We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little different than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #67 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little different than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I'm 52, my fiancé is 53 - We consider ourselves relatively young for our age. Having said that, we were surprised that the average age (it seems) is about 75+ years old of Sam's Town guests.
The hotel itself was nice, the staff very helpful and friendly. It's rated 33 of 277 hotels, the value was great, just didn't expect to be the youngest couple there during our stay. Will pay $15 more per night to stay on the strip next time. We are going to go back on our 20th wedding anniversary though! We'll fit right in then.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    635
    220
    75
    40
See reviews for
412
593
145
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The eternal question about booking a room at Sam’s Town: should one book a room overlooking the park or book a room facing the outside world? If you book a room overlooking the park you pay more and you have to reserve the room you want a few months in advance; but you do have a view of a lovely park. Over the past many years at different times of the year, we have booked an outside room and then booked a park room and were satisfied with both choices. Whatever choice you make you will like hanging out at Sam’s Town. I think it is a haven for older people, my wife and I are close to 70, and we enjoyed our time here.
Their Keno specials include buying 100 consecutive games for .05 cents per game; we played several different times, but only got about 20% of our money back. But still it is a deal that we could not pass up. Next time we will play, if allowed, 1,000 consecutive games at .05 cents a game.
We took their shuttle to the strip: the shuttle drops passengers off at Harrah’s; we spent a few hours walking the strip, and, afterwards, were glad we stayed at Sam’s Town. We ate at the Firelight Buffet twice and though the food tasteful and prepared properly. I always brought my morning coffee at McDonalds; I keep the receipt in order to get a free refile.
We had absolutely no problem finding a parking space close to the entrance.

Room Tip: Book online and in advance to get the best price available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrellRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonewall, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed April 30 toMay 5. room was well apointed, clean and the bed was not to hard. There are plenty of places to eat at Sams from Mc Donalds, to a buffet, TGI Fridays all the way up to afine dining restaurant. Sams has shops on site, a movie house, bowling lanes and a very relaxing outdoor pool area. the staff from house cleaning to front desk to dealers at the card tables where all kind and friendly. One big plus was a dedicated non smoking area in the casino. Sams is off the strip but they provide free transportation to Harrahs and to Freemont street. Also right across the road from Sams is a Walmart so you can walk and pick up anything you might need. Will be definatly staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scriv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

There is nothing wrong with this hotel and casino. It was clean, staff was nice, casino was large. But it is not anything like the fancy casino/hotels on the strip. People staying here are just average folk. Casino had $5 blackjack tables on a Saturday night. Bar was lively. I would say the average hotel guest was over 60. Also, it is a good 15-20 minute drive to the strip. They had a huge RV lot that seemed to be full. Price when we stayed on a weekend was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank booknook9121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here last year and got the deal of a life time! Stayed in a suite for the price of a regular room and it was wonderful. This time around we wanted a king size bed, didn't really matter what floor, but the gal didn't even pay any attention to us when we asked her after she told us about the room. Also the big thing that bugged me was the $9.95 fee that was attached to the bill after we paid Ortiz their price! That didn't happen last year with the "other" company we went thru last year. Not happy about that! When I see a price for a room, I like to see the total, not just part of the price!

Room Tip: Get the hotel's bonus card that they offer. It's good for discounts at the buffet and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdwlcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Returned to sams Town in March and stayed for 24 nights.
It feels like 'home from home'.
Good rooms, very clean and friendly staff make you feel right at home.
Restaurants are good, buffet is amazing value, we will be back.
It is not on the strip, you will see many zimmer frames but it suits us.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor corner room overlooking walmart, very quiet and pleasant room well serviced by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazerblazer1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was our first time staying so far off of the strip. Our room was clean and quiet and the staff took good care of us. The buffet was excellent for the price. We thought that we were going to use their bowling or movie theatre but we did not. The mystic forest was really beautiful and great place to enjoy a morning coffee from McDonalds. We found ourselves going to the strip every night, we took their free shuttle to Harrahs and then would return after the shuttle service ended and would take a $30 cab ride back. The crowd is mature at this hotel and therefore a relaxed and quiet place to stay. My husband and I enjoy playing poker, the poker room here was not very busy and offered very few games.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the mystic gardens, it's a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaddiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#48 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,611 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#53 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#97 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Property: Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Address: 5111 Boulder Hwy, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam's Town Hotel And Gambling Hall Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing