We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
Ranked #134 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet”
Reviewed 18 July 2008

While certainly not the Bellagio or Caesar's Palace, the Mardi Gras was comfortable, quiet, clean, and inexpensive. There was a minor problem with the telephone, but the staff addressed it quickly. Lobby/casino was smoky but that appears to be a general hazard in Las Vegas outside the top tier hotels. Our non-smoking room was fine, with good beds and a good shower (always an important feature). We found the location convenient, and the staff helpful.

  • Liked — Location, decent breakfast buffet (not complimentary)
  • Disliked — smoke in the lobby
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanvandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    402
    332
    171
    174
See reviews for
235
357
133
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Argyll
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

After reading some of these reviews about the Mardi Gras you really CAN'T please everyone! Just back after a fortnight staying at the Mardi Gras and I certainly can't fault it one bit. Seven of us went away and not one complaint. We all had a fantastic time and will certainly be back that's for sure!!
Rooms clean and tidy worth the money, food great even though we're sick of looking at burgers now ha. Staff were great very pleasant and helpful. Plenty to do and see. The worse part of the holiday is actually dragging yourself away to come home!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing to not like
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BigZaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

i would like to say how we was concerned at the reviews we read
about this hotel. We found it was clean the food was good the staff was fantastic the rooms tidy cleaned daily. also the bar was
very cheap the service was good . the hotel has 300 rooms so
you meet people, not like the big hotels on the strip where there
are thousands we stayed on strip but found this hotel more relaxed. the pool area is good. i would recommend this hotel highly
we are both retired we loved our stay at the mardi gras.
Ken &Pauline LEEDS YORKSHIRE UK

  • Liked — it was away from crowds it was good accommodation small and friendly
  • Disliked — nothing would go back my friends are going there on our advice
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KIPPAXSNAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We had booked 14 days in another hotel casino very close to the Mardi Gras but the travel representative informed us we had to stay at the Best Western Mardi Gras, This hotel/casino is a tired looking motel type property, with a small bar/cafe area and 40 old fashioned slots in a arcade area, the rooms are dingy and very noisy and lack privacy and security being on an external walkway with access straight from the car park. This hotel need lots of money spent on it to bring it up to date. The staff are friendly enough. I will not be staying at the Mardi Gras again even though I will be holidaying in Vegas again.

  • Liked — staff ok
  • Disliked — Every thing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Springheader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Bourne
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We had 3 days at the National Hardware Show on 5th, 6th & 7th of May. We checked in on Monday the 5th and check in was smooth and pleasant experience staff extremely helpful and professional. Lobby is part of small slot based casino and bar. We were given a top floor room on the front of building room 3101. I would not advise anyone to take this room in the future until it has been refurbished the nicotine coated walls & ceilings gave the room a pungent & fusty smokey smell I don't think the room is a smoking one anymore but the years of nicotine were clearly evident, bathroom was very clean but basic. The room had no sound proofing from the 6 lane motorway which is only about 20ft away you can also see daylight through the room door the curtain only just covers the single glazed windows. If you have a sleep mask and ear plugs you may get some sleep.The main reason we booked this hotel was to get us close to the convention centre and what an excellant location 2mins walk away. I would recommend the Holiday Inn on Polaris Avenue its a lot further away but a far superior hotel.

  • Liked — only 2 mins from convention centre
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maxcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

The motel has really large rooms with either a living room and bed or two beds. I recommend asking for an inside room. The area is ok, but after dark it gets a bit sketchy. The tram is within walking distance, but there were a few times we felt unsafe after we got off. The hotel has a free shuttle that operates till 11pm. Only issue is that it gets full fast and then you have to sit around waiting for another one.(we waited a half hour and ended up taking a cab) Shuttle takes you to and from Ballys. I recommend taking a cab over the tram because the cab is the same price. Pool area was nice, pool was clean. I felt comfortable in the motel and it was clean and maintained with a fridge in the room. The casino is very very small, but fun if you just want to play a few coins. They have a free computer you can use. The restaurant is inexpensive, and we enjoyed the food.
One comment- from the site we were under the impression it was close to the strip. Define close. We love walking, and I would not recommend walking to the strip. It's far and probably not so safe... but good value at the price we paid via CAA.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zoodles23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Hadn't been to Vegas in over a decade and was driving into town calling around for an available room. Picked this hotel out of a AAA book and called. Told them we had 2 kids and wanted a good pool and walking distance to the strip. "We have a great pool and we're right off the strip" was the answer, so we reserved a room. A good start, but from there it went down hill fast.

1. Pool was freezing cold. I saw lots of people attempt, but only one person make it it and she packed a good deal of insulation. Jacuzzi was heated, but not working. Turns out pool does not have a heating system. (Kid's were very disappointed). But, at least their's the strip...

2. Turns out Hotel is 1/2 mile from the strip. Not right off the strip or walking distance in my book. They have a shuttle, but it runs only once an hour (not very convenient). Got conflicting advice from hotel staff about ability to park near the strip at other hotels. (At this point Dad is getting peeved).

3. Room has binder listing the various activities on the strip. We browsed it and picked out a few to check out. Luckily my wife called ahead to get better directions and found that they were no longer active attractions. One was closed for winter and not due to open until May (it was April), the other has closed over 6 months ago for remodel. Worthless binder of misinformation.

4. They serve a breakfast buffet, but unlike almost all Best Westerns it's not included in the price and costs $9 a head. Not worth it for what it was.

5. Iron leaked, toilet couldn't handle it, light bulb was out, sheets felt to be full synthetic (scratchy).

6. Hotel is old and need of a complete remodel. The only good point about it is the larger than normal room size. We had non smoking room, but smokers around us were abundant and you could not avoid it.

About the only good point I could say was the larger than normal room size.

After discovering all this I complained, but was repeatedly told there was no manager on premise and no way to call one. They said call back at certain time, we did and still no manager. This is a rather large hotel and no manager on site ever (sounds like a run-around to me).

I finally got "a" call when I wasn't available and they left a voice message. I called back, still no manager available. I finally got another call back from an assistant who offered to credit my card $40 dollars. I took them up on it as I figured I never hook up with someone who was really interested in hearing my complaints.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — everything but the room size
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#120 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#150 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#65 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#129 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino

Property: Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
Address: 3500 Paradise Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-3611 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#67 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino is your great choice for an affordable full-service hotel just off the Strip. The hotel features 314 spacious over-sized guest rooms each with a refrigerator and bar area; a friendly and affordable restaurant and 24-hour casino lounge; a large pool area with whirlpool spa; FREE Strip and Airport Shuttle that runs every hour on the hour from 7am to 10pm; and is a short walk to the Las Vegas Monorail and the Las Vegas Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel Las Vegas
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel And Casino
Best Western Las Vegas
Las Vegas Best Western
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing