They were really pleasant, apologetic for the website showing availability they didn't have, but not great at making me happy about the solution. I contacted Platinum Travel and got my final 2 nights in a 2 BR Penthouse Suite, they were great and helpful as always. I will post a review the about the Bellagio as well but do my best to compare the two here.
Other than the major disappointment about only getting one night there, the Skyloft experience was entirely positive. The 2 BR is huge, over the top huge. It would be outstanding to throw a party in. It is very modern and hip, very tasteful. The condition of the space is great, but I suppose you could look at a painted surface here and there and see a small chip. Only the most obsessive people won't be happy with the condition of the space. Layout was great. We had a foosball table we used until late into the morning (drunk foosball has to be better than drunk pool). The master bedroom is fantastic the master bathroom is simply out-of-this-world. The tub is amazing. The steam shower is quite seriously large enough for 10 people. It must be about 12 by 12 feet. Bigger than my college dorm room. The rain head, wall spray and steam combo is uber-relaxing, I found no need for the spa. My wife loved the spa at MGM by the way, smaller than Bellagio by about 50% but very excellent services/staff.
The sound system is awesome as is but is soon to be upgraded to have internet capable multi-function remotes. They give you free movies and internet which is sweet. My buddy played the first 15 seconds of just about every movie including the porn, just to mess with whoever would look at our movie record! It was great listening to my iPhone/iPod throughout the loft. The free non-alcoholic drinks are a huge plus and not to be underappreciated, especially if you are drinking heavily and need to hydrate! Las Vegas tap water stinks BTW, it is undrinkable.
The staff at Skylofts are great, anything to please. They really go the extra mile,
Now to compare, the Bellagio is definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I say that because the Skylofts isn't like any hotel I ever stayed at prior it is like a new experience. The Bellagio room is very traditional, very old-school. 2 bedrooms at either end of a very large space that includes a small bar, living room and dining area. The central space is about 35-40 feet end to end. Big. The bedrooms on wither end are nice and big. There is a master one one end ad the other bedroom is actually an adjoining 1 bedroom hotel room. The adjoining room doesn't have a steam shower, and the bathroom is not quite as deluxe. This is also similar to the Skylofts in that the non-master bathroom had no steam shower and the shower was smaller.
The Bellagio is all marble all the time. Very sweet. Very prim and proper. We had a fountain view and that was essential in my opinion to fully enjoying this room. If you are going to put up this kind of money you deserve to see that awesome fountain show 6-8 times during your stay. We ate at Olives, great meal and wine cellar. The only time I tried the concierge at Bellagio they did drop the ball a bit. I tried to get my complimentary limo back to the airport and the person I talked to didn't seem to think it was included with the suite. They connected me to player services, who weren't all that nice at all. I told them I was looking for my free limo, they said I needed more points ( I had none as we didn;t really gamble there). While waiting on hold with player services, the concierge called back on the other line and said yes we did get a limo to the airport and hooked us up, but the 10--12 minutes with the not-so-nice lady on the other end of the phone was a bit disappointing and unnecessary.

I think the Skylofts really hits the spot for 20-40ish crowds who like their space hip/modern/high tech and fun. Bellagio seems to be going for the more reserved crowd of any age, but seems more pitched at the 40-60 year old base.

The only way the rooms are similarly priced is to get the Skyloft 2 BR as an upgrade (Hooray Platinum travel) but beware the trap I had with internet availability and real world availability being different.

So In my mind Skylofts wins every head to head comparison. Better room, stereo, shower, tub, bar (free stuff always beats expensive minibar), concierge.
Bellagio has a better casino but high minumum bets. The pool is nicer but very reserved/quiet. The MGM pool is much more of a party...we saw guys in costumes, a guy in the Borat suspender/thong bathing suit and lots more 76 ounce beers and frozen drinks 3 feet long. If you want a quiet read by the pool the Bellagio is perfect.
The Bellago fountain is spectacular, wherever you stay in Vegas go watch a show or two, especially at night.
I look forward to another trip to the Skylofts...I may just suck it up and book the 2 BR to make sure I can get it. The upgrade to a 3 BR would be unnecessary but cool.
Hope this makes choosing your hotel easier!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ParanoidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Our experience was spot on with all of the other guests who loved their experience.

Being greeted at the airport and driven in a Maybach (my husband loved this) to the friendly and helpful staff, they almost seemed like they were waiting for a challenge or an unusual request!

Our room was lovely and overlooked the strip as per my request..they provided us with an early and late checkout (which we greatly appreciated) everyone on our trip wished my hubby a happy birthday.

I could have stayed in the room the entire trip..the bathroom is the best..from the champagne bubbles in the tub to the enormous shower/sauna.

I was a bit hesitant on what to expect being that it was a hotel within a hotel at the MGM Grand..throw that all out the window because this truly is a spectacular experience!

Was worth every single penny and we cannot wait to go back again!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alohaweding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We flew in from New Orleans, Louisiana. When we arrived at our gate, the MGM driver was waiting for us. He walked us to baggage claim, quickly collected our luggage and escorted us out to the waiting Maybach limo. The Skylofts at MGM Grand was only about a 10-15 minute drive from the airport. We were greeted curbside at the hotel by both the concierge and baggage handler. We were quickly escorted through the lobby and past the VIP check- in area to the private elevators for the Skylofts. We walked down a hallway and noticed a man standing by an open door. This was our room. We were escorted inside the suite, asked to sign papers and given room keys. At this time, we were informed that our AMEX booking agent had arranged for us to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite with Butler service. What a wonderful surprise. Our Butler then gave us a full tour of the room and all of its many amenities. The amenities were endless. The huge suite had many flat screen TVs, a few phones, an espresso machine, a game room, a bar, 2 bedrooms, 2 and a half baths, a large dining area, and the list goes on. We needed a tutorial to learn how to use the many remotes that controlled everything from the TVs to the draperies to the air conditioning .

We decided to go to a couple of shows (Ka and O) so, we called the concierge and he arranged tickets for us. Both times we had premium seating (4th row and 6th row) and top-notch treatment at the venue. Both shows were more spectacular than we could have ever imagined. Wow, I guess being Skylofts guests has its advantages. Aside from the shows, we spent a lot of time in our suite. We only left to gamble and shop and to meet friends at a club 2 nights. With all of the amenities and conveniences in the room, we found it ridiculous to leave for little things. Our butler was wonderful and catered to our every need. He even brought us several types of specialty pillows to test and select so that we would be most comfortable while sleeping.

We ordered room service on 3 occasions. Each time, it was delivered at the exact time we had requested and served in our dining area on fine linen and china. The food was hot and delicious every time. Our butler knew from our conversations that I was a coffee and espresso lover. Every morning at 9:00 I would walk downstairs in our suite, and our butler was already busy preparing my morning coffee.

One morning, we had the privilege of dining at the Mansion on the invitation of a friend. You are usually not allowed access to the Mansion unless you are a VIP/Celebrity/High Roller. The food was delicious and reasonably priced.

The Skylofts at MGM Grand provides the most luxurious experience in Las Vegas. When it was time to leave, I actually got teary-eyed. I still miss my butler…lol. No really, I do. We can hardly wait to return to Las Vegas in November for Cigar Afficionado’s Big Smoke at the Venetian. We were originally supposed to stay at the Venetian. Nothing against the Venetian, but we can't keep our minds off Skylofts. I promptly cancelled those reservations and booked our second stay at the Skylofts. The waiting is agony.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Serenity96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Nobu Hotel at Caesars Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
ARIA Resort & Casino
#18 of 264 in Las Vegas
24,528 reviews
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#4 of 264 in Las Vegas
18,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylofts at MGM Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylofts at MGM Grand

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard S, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#13 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £829 - £1,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Skylofts at MGM Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized internationally as a Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five Diamond destination and as a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the SKYLOFTS were unveiled as a rare and private sanctuary of sleek two-story accommodations. The SKYLOFTS offer visitors the quintessential loft environment harmonizing design, ambiance and unparalleled vistas. Located on the top floors of MGM Grand, each loft features 24-foot, floor-to-ceiling windows providing dramatic views from every angle. Priced from $800 to over $10,000 per night, SKYLOFTS accommodations are available in one-, two- and three-bedroom floor plans and range in size from 1,400 - 6,000 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Skylofts at MGM Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylofts At Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Skylofts At MGM Grand Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing