We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not book with this Tour company”
Review of Heli USA Airways - CLOSED

Heli USA Airways
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heli USA Airways offers helicopter tours over the Las Vegas Strip, Hoover Dam, the Grand Canyon and transportation to the Grand Canyon Ranch Resort; for western-style entertainment and activities, tours to see the American bison and overnight experiences in authentic accommodation.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not book with this Tour company”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We’ve booked a day trip with these guys through Flight Centre in the UK. It was part of our stag weekend trip to Las Vegas. There was 11 of us going and we were looking forward to seeing the Grand Canyon and experiencing the helicopter ride.
After getting picked up from our hotel we were taken to hoover dam where we spent an hour walking on the footpath. Next stop was an abandon village in the middle of Arizona for refreshments break. Following a 3 hr drive we’ve reached our destination, the true American ranch. Lunch was served ( ribs and fries) . Next on the programme was the ‘cowboy show’ if you can call it that, 1 guy with a guitar who sang 2 songs and two guys on the horses parading in front of us.
Finally after spending 2 hrs waiting it was our turn to get into the chopper but that never happened. We were informed that the bird flew into the engine and it was unsafe to fly which is totally understandable as safety comes first. Both driver and the tour guide told us to speak to the company and we will be getting our money back.

A whole day was wasted, a valuable day of a brief trip, and whilst we appreciate things sometimes happen that are out of normal control, the facts remains we have been sold a tour, which almost entirely centered around a helicopter journey into the Grand Canyon. We never got near the Grand Canyon, and we never had the helicopter ride, the fundamentals of the entire tour.

After trying to get our money back we were told by our agent that the reason why the helicopter ride didn’t happen is because of bad weather. It was a beautiful sunny day as per photos below.

I would expect a full refund for the tour as the services we paid for were not provided. We were offered $100 per person refund which is an absolute joke as the petrol used and the food we've had couldn't have cost more than $200 in total for 11 of us!

We've ended up paying $200 per person to eat ribs and be driven around the desert for 6 hrs!

Ridiculous, do not book with them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sashvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeliUSA_Management, Director of Sales at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are disappointed to read this review. We are also disappointed that you think your day was wasted because of the safety decision regarding the departure of the helicopter flight. As you state, safety is foremost and paramount. 'Grand Canyon To The Edge & Beyond' is a tour that is intended and sold as a mix between the Grand Canyon & the true wild-west, with a visit to an historic ranch steeped in history; there are real cowboys, western style meals, optional horseback safaris, a gun range and museum tours also available, as well as entertainment provided. We've received great feedback by guests from all around the world. We know that our Director of Sales has dealt with this issue directly with the agent in question, so understand that a mutual and fair compensation has now been agreed. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    57
    33
    46
    119
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best to avoid”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Originally we had booked the full helicopter ride straight from Vegas, over Hoover Dam, to the Grand Canyon. We were then notified a week before that this was no longer available. Disappointed, we opted for the longer, and admittedly cheaper, option of taking the mini-bus through the desert to the GC Ranch, and taking the helicopter from there. The drive itself was exciting as it could be (which isn't very), but our driver and guide was very friendly and did her best to keep us informed and entertained. After a few hours we arrived at the ranch, and were quite underwhelmed by the experience. The staff were friendly enough, and the lunch half-decent, but overall it seemed to be just a badly organized time-filler while we waited for our helicopter flight over the Canyon. Once the helicopter arrived we were informed that there were mechanical problems and there would be no flight. We asked if there was any alternative and the answer was to fly on another day. As we were only there for the weekend, this wasn't a viable option so agreed we would take it up with customer services upon our return to the UK. So, in short no helicopter ride, and no Grand Canyon - the two main (only!!) reasons for the tour in the first place. Our experince getting any sort refund since we have returned has been pretty horrendous. So, unless you have low standards, then I would avoid booking with this company. I still have no idea what the Grand Canyon looks like.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank G-Tizzle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeliUSA_Management, Director of Sales at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your trip to the Grand Canyon Ranch Resort. A visit to see real cowboys, their entertainment & demonstrations, and an authentic western style meal, are all very popular parts of the tour. 'Grand Canyon To The Edge & Beyond' (which incorporates them) is very successful indeed. We're truly sorry that the flight did not go ahead following your experiences. Safety is foremost and paramount, so this we trust you completely appreciate. Please email res1@heliusa.net to be directed correctly in terms of the money issue mentioned. It will be dealt with promptly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Do not use them”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

On a trip of a life time around the USA on the 8th of May 2014, I had booked the Grand Canyon helicopter tour with Heli USA for four people and paid a $400 deposit. On that morning we were picked up from the hotel lobby and taken to the office only to be told that the helicopter was not operating due to mechanical issues. We were offered to reschedule for the following day.
That evening I received a phone call from your office stating that the helicopter was still not operating and that the $400 deposit would be refunded and delivered to my hotel before 10.30am the following morning. The money did not arrive. I rang the office in regards to the deposit and was told that the money would instead be credited to my credit card the following day.
After numerous phone calls to their office and emails, I still have not received the deposit refund.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeliUSA_Management, Director of Sales at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are sincerely sorry to read about your helicopter flight not going ahead. Safety is foremost and paramount. Please email res1@heliusa.net and the situation regarding the refund will be dealt with very promptly. We do hope that you visit Las Vegas again and allow us the opportunity to replace this existing memory with a new one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not use them !! Ne les utilisez surtout pas !!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I paid almost 2000 $ for my family and i to spand a wonderful day ... A wonderful nightmare !!
They changed the tour without telling me.
Instaed of a round trip in helicopter to the ranch we ahd a 5 hours drive in the desert !!
A 10 minutes flight over Grand Canyon, a poor meal in a poor restaurant, a 5 minutes cow boy show and teh view of ... 1 sleeping Buffalo !
And i have been trying to contact them for more than 2 weekd to get a refund and no one is answering their phone.
They are theives

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeliUSA_Management, Director of Sales at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy the day with us. Our team will only make tour amendments with your agreement. The Grand Canyon To The Edge & Beyond trip (which you took) has received excellent feedback in general and specifically on the scenic coach journey, cowboy demonstrations / entertainment, western-style meals, helicopter flight over the Grand Canyon west rim and bison safari. You were very unfortunate just to see one of the bison herd on that particular day. In terms of any refund questions, please email res1@heliusa.net to be directed correctly, it will be attended to promptly. We do hope that you return to Las Vegas and allow us the opportunity to replace this existing memory, with a new one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon amazing trip and Pilot”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked our Grand Canyon Trip of a lifetime with Heli USA and we were not disappointed. We flew on my husband’s birthday and after being weighed, checked in and told safety procedures etc. we actually forgot to take our paperwork and some drove over with it just as we were about to try and board. We flew from the airport over the Hoover dam to the Grand Canyon and we were fortunate enough to be in the front of the helicopter. It was such an amazing experience the pilot pointed out places to see all of the time, we then landed on a ranch and had lunch and a horse ride before being flown back. We flew back a different way and flew down the strip the whole experience was great, we wouldn’t do it again as it was expensive but it is a must day at least once if you can afford it. we visited Feb 2011 and actually saw snow on the Canyon which is very rare apparently.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dianne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heli USA Airways also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing