We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip Courtesy of Avery Atadero and the D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Ranked #92 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Kansas
1 review
“Great Trip Courtesy of Avery Atadero and the D”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our group flew in and was delivered to the casino without issue. There was a mixup on our scheduled limo but the D went above and beyond to make good. In total the trip was great. Great deal for the price and the D offered provided a great location, value, and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad to hear you had a great time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    839
    409
    192
    154
See reviews for
315
837
185
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The D was quite impressive for the money. It is not a 5 star hotel but rather a 3.5 star hotel with 7 start service, yes 7 star service for our group.

The casino was great and the Sigma Derby in the old Vegas casino on the second floor was a blast to play. We spent hours feeding it quarters and had a great time. Too bad it did not have a D Club reader as our points would have been a lot higher ;).

Avery (Slot Floor Host) was a great pleasure to work with. He made sure that our group had a great time and was able to help us out throughout the trip. Best of all he helped us find a soccer game that we were looking for. If you have a chance to work with him treat him well, he is a great guy and our group really appreciated all of his assistance. Because of Avery I will be returning to the D.

All in all I would say the D is a great place. The rooms are okay (by the standard of all hotel rooms but really really good for the price) but everything makes up for it and the over all price is a real bargain. The only thing that I found myself wanting was more elevators. Those things are really busy.

If I had to recommend a room location I would say get one on the side of the D opposite that of the music stage below. The music goes until 2:30am and you feel every note.

Location, price and hospitality makes this a solid recommendation. If you see Avery say "hi".

Room Tip: If I had to recommend a room location I would say get one on the side of the D opposite that of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpgaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for the feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and will definitely pass your appreciation on to Avery. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Went to Vegas for a Bachelor party and chose The D for location and price but were blown away by the hospitality of everyone especially Avery Atadero. He went above and beyond on multiple occasions to make us feel like high rollers. The D is VERY nice and offered a lot for the kind of trip we were on. Sigma Derby is a must play although it doesn't count to points on your players card. I could of had many more points on my card due to my hours of play on this game. We also would have enjoyed a video craps table like some of the near by casinos have. Overall The D is great and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice place on Fremont with lots to do that won't break the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side. Less noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Captain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I just returned from a trip to Las Vegas and has the pleasure of staying at the D. I was very happy and extrememly impressed with the D and their staff, especailly Avery Atadero. We were in Las Vegas on a trip with some friends for a Bachelor Party. We had three rooms for 8 people. The rooms were very good size and comfortable for three individuals. The rooms and the hotel itself were very clean and definitely have been updated. The only criticism or advice I would give concerning the rooms are that the rooms that face Fremont Street are usually preetty louad at night b/c those rooms are basically right next door to a concert stage so unless you have headphones, plan on being up every night till about 3AM. Again, not a huge deal just something to be aware of. The Casino at the D was also pretty nice. Lots of slots, video games, and tables to use and play. Again, if I were to offer any advice to the D itself, I'd say add a video Craps game and figure out a way to put players cards in the Sigma Derby Machine. Overall, I would definitely stay at the D again and feel very comfortable asking Avery for any help or advice on things to do and help with booking events. Great Hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the side of the hotel that does not face Fremont Street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmraggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for the feedback! We appreciate the time you took to review your experience with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The D Las Vegas 2 nights in July. I reserved the hotel online for about $32 a night and was unsure what to expect. The hotel is in old Vegas know as the Fremont area. The hotel is easily spotted while driving due to the huge "D" in the sides on the building. Check in was a bit slow; not busy, just guests spending long periods of time at the desk. For those reviewers who complained about gambler noise and smoke... Keep in mind this IS a casino hotel in Vegas; be realistic about expectations. We had no issues with the elevator or being able to get to our room on the 23rd floor. Going into it having low expectations for a $30 room, I was really happy with what we did get! The room was clean and comfortable, the floor was quiet and not busy, and the wait for the elevator was never long. I would have preferred not to have the see-through netting over the window, but is was the graphics that displayed the big D on the building. Prior to going I have read several complaints about noise from bands all night long. This was not an issue for us. Our room faced the Walgreens and Denny's end of Fremont's enclosed canopy... The only noise we heard was from the huge air conditioning units far below our room. I loved the location, as we could just walk out the hotel and see live bands each night, and the Fremont Street light shows that play at the beginning of each hour. I also liked the location, as we were close to the interstate and traffic in the old downtown area is not as jammed as on The Strip. We are not gamblers, so cannot comment on gaming; we only threw about $6 in slots to say we did it. We did not use the pool. The only hotel restaurant we ate at was D Grille and it was fine. There is a McDonalds in the hotel at the Fremont entrance; we ate there a couple times. Lots of hotels, bars & other restaurants within walking distance. My only complaint is that the websites stated the hotel had free wifi; the only free wifi we found in the hotel was next to the theater/D's Grille on the 2nd floor.... All other areas and log in attempts noted it would be an extra $10 or something like that. Be aware free parking in the ramp is above the 9th floors... Valet parking is below that... So it will take some time to get in and out of the ramp as you drive through it; But no issues of lack of space or safety experienced. If you are looking for a budget stay in Vegas, enjoy music and are fine with being away from The Strip; I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNSandSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for the detailed review! We appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed your experience with us overall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Based on the many reviews I read I like to provide some detail about the D. The hotel is located on Fremont street in the heart of downtown LV. If you have been here before you know that outside the lights and glamour LV is not a beautiful city. If you think of bringing kids this is NOT the best area. A lot of younger people are staying here to be in the middle of it. Fremont is interesting, loud, fun, or dirty and nasty based on your expectations. The D is right in the middle of it which means when there is life music - you will hear it in probably most rooms of the hotel. Besides that the hotel has been completely renovated and is one of the best inexpensive ones I ever encountered. For $22 I had a huge room with a king size bed, nice and helpful staff, good food and friendly service. Do yourself a favor when you come to Vegas and find out the area where you want to stay and match it with your expectations- you will be less disappointed. I certainly wasn't and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swiffy_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived at the D Grille for dinner before one of the casino's shows. We gave our order, and since my husband wanted the fried chicken, we were warned that it would be a 20 minute wait. No problem, or so we thought! We ate our salads and the bread included with the meal, and then we waited...and waited. After 25 minutes, our waitress reappears to remove the salad plates and said, "You DID order the chicken...it takes a while". Okay...we've already been there 25 minutes!

It gets to be 30 minutes - - then 40 minutes - - now we're getting concerned. NO ONE has come by the table with our food. We asked another server to refill our water glasses, and when she asked how we were doing, we told her about the long wait. She said she would check.

It is now 50 minutes since we've given our order...and no one has returned to give us an update. We flagged down the manager as he walked by, and he said he would check....sound familiar? We told him two others were supposedly doing that, and since it was now getting close to our show time, we were going to skip the rest of the meal. Imagine our looks when he says, "Okay, then you can leave if you want".....no apology or anything!

We had not seen our waitress in over the last 25 minutes, our food is "SOMEWHERE" being prepared, and we get no apology?? Totally unacceptable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargiC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We appreciate the feedback regarding your recent negative experience at the D Grill. It’s unfortunate to hear that your service was far less than stellar, and your review will be turned over to management to prevent a similar situation from happening in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,383 reviews
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#107 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Nugget Hotel
#89 of 262 in Las Vegas
10,729 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#134 of 262 in Las Vegas
838 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#90 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas

Property: The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Address: 301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is located on the iconic Fremont Street in downtown Las Vegas, owned and operated by Derek and Greg Stevens. The D delivers a fresh, energeticattitude and fun atmosphere that has become synonymous with the Neapolitan area. The D Las Vegas Hotel provides a haven of rest and relaxation just a few steps away from the city's popular attractions like the Fremont Street Experience, Neon Museum, and Zip-lining. The property has recently completed extensive renovations with 638 remodeled contemporary rooms, showroom with daily entertainment, multiple dining restaurants, Vegas' only two-level casino, and numerous high-energy bars. Whatever the reason for your visit, The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is an excellent choice for your stay in Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Casino And Hotel
Fitzgeralds Hotel Las Vegas
Ramada Las Vegas
Fitzgeralds Las Vegas
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing