We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Boutique Hotel Lacks Proper Security”
Review of The Cromwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Cromwell
Ranked #21 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stylish Boutique Hotel Lacks Proper Security”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

There are many things to like about this place. The friendly staff, stylish rooms and exceptional complimentary buffet breakfast are the most notable. Workers always greeted us and wished us a good day or inquired about our stay. The room we stayed in was fine for the two of us. It had a parlor-like vibe with magenta paisley wallpaper, a cool leather sofa and unique suitcase-style nightstands and tables. The bed was comfy and the shower was excellent.

The main reason my overall rating isn't higher is because of a security snafu the first night we were there. I hit the sack around 10:30pm while my husband stayed out, contributing to the Vegas economy. He returned a little later after I conked out, but I didn't realize it. So, you can imagine how startled we both were when someone dressed in a hotel uniform let herself into our room around midnight. Thinking it was my husband, I called his name and he said, "I'm right here." Simultaneously, we realized that someone we didn't know had started to enter our room and then very quickly left after announcing they were delivering water to us. John went to the door to see what was going on only to encounter a housekeeper who claimed it wasn't her. Not sure if something more sinister was going on like a scam or something, but it was enough to rattle us.

We reported this to the guest services staff in the morning and they said they'd be sure it didn't happen again and admitted that they had received other similar complaints that night. They sent up a split of champagne and some chocolate-covered strawberries to compensate for the disruption. That was nice, but I truly hope they take steps to prevent this from happening to any other guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbAndJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,799
    623
    209
    129
    111
See reviews for
303
1,244
238
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great smaller resort without the big crowds. Great casino hosts with outstanding drinks and food. The outside beach/pool was a little "young" and definitely for the younger adults and party scene. I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Caesars Entertainment

Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberOlson, Guest Relations Manager at The Cromwell, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I’m excited to hear you would stay again with us JB. It’s great to also hear you liked our smaller feel. We hope to see you back at The Cromwell soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Excellent service from bell service, room service, front desk, housekeeping, security at elevators to casino employees; new rooms with great décor and amenities such as rain shower,modern tilework, large flatscreen television; boutique hotel located in the heart of activity on the Las Vegas Strip


Room Tip: Hardwood flooring, great décor, large television, luxurious beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Caesars Entertainment

Helpful?
Thank Margo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberOlson, Guest Relations Manager at The Cromwell, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I’m excited you had a wonderful stay Margo. We pride ourselves in our guest services and making sure all our guests feel welcomed. We look forward to having you back at The Cromwell soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Extremely friendly staff, they felt like friends
Room was nice but small. Very dark, one small window. Lights in room were dim. Also, lots of road noise, sounded like the window was open.
Giada's was fabulous.
Slots were tight, lost the most money ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Caesars Entertainment

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberOlson, Guest Relations Manager at The Cromwell, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am glad you were able to feel like friends with our staff Paula and that you were able to enjoy Giada’s. We are working on solutions to assist with room noise associated with our closeness to Las Vegas Boulevard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Friendly Staff they tried their best. The room was not ready. Elevators too slow waiting time too long most of the time when coming down we had to go up in order to come down because elevator was always full.





Room Tip: Rugs where not clean lots of stains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Caesars Entertainment

Helpful?
3 Thank MilagrosDavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberOlson, Guest Relations Manager at The Cromwell, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I am glad you found our staff friendly and would like to apologize for the issues with the elevators. We did experience some technical issues during your stay but have since resolved them. I do hope you’ll allow us to show you a true Cromwell experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our first visit to the The Cromwell was a great experience. I had read about the club noise so made sure to request a room on the lowest floor. Hotel was very accommodating and special thanks to asst manager Brent Klimow for helping us out. Love the small intimate nature of the casino and common areas. Nice touches include a buffet breakfast every morning just off the casino, coffee and tea on every floor and daily turndown service. Must agree that rooms are very small and very dark and our hallway always seemed to have a strange odor. The presence of Drai's clubs seemed to make the casino etc a bit more crowded than it needed to be but for some that is a plus. Overall the small dark rooms might keep me from coming back when 700 sq foot suites are available at the Palazzo for the same price, but the location is ideal and the vibe in the small friendly casino is fantastic.

Room Tip: Request a lower floor if you don't want to hear the constant beat of bass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberOlson, Guest Relations Manager at The Cromwell, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
It’s wonderful to hear your first experience at The Cromwell was great and that Brent was able to accommodate your requests. I do hope you’ll stay again with us on your next trip to Las Vegas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a bit of a contradiction for us...we liked it and we didn't like it!

Good Stuff: Great service fr servers and all staff,awesome drinks, very clean, comfortable beds, nice big screen tv, great free breakfasts/coffee, good strip location. Bad stuff: rooms small and storage space limited....even for 2 people it is tight. The large panel sliding door to the bathroom is a bit heavy to maneuver. Rooms are dark....not really a room you can hang in...view is minimal.

Casino needs more machines. A small restaurant would be great or store needs to sell snacks like at an airport (pick up and go). Room service is offered but that takes time and is often pricey. Even though we hated to leave,we found ourselves walking to other casinos to pick up a quick bite or to find more penny slots to play. (We noticed so many empty tables that could have been replaced with banks of machines in this casino.)

So, would we stay here again? Yes, but not always....probably for a short trip or for a trip that we know we will be out and about...One thing for sure, you can't beat the person to person service despite the room limitations!!! So, we will be back again but, now we know what to expect and we will simply enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberOlson, Guest Relations Manager at The Cromwell, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for the review Jennifer. I’m glad you enjoyed our service, beds, and more. It’s true our rooms are a bit more of an intimate size, as is most of our hotel in comparison to most Las Vegas resorts. This boutique size really allows our staff and service to shine. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Nobu Hotel at Caesars Palace
Nobu Hotel at Caesars Palace
#36 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Caesars Palace
Caesars Palace
#38 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24,617 reviews
The Strip
Jockey Club
Jockey Club
#41 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cromwell

Property: The Cromwell
Address: 3595 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cromwell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cromwell Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing