We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmoshere and conveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #67 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmoshere and conveniences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We recently stayed at Sams Town for 3 nights booking 3 rooms. Our first stay here and will stay again. Clean rooms friendly and courteous staff: front desk, house keeping, dealers, security, even subway and mcdonalds workers. Off the beaten path but well worth taking the shuttle to their stops of Harrahs on Strip or Freemont Casino downtown. The water fall and sounds, plants in the large atrium provides a relaxing environment. Enjoyable stay. Walmart basically across street. Felt safe here as well.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the inside so you can see falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattmo133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    635
    220
    75
    40
See reviews for
412
593
145
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
858 reviews
473 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel seems to be a crowd pleaser, but I don't really understand why. The location is, at best, inconvenient. The rooms are nice enough, 3-star I'd say, and the staff is pleasant. On off-peak days, they have cheap rooms (of course, lots of off-strip hotels have cheap rooms on these days). I needed a one-night stay on my way through town, and I figured I couldn't go wrong for $30 (+$10 "resort fee") and a $10 dining credit. I was annoyed that my dining credit was only good until 1 am -- I couldn't use it for breakfast as I intended. This weird restriction should have been stated.

The Mystic Park water show is, honestly, pretty boring. A few lasers, a few spouting fountains. By modern Vegas standards, only worth seeing if you're in the lobby at show time.

I'm not a gambler, but the casino looked a bit sad to me, like lower end casinos tend to look in Vegas.

Dining options seemed pretty bland to me. Their buffet is certainly underwhelming.

Bottomline, if you're looking for a cheap but decent off-Strip hotel, I think you'd do better being a little closer to the Strip. The Orleans, for example, is a much better choice, and probably wouldn't be much more expensive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Sam's offers excellent value for money for accommodation in Las Vegas. Previously we stayed on the strip, but when searching for accommodation recently we found our dates coincided with a huge conference and high prices so we looked further afield and stumbled onto Sam's.

The check in procedure was quick and the staff friendly. There are quiet a few dinning options on-site, a movie theatre, bowling and of course there is a large casino. At night a light and sound show runs for about 20mins and is worth taking the time to watch this.

Our room was clean, comfortable and pleasant. Sam's also provides a free shuttle bus to the strip (takes about 20mins and runs regularly), which we used and found very convenient.

Thanks to Sam's our stay in Las Vegas was much cheaper than it would have been staying on the strip but we were still able to conveniently access everything.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Wanderingallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was first introduced to Sam's Town during a business seminar back in 2009. I was impressed then, and I'm still impressed after 4 visits since. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the food is excellent as is the comps. The slots are fair and I came out ahead, but I lost at Black Jack…but, that's why they call it gambling. The laser show has some cool themes and seasonal displays that's great for all ages. They have a free shuttle bus that delivers you to the strip and Freemont; they have a comprehensive daily schedule for convenience. The staff is very professional and courteous, and they treat you like a friend. It's a perfect launching pad for trips to the Hoover Dam, Mount Charleston, and other destinations. As far as the atmosphere, it's very laid back unlike the strip, but I guess as I get older I appreciate places like Sam's Town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roguewerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great option for that money! We took a trip to Grand Canyon from CA and stopped in that hotel for two nights. It is not on a strip and it is good. It takes about 10-15 min. to get to the strip from there and they have a free shuttle service for that running from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. I believe. Or you can just drive there and leave your car at most of the luxury hotel's public parking (that are all free) and then took a nice walk on a strip. Inside of the hotel there is a great park with the waterfall and fountains show. Of course, it is not that fancy how it is in Bellagio, but it is very good and kids will love it. The other great thing about it is food opportunities. There are a lot of dining places, located inside of the hotel, you will find McDonalds, Dunkin donuts, TGIF, steakhouse and seafood places, etc. So you do not have to go out to eat. The rooms are big, everything is in there. Free internet includes 1 MB which is nothing, but may be enough for getting emails. Free parking and a casino. I am not a gambler so have nothing to say about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

stayed here 2 days before New Years Eve, It was busy but not crazy. The rooms were a steal compared to the strip. We had our own car so no big deal for us to get around just hop on a freeway and your in downtown or the strip. The place doesn't look like anything from the outside, but inside the casino is large and clean. Our room was very nice, clean and updated, the bathroom was clean and a good size. But the best part was we looked over the "park" so we got to see the laser light show- it was still decorated for Christmas and between here and Belliago they had the best Christmas displays. When your in your room its very quiet you can't (barely) hear the show, so its pretty sound proof. One of the nice things about this Hotel is everything is here- casino, bingo, movies, bowling, restaurants, you could stay here and not leave. I would highly recommend this place. You will love strolling around the "park" . Great beds too

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the Park show (so you can see it) BE aware do not stand with no clothes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I did not stay at this hotel but wish I did. Place is wonderful and the amenities are phenonminal. loved the light/water show. A few of amenities is: bowling alley, arcade, cinema, restaurants, casino, pool, gym, and so on and so on. Great for family trips.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#48 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,612 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#53 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#97 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Property: Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Address: 5111 Boulder Hwy, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam's Town Hotel And Gambling Hall Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing