We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Critical Review- someone who had low expectations pleasantly surprised-tips & misconceptions included!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Ranked #98 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Critical Review- someone who had low expectations pleasantly surprised-tips & misconceptions included!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I had never been to Vegas before, and after reading very mixed reviews on the Rio on here I had low expectations and was ready to assume the worst.

We arrived about 2:30-3pm, parked on the 3rd floor of the parking garage and walked through the tower to check in, a cool walk since you see a ton of what they offer in the Rio. We had to wait in line for about 10 or so minutes to check-in, no biggie. We had a very nice woman check my husband and myself in (we are in mid/late 20s). The world series of poker is going on there so there isn't a ton of availability but she did give us a few options--prior to arriving we requested the Ipanema tower and non smoking (those have been more recently updated). We went up to our room and were very pleasantly surprised.

It was super clean, and a good size room. We checked our bed- no bed bugs, clean sheets, etc. Our bathroom was clean and amenities were provided. We were on the 5th floor and had an okay view, it was neat at night with the lights but you don't spend much time in your room so it doesn't matter if you have a super high floor too much. The coffee in the room does cost $ but we just ended up grabbing Starbucks downstairs each morning.

A few tips and misconceptions I had prior to Vegas:
-They make everything cheap so you spend more on gambling. WRONG!
Everything is super expensive. Yes you can get a good deal on your room, but set aside more money than you think for food. The only time food is cheap is some of the breakfast buffets, but even lunch or dinner buffets are very expensive! Water bottles are super pricey too so bring some of your own water bottles and stick them in the second fridge in the bathroom area.

-If you even lift anything from the stocked mini bar, they will automatically charge you due to a weight sensor. We had to get a few things taken off but they were very nice about it. So remember there is a second fridge if you want to store things, but, don't lift anything in the mini bar unless you are buying something.

-Play penny slots and get free drinks, tip the waitress a dollar. My husband and I weren't planning on gambling that much but we knew we would be drinking. Once we realized basic drinks were $9 and specialty were $12-$15, we quickly caught on that even if you are playing penny slots you get free drinks. So try your luck gambling and spend as much as you would on drinks. Or buy your on alcohol and take some shots in the room before you walk around.

-Across the street from the Rio there is a place called "Golden Casino". You can sit at the bar and play 0.25cents Blackjack and get free drinks even faster than at the Rio. You are always waiting for a server to walk by but at the Golden, the bartender is right there and you can get free drinks back to back to back. Also, it is way less smoky than the Rio- which gets pretty thick and we had to take breaks out of it.

-The pool at the rio is free for girls and guys. Only the back pool which is the topless one costs for guys- so, anyone who wrote it is $20 for guys---that's only one of their 3 huge pools.

-We had the $6.99 golden casino breakfast buffet and it was decent, served its purpose.

-The free shuttle from the rio to the strip is easy, comes frequently and so it's not a big deal to stay off the strip. We ate at the cheesecake factory in Caesar's Palace one night and had a ton of fun with our group there.

-Bellagio Fountains & Gardens are a fun free thing to check out.

-2 nights is all you need unless you have a ton of money and can pay for expensive shows/more food/more gambling. I did wish we could've seen a show or two, that would've added to the experience but overall, we still had a super great time with our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ipanema tower is where you will get the updated and non smoky rooms :) Our room did not smell like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cleanismygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,118
    4,271
    2,744
    1,197
    968
See reviews for
2,554
4,191
1,256
2,016
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pleyben, France
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is off the strip. So quite a walk, or taxi drive to the strip attractions.
The rooms are old and in desperate need of updating. It smells of smoke, and is generally a step down compared to the other hotels in Las Vegas.
If you're looking for a true Las Vegas OLD hotel, then stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook,Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Rio is the pits.......outdated and the Casino is dank......The room in the Impanema Towers was outdated 70's look.....Stains on the counter in the room.....The Shower faucet is almost Impossible to set the hot water , when you can get hot water.....The pools...1 was freezing cold water ..one was pretty nice and compfy..but the pool was not really clean......Food very overpriced but found a family restuarant called Blueberry Hill and the food was good and reasonably priced..........Went to MGM to do the CSI Experience and that place looked really nice,,Check in at the RIO took 45 minutes 3 people checking in 40 people.......and the nite shift early morning Valet Supervisor is a Jagbag

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qbss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised.

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful here.

We had a smoking room. We had booked non-smoking but took the smoking room at the last minute and thought it would be ok as my partner smokes. What we didn't think about is that he doesn't smoke indoors at home and we're not used to living with that strong smell. The while room smelt of stale smoke, which became stronger as the room heated up during the day. I can't fault the room or staff for this, but I would definitely select non-smoking on our next trip.

The buffet was excellent. Simply amazing food, but the line up to get in was always very long and it was a rather expensive as a regular meal option. If you were going spend some serious time in the buffet, then you might really get value for money and enjoy the many choices on offer. We were not inclined to sit down in the buffet for very long, so other choices suited us better. Having noticed the Gold Coast casino across the road, we ended up eating buffet meals there on several days. It's close and super cheap. While they didn't have the amazingly large number of food options that the Rio buffet did, we felt it was more than adequate.

The Rio has some fun attractions in-house and we had fun there. When we wanted to visit the strip, we used the free shuttle buses. These were excellent. We relied on the heavily and were not disappointed.

I loved that suites have a fridge. Very useful.

The room was large and, while perhaps a little dated, it was clean and comfortable. Very comfortable beds. TV was able to be turned to face the sofa, work desk or beds. A nice use of space.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngaProblem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Overall very much enjoyed staying here. Large room big flate screen tv. Frig in room. Dislike to norm in Vegas of pool DJ's boom boom boom, so many have this you just can't go to the pool to relax. My room was on the 34th floor and the boom boom was terrible in my room.annoying as would like to have used the pool. Food great in the grill and oriental resturant.went to the coaster show, few people there, poor quality too much money for the content.matradee unfriendly and bossy!

Room Tip: Masgarade tower close to things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

we stayed May 27-June 1...check in was the fastest I have ever experienced. The biggest problem I had was that that nothing seemed to be ungraded. The room was decent and on the bigger side, it was clean and had plenty of room however, there was only a very small closet and drawer space. Bathroom was very small but they give you alot of soaps and stuff. The pool area was good, 4 pools, 1 is adult pool (loud and not tops required) I spent most of my time at the pool but it was strange they all were differant tempertures. One was so cold I could get in, the other was too warm but other than that it was good. The only one that has food service poolside is the voo pool (adult) but you could get drinks from the server girls.
The gaming area is fine, a bit dark and not very big but the drink service there was great, one server would take your order on an ipad and it would go directly to the bartender and withing a few minutes the other server would bring your drink, it was pretty cool. Payout seemed to be about the same as any others.
The free shuttle to the strip is nice, but we generally took a cab ($9 or less) mostly for the conveniance.
We always have a great time in Vegas and have stayed in many differant properties, this just wasn't one of my favorites.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D'Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed there 3 nights. The first room on the third floor had a drip of water come out the tub so it took 2hr. To fill half the tub up. The second room had a rusted bath room door and the tile on the wall was falling down and gross and super small compared to the first. Priceline had this listed as an 4 star hotel it is not it is no more than a 2. Stay at the plans place if you need a suite.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teecee321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Palms Casino Resort
#54 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,630 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#94 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,351 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Bally's
#74 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino

Property: Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Address: 3700 West Flamingo Rd., Las Vegas, NV 89103-4043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#79 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#81 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites and luxurious amenities complement the gaming thrills, sumptuous dining and hot entertainment found at Rio. The excitement of Carnival radiates throughout the casino floor and out to the pools of VooDoo Beach where guests can soak up the sun in both family-friendly and adults-only areas. Inside, guests can dine at celebrity chef Guy Fieri's restaurant El Burro Borracho, feast on over 300 dishes prepared daily at the Carnival World & Seafood Buffet or experience the city's finest panoramic views at VooDoo Steak. Enjoy the KISS by Monster Mini Golf 18-Hole miniature golf course filled with state-of-the-art video, special effects and unique KISS props. See Las Vegas in the most thrilling and spectacular way when you ride the Voodoo Zipline and soar more than 400 feet above the ground at exhilarating speeds. Back on the ground, entertainers Penn & Teller and the Chippendales keep audiences enraptured nightly or rock out to the great rock songs of the 80's when you watch the worldwide smash hit musical, Rock of Ages. Of course, you may prefer to dance above the lights and under the stars at VooDoo Rooftop Nightclub located 51 floors about the excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Prestigia so you can book your Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio All- Hotel Las Vegas
Rio All-Suite Hotel And Casino
Rio Suite Hotel
Rio Hotel Las Vegas
Rio Suite Resort
Rio Casino
Rio Suites
Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing