We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam's Town Seems to Be Struggling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
Ranked #57 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We've been staying at Sam's Town for 10 years for a bowling tournament that's held the first week of June. For the last couple of years we've been considering staying somewhere else, and next year we will. Sam's Town is steadily going downhill, and it appears that they aren't putting any money (or maintenance) back into the hotel. While we were there, one of the three front elevators was broken (fixed in a little more than a day) and one of the two back elevators was broken down the entire stay. This is the second year there have been issues with the elevators. We tried to get ice and were informed by housekeeping that none of the ice machines on our floor worked. The breakfast buffet had minimal selections and the steam trays appeared to not even be turned on as the only food that was hot was the omelet that was made for me. The dinner buffet was warm at best, and the selection was minimal. Roxy's (the entertainment bar just outside the entrance to the bowling alley) was closed throughout our stay. When we first started staying at Sam's Town the place was pretty busy most of the time. The last couple of years the casino is pretty empty most of the time. If you like the slot machine selection, you'll enjoy your next trip to Sam's Town as the same machines will be in the same location year after year. The "show" in the atrium has remained the same throughout our years. The laser light show has been upgraded with a new sound track. We were very impressed with the animated animals when we first stayed at Sam's Town, but they are showing their age. The bear looks like he's losing weight as his fur just hangs on him; the wolf looks like he's on his last leg; and the beaver along one of the creeks running through the atrium needs new fur.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dal4avs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for posting about your recent visit to Sam's Town. I'm sorry your visit was less than expected, and I assure you that the Directors of each of the departments mentioned have received a copy of your comments so that they can address the items under their direction. Aside from that, I did want to specifically respond to a couple of your statements which are not exactly accurate.

I'm sorry that you were inconvenienced by the elevators and ice machines during your visit. We are constantly dedicating capital to maintenance and improvements, but we do have to rely on the vendors for those items to provide repair service. The ice machines on each floor are actually brand new units which had recently been installed. In each unit one particular part broke under the stress of use within days of one another and all units were waiting for repairs by the vendor.

The Mystic Falls Park Laser Light Show was completely replaced just 3 years ago and most of our guests comment that they enjoy the show as a part of their annual visits. Each of the animals in the park are rotated out one at a time for their "makeover", so that we never have more than one missing at a time. The most recent which underwent this detailed procedure were the eagle and the mountain lion.

Lastly, I'm sorry that you missed the entertainment in Roxy's Lounge. We have some of the best live bands in Las Vegas performing every night but Monday, and when there are big sporting events being broadcast we also use the giant screen in Roxy's to provide another location for our sports fans to watch the games.

Thank you again for taking the time to post about your visit. I sincerely hope that when you brought any of these items to the attention of our team during your visit that they were able to accommodate you accordingly. I apologize that your stay with us was marred by these items and hope that you will decide to visit us again and offer us the opportunity to better meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Being billed as "where locals go" is certainly true. It has a less stressful feel to it than the strip hotels. It has the gaming and shows but with a friendlier touch and less pressure. The upgrading of the restaurants also helps.

Room Tip: Off the beaten path but worth the drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lddogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at Sam's Town the weekend of May 30th, 2014 with the bowling league I was in. The hotel check in is just outside of the Mystic Falls area which is very pretty and has a free laser light show. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I was disappointed to not have a coffee maker in my room. The overall feel of the hotel is fun with a western town theme. It does feel a little dated and could use some updating. There are plenty of restaurants and the Mexican restaurant Willie and Jose's had delicious food and wonderful margaritas. There is a movie theater, a bowling alley and a pool so there are plenty of things to do. One downside of this hotel is how far off the strip it is. They have a shuttle to the strip or downtown but they stop running around 9:30 so if you aren't back by then you could end up with a $25 to $30 cab ride. Overall, I would stay here again with little hesitation.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank bearsfan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Other reviews we read talked about the hard beds. Ours was nice and soft, as were the pillows. The room was spacious and clean. Not a lot of channel on the TV, but who goes to Vegas to watch TV. We spent $5 on one of their computers to print out boarding passes. They print so large that the bar code was so huge that TSA could not scan it. We ended up reprinting them at the Airport Kiosk. Don't waste your money at the hotel. We didn't partake of any of the attractions available, but heard they are good. Overall, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeAreOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

SamTown is a very nice hotel away from the Las vegas action maybe to far but done a great job to help you enjoy your remote stay.
The staff and daily bonus are very nice the room clean and food choose are good.
The great thing about it , is the local away if you want to travel to the shows and back to your hotel to relax and still have a lot a action around you, but a shopping mall right across the highway.

Room Tip: Not much to see from your rooms so try to stay on hte lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room was decent, but not as nice as Eastside Cannery next door. My biggest complaint was the tub wouldn't drain (which grosses me out). Our room had a view of the parking garage roof. I think others had a view of the atrium which would have been nice. The casino/hotel was extremely difficult to maneuver from the parking garage with no signs pointing to a front desk and when I asked an employee for directions he acted like I am an idiot. The fountain show in the atrium was nice - much better at night than during the day. It would be much nicer if they could camoflauge some of the equipment. There was a live music with no cover charge at Roxy's and the pool was nice with affordable beverages (alcoholic and non) unlike some other places in Vegas that charge you $10 a beer. Morning coffee was a total pain to get as they provide none. Onsite we ate at Billy Bob's Steak (never again - just nasty); TGIFriday's twice for room service breakfast and coffee (very disappointing); Duncan Donuts (employee was very rude and donuts stale); and McDonald's (best meal and service we had onsite - and we hate McDonald's if that tells you anything). You get a discount on the buffet with a club card, but after all the bad food we were afraid to eat there and didn't - no matter how cheap. The slots were loose and we actually walked away with a few dollars so all in all it was a nice weekend, but I doubt we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HBlueKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The prices are reasonable. The beds do not work for my back, but Iove staying here. I love to watch the mystic falls show, especially at Christmas. They have a variety of food, a bowling alley and arcade. The pool is small, and the casino is tight space, but I still always have a good time. The first hotel I stayed at here in Vegas they also have a movie theatre. Great place if you want a piece of the local feel or a nights getaway if you are a local.

Room Tip: They do have newer rooms with a fee, and beautiful suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel
#104 of 265 in Las Vegas
733 reviews
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#77 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#39 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,042 reviews
Arizona Charlie's Boulder
#161 of 265 in Las Vegas
293 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#58 of 265 in Las Vegas
6,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall

Address: 5111 Boulder Hwy, Las Vegas, NV 89122-6001
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £43 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. We also feature newly remodeled rooms and effective Jan. 1, 2018, in-room coffee for all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing