We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #92 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This hotel is a disaster”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

1. Attempt to enter valet upon arrival: there are no signs, markings or anyone directing us. Finally make it, only to wait 15 minutes for a bell boy who never comes and now at this point the "line" for valet has grown exponentially. We finally get the intention of a supervisor who gets a cart for us only to tell us he will not bring in any plastic bags, groceries, or alcohol. He then explains it's hotel policy to prevent partying in the room. Oh I'm sorry.. I thought I was in Vegas?

2. Entering the hotel: The hotel is disgustingly dirty. On top of what was probably a lovely floor, another hotel guest commented, that the floor looked as if the droppings of farm animals were all over it. Again there no signs or markings, nor was there a path through the casino, to direct you to the registration. Finally we find the registration in the very back of the hotel and it's complete chaos. Despite arriving early, there are no lines and people are just pushing at each other to get to the desk. Once we were helped it took over thirty minutes to get checked, which appeared to be the average time to get checked in. The employee who helped us was very nice. Keep in mind we are holding all our alcohol because the bell boy could not take it up for us. Thanks for the work out SLS.

3. Room: The elevators to the rooms are also disgusting dirty. Immediately upon walking into our room I feel so claustrophobic I needed to walk out. After coming back in we realized the "double" beds were some weird size between a twin and a full. At this point we are so distraught by the size of the size of the beds, we spent half an hour googling what type size bed this could possibly be. We still don't have an answer. That being said the tiny beds were really comfortable (although not more than one person can sleep in each), the room decor was nice, and there were phone plugs in the nightstand. There were also two large lighted mirrors which somewhat helped with the tiniest of the room. Also the air conditioning whistles, it's so loud that we thought it was an alarm at first.

4. Pool: There was nothing going on at the pool opening weekend. There were also so few lounge chairs for a hotel of this size that we weren't able to sit down. That being said the pool is beautiful and is this hotel's only redeeming feature, wish we could have been able to sit and enjoy it.

5. Restaurants: If you're from LA it's the same old thing but if you're not, there is a great selection.

6. Nightclub: Our experience at life is by far the most appalling Las Vegas experience anyone in our group has ever had and we have been to basically all the Vegas clubs and sbe clubs in LA and never had any problems. We reserved a table weeks in advance and got to the club relatively early, yet we still had to wait in line for over an hour. We were prepared to spend a lot of money. They then informed us we could not be seated at our reserved table because our "ratio" wasn't right when they knew we were a bachelor party. The table they took us to instead was insulting. It wasn't a table more than it was a night stand pushed up against a bench in a row with a bunch of other nightstands. They thought we wouldn't notice that they stuck us at a table that was two price tiers below what we were paying and didn't care. After two hours of dealing with all these logistical nightmares, we decided to throw in the towel with the table and just have fun in the club. NOPE. Not only could they not honor our reservation, they wouldn't allow us to stay and party in the club. This experience ruined our entire night, not only were we sober, tired and frustrated but by the time we finally left we could no longer get a table at another club as they were all sold out.

Overall, a we had a terrible experience and will not be back at this hotel. Would definitely not recommend staying here

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mje108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear MJE108,

I am so sorry and embarrassed by your experience. Please trust we are working through kinks at light speed and I'm hoping you wouldn't mind contacting me so I can personally apologize.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
VP of Hotel Operations
Albert.smith@slshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    1,039
    594
    280
    273
See reviews for
370
1,125
188
564
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The remodel of the previously named Sarah casino was done very well. Lots of clever design choices, including fun uniforms for employees which included vests that have monkeys on the back of them. However, in an attempt to maximize the casino floor, it appears they have overstuffed games in a way that must leave only the legally required distance for walkways b/w machines. It will be interesting to see the crowd that is in attendance after opening weekend, as most of the people there were "too cool for school" LA crowd (read: nightmare drivers trying to get in and out of valet and the garage) and local casino players waiting to get a players card (read: Palms casino customers). Insider Tip: Park your car in front valet. The design for the exit out of the garage requires you to cross the valet Drive area. It took only one informed driver to block that exit and had the entire garage stopped until the drive was cleared again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeauxFrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear GeauxFrogs,

Thank you so much for the tip of the hat nod to our design team! We are so proud of it and delighted you love it!

Since you're local it would be awesome to meet you in person someday soon and we can't wait to have you back.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
VP of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I don't know where start. The most impressive part of SLS is the huge video sign outside. Once you get inside, it's a rapid decent into sub-mediocrity. The casino has no ceiling, with all of the superstructure and venting exposed. This industrial look can be very effective, and I have seen it well executed in other venues; however, it's execution at SLS was dismal. It looked like they ran out of money when they got to the ceiling and said "Just spray it black". The finishes overall were cheap and the design was an incoherent take on other stylish, hip boutique hotels. Organization and staffing was nightmarish. We asked the front desk if there was a poker room, and they didn't know (turns out they don't). There appears to be no showroom either--a real mistake. The hotel appears to be an excuse for three nightclubs, but it offers little else, and the crowd can only be described as wanna be hipsters. I was really hoping that SLS would be great, but I don't know why anyone would patronize it, as everything they do seems to be done better by someone else on the strip. It lacks class and imagination in every respect and has the feel of a glorified frat house with slot machines. I won't be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
23 Thank LordAbinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear LordAbinger,

Thank you for your feedback! The SLS Las Vegas is a complete departure from the colossus monstrosities that line the Las Vegas strip. That said, not everyone who walks through our doors, especially on our opening night is going to identify with who we are what we've set out to do.

I wish you the best of luck as you find an operation that makes you feel more comfortable and is closer to the "norm" in Las Vegas. Please know the SLS family is always here for you if we can help with anything at our hotel or elsewhere!

Best regards,

Albert Smith
VP of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The garage elevators are broken. We walked 5 flights of stairs. The hotel and casino which are 3 years in the making look unfinished outside and in. Service is seriously lacking the buffet line did not refill and empty trays abound. $80 for 2 people who left hungry. By the way if you have kids or someone who has a child like palate not a macaroni or chicken leg or mashed potato in sight. Do yourself and your wallet a favor. Skip SLS.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank rashkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Rashkee,

Thank you for your review! I am so sorry we let you down and please believe we are working diligently through some of the issues you outlined in your review.

I truly hope you give us another opportunity.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
VP of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I'm a huge fan of the SLS Beverly Hills, so naturally, I was very excited for sbe to open their flagship property...wait for it...in my hometown! I attended the grand opening last night with a close friend, and was blown away by the design of the property. The lobby is gorgeous- classic Starck, with elements of the hotel in Beverly Hills built in. The flower bouquets that became so infamous in LA are prominently on display here. It's obvious that the staff cares a lot about the property. I'm excited to see how the hotel impacts the North end of the Strip. I hope they are very successful, because with this restaurant collection, Fred Segal, and designer rooms...at these prices, they should be. Nightly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank JoshHamilton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear JoshHamilton5,

Thank you for your loyalty to our brand! Aside from a stunning hotel, we sifted through 117,000 applications and hired 3,400 of Las Vegas's most talented employees. We were careful to ensure that everyone we hired would love and care for our guests and your review suggests we succeeded!

Our home is your home and we hope to see you as often as possible!

Warm Regards,

Albert Smith
Vice President of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Went to the grand opening tonight. We took the monorail to the SLS station and arrived 15 minutes early and got in line. We waited 20 minutes past the scheduled midnight opening and they didnt even send and an employee to unlock the gate. By the time we went down to another entrance they said they were at capacity and couldn't let anyone else in. Lots of people leaving after less than 20 minted after opening and all said it was disappointing. I wouldn't. Know because after 45 minutes they still weren't Letting anyone else in. Huge waste of time. Will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank SteveJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear SteveJ73,

I am so sorry you weren't able to experience and enjoy the opening of the SLS Las Vegas with us. I hope you can appreciate the consideration for safety we had to observe given the thousands of people trying to get in at midnight to see the most amazing property on the strip.

With the assistance of Metro Police we had to carefully control each entry point to allow for a safe entry and exit.

While I'm disappointed your perception of safety translated to poor service, I truly hope you have the opportunity to come and see what all the buzz is about!

Sincerely,

Albert Smith
Vice President of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
W Las Vegas
W Las Vegas
#84 of 262 in Las Vegas
166 reviews
The Strip
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lucky Dragon Hotel & Casino
#75 of 262 in Las Vegas
197 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#83 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,418 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#66 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Property: SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Address: 2535 South Las Vegas Blvd., Las Vegas, NV 89109-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the grounds of the Sahara Hotel, SLS is a new destination that captures Vegas' hip heritage and future cool. SLS's unparalleled dining and nightlife collection includes Bazaar Meat by Jose Andres, Katsuya, Cleo, The Sayers Club, Foundry Concert Hall and Foxtail Pool Club. Play in our casino for an experience as legendary as our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing