We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #66 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok for a stop over”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were traveling from Salt Lake to AZ and decided to break up the drive with a lay over in Vegas. Price from Expedia was 53.00 including a 20.00 charge for 3rd person which was fair, room was clean and updated. We didn't gamble but we did eat at the Mexican food restaurant at the Hotel, it was disappointing payed 72.00 for a below average meal, but we are from AZ so should have expected it wouldn't compare.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    643
    225
    75
    41
See reviews for
417
603
146
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Customer Service at check in, housekeeping, and slot attendents was outstanding. Room was immaculate. We were there for 6 comp'd nights (my sister had three nights and I had three nights). We asked if they had any complimentary upgraded rooms available so we could face mystic falls and they happily obliged. The only slightly negative thing I have to say about the casino is that the cocktail waitresses didn't come around very often in the late evening hours (11pm - 1:30am), most likely due to a limimted staff; however, the table games always had service. We both faired well in the casino, they have many video poker machines. We have been to Sam's Town many times just for a few hours at a time utilizing the shuttle service, but this is the first time we have stayed there. The age group is older, but we're no spring chickens at 52 and liked the music they played. We would definately stay here again at some point. We rented a car, and that is pretty much a must if you stay here. Having said that, it eliminated the need for taxis to go to the shows and various dinner venues, plus the taxi fare to and from the airport. We think it was a wash in cost.

Room Tip: This was our first time and we enjoyed the room facing the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLBlalock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for a few days for the big bingo games and overall, it was nice. The room prices were great and the rooms were clean. Gaming had a wide range of amounts which was nice. The staff was nice as well. The one thing I did not care for was the buffet. There was always a big line and looking inside, there were a lot of tables open. We could not figure out why they seat people so slow. It got to the point where we did not even try to eat there.

If you do not want on the strip, this is a clean place that is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WG98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in Las Vegas on Friday because my brother was in a serious car accident and airlifted to Vegas. Sam's Town was fairly close to the hospital so we decided to stay there. I can't tell you how thankful we are to the management and staff for getting my family rooms so that we could be close to the hospital. They even gave my sister-in-law an extended stay while my brother is in the hospital. They were helpful, kind and understanding. This is rare in todays world. I can't thank them enough.

Everything you need is at this hotel. The light show is awesome and the buffet was very good. If you are looking to just get away at a reasonable price and away from the strip then this is the place. They definitely have our future business.

Room Tip: We had a room on floor 2 which was conveniently located close to parking and the escalator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sams town Hotel and Gambling Hall is a quaint, family oriented property!! It's an older Hotel, yet it has all the convenience of home.
It is twenty minutes from the Strip, but there are shuttle buses that pick you up at Sams. What is so great about this property is that its self contained. There is the Century Theaters, Bowling, TGIF and a beautiful atrium that has laser shows several times a day/evening. Room rates are lower than the Strip and prices on food are more reasonable. For those who like gambling, Sams has up to date machines. They also have a great Sports area! They are situated on Boulder Highway. And there is a huge Walmart across the road.
Their breakfast buffet is reasonable, and so is the lunches/dinners. They have a cute pool area/no lifeguard! They have handicap access and non smoking rooms. Not all rooms come with a Frig, just be sure you ask! Booking on line is easy!
Sams town is one of the few hotels that still has live music. From Western music to Soul there is a little bit for everyone. The staff there treat you like family!!

Room Tip: There are three choices. I would go with the middle choice as it comes with a frig and an inside roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spt0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Price was okay, but there were drawbacks too. Rooms are dated and need to be remodeled. Air conditioner in my room was very loud. Location is away from the Strip and it is always a pain to get there. Also, I think the area this hotel is in is kind of raunchy. The pool is extremely small for Vegas. On the plus side, the atrium courtyard is beautiful. If you stay here, make sure and ask for a room that faces there because I was put in a room with a hideous view of some kind of mechanical equipment. Movie theatre is excellent. Decent restaurants too.

So, if you are not interested in going to the Strip and want to save some money, this might be a good place for you to stay. On the other hand, if the Strip is your destination, I'd consider shopping around for Strip hotel deals.

Room Tip: Only get a room facing the atrium courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM38miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sam's town about ten years ago and enjoyed it so we decided to try again. We were not let down. At $29 a night (plus an $11 ridiculous resort fee that all hotels started charging here) you would
expect a bad experience but it's not.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. The decor is a little old but as long as it is clean I am happy. The bed is surprisingly comfortable although a little on the stiff side.

There are plenty of decent food options at the hotel.

The staff was helpful and gave us options for where we wanted the room.

The biggest surprise is the non smoking rooms are actually non smoking. This is a rarity in Vegas and made for a pleasant night.

This is definitely an older hotel but we really enjoy the relaxed experience without the college parties next door.

To summarize I think this is the best hotel in Las Vegas for what you pay and definitely recommend giving it a try unless you are looking for a wild party experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#52 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,664 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#49 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#95 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Property: Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Address: 5111 Boulder Hwy, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam's Town Hotel And Gambling Hall Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing