We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect slow paced hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Resort
Ranked #122 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Hallsville, Tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect slow paced hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was our 4th trip to go to Las Vegas to go to SEMA show at the convention center and the 1st time to stay at this property. It is a small hotel in comparison to all the casino resorts which made checking in a breeze. There is no casino which was great for us as you were able to go straight to the elevator and to a nice clean room. The location was perfect for us - It is a short walk to either the strip or convention center.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daresue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Royal Resort. We're so pleased that your check-in process was a breeze and you enjoyed your stay. Please stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    185
    124
    39
    47
See reviews for
67
161
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

As Las Vegas regulars, we were very nervous about staying here as we usually stay at Riviera and are generally happy there. Royal Resort was a good deal and didn't have the sting of the 'Resort fee' that many Vegas hotels charge (including Riviera) which are getting very high.

I am pleased to report that our stay was a pleasant one! The rooms are lovely, clean, have huge beds, lots of wardrobe and drawer space, an extra fold out bed, table, comfortable lounge chair, microwave, refrigerator and freezer, iron and flat screen TV. The view was also great, from our room we had a view of the pool, the Encore and a distant view of the Rio. The hotel even provided good quality toilet paper, tissues and Treseme shampoo and conditioner!!!

The area is fine, ignore other reviewers who say it isn't, it's a stones throw from the Vegas strip! Yes there are drug dealers who hang around outside Dennys/Walgreens (across the road), but other than that it's fine. By the logic that this is in a bad area, you could call the entire strip a bad area!

Yes you have to leave a $100 deposit, but if we'd stayed at a hotel with a resort fee we would've paid that and not got it back!

The only criticisms of our room were:

1 The heating didn't work. This sounds like a joke in Vegas but in November it gets chilly at night.
2 The safe was locked on arrival so couldn't get in it to use it.

There is a member of staff who can fix these things; when we told the staff at reception about the safe, they said to ask at 9am the following day for the maintenance guy, we then asked at 10:45 the next morning and he hadn't arrived yet! We never bothered telling them about the heating as we would never be in when the maintenance guy was so there didn't seem to be any point, plus, as we didn't have a safe we could use I didn't feel comfortable having people in the room while we were out!

Overall we had a lovely stay and would (and probably will) stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brettyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our resort. We apologize for the heating/maintenance issue however we are pleased you had a nice stay! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here, there are other hotels in Las Vegas for a similar price at a much higher standard. Staff were disinterested in providing quality customer service. We were charged 100 dollars on arrival as a deposit, we were not informed that there would be such a steep deposit requirement. The air con in the room was broken and was incredibly noisy keeping us up at night, and there were no instructions given on how to use it. When we contacted reception we were told someone would be with us in 10 minutes, we waited 40 minutes and when the man arrived he told us he was security and didn't know what to do so simply pulled it apart. When we contacted reception again we were told we could not switch the temperature from hot to cold without climbing into a vent. The fridge was warmer than the room, another item that was broken. The Barrymore restaurant in the hotel is ridiculously over priced, especially as it is part of a budget hotel. The television had extremely limited channels and when we did find a channel the signal made it almost impossible to watch. The balconies should NOT be labelled as balconies, there is barely enough room for one person to stand outside without feeling as though you will fall through the somewhat unsafe looking railing. We were told we had a strip view, we were given a parking lot view. The coffee making facilities were dirty, the bath was dirty and so was the shower head. The swimming pool was situated basically in the parking lot and was in the shade for most of the day. Housekeeping did not empty the bins in the room, nor did they change the linen on the beds. Housekeeping would enter the room at 8am and if you were not awake they would leave and the room would not be cleaned. The hotel is out of the way of the strip and the main attractions and restaurants. If you are planning a night out it will be a half an hour walk minimum or 20 dollars in a taxi. Overall, this was a really poor hotel in every aspect. Very disappointing and I would advise anyone not to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rakfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Traveler,

We apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced. We assure you this isn't the standard we would like to be known for. Your review has been sent to the Director of Resort Operations to be addressed. Please feel free to contact us via email at rvs@tradingplaces.com as your satisfaction and time are of most importance to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
234 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I read reviews of this hotel and thought it would be a good cheap option to stay one night before heading back home, as we were in Las Vegas primarily to rock climb and run a race. The hotel looks run down from the outside and although not far from the strip it is in a kind of sketchy area. The hotel room did not have soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion or even tissues. How can a hotel not even provide hand soap??? Also, the air conditioner did not work and our room was unbearably hot! We turned it down to 64 degrees and the coolest it got was 75 in our room. It blew hot air all night long. So uncomfortable!!! The carpet in our room was stained in multiple places with large dark spots and the curtains in the room smelled VERY strongly of cigarette smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone! Don't stay here. Spend your money elsewhere!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Melissa,

We're very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. Your concerns will be addressed with the Director of Resort Operations. Please feel free to contact us via email at rvs@tradingplaces.com as your satisfaction and time are of most importance to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

First Trips to America and obviously first trip to Las Vegas. I had done my research on the location of this hotel and surrounding areas so, felt I knew the place as soon as I got there

Taxi from the Airport was just under $19 +tip
Return trip was $16+tip - cheaper as taxi do not have to pay the extra when dropping off at the airport, on when leaving

I picked this hotel as I wanted to be able to leave the hotel and get onto the strip with out the hassle of walking through lots of Corridors and Casino's, it delivered exactly that

Our Room was on 6th Floor, had 2 Large Beds and a little balcony that overlooked the strip so, we could see The Riviera and Circus Circus All lit up at night. It had a Fridge, and a Filter Coffee machine, milk sugar etc was left along with the individual filter coffees. TV with remote

Bathroom had a hairdryer, shower, soap, shampoo's and body lotion

Calls are free when made from the room to local or free phone numbers, no charge applied. This waas good as I pre-booked a helicopter flight before coming away and needed to confrim the pick up time with them from our hotel

The room was very clean, was cleaned everyday, we stayed for 6 nights

I loved the Pool area, very quite, and a big must for me - the Pool was heated!! what a bonus.

There is a Ross Dress for less across the road, so, picked up some good bargains for my Son, a pair of converse cost $24, in the UK I would have paid around £35 0 so, big savings

Had breakfast everyday at Denny's which again, is just across the road.

Went into the majority of the bigger hotels which confirmed are decision making that we had picked the right hotel and location for ours needs. Was good to see the other hotels but, glad we were not part of all that hustle and bustle.

Thank you for making my husbands 50th a perfect one

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SABGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review. We hope this information is helpful for future guests. We're glad you had a nice trip for your husband's 50th and please come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in total with my sister, either end of a road trip around the Southwest. This is a perfect budget option, within spitting distance of the Strip, just behind the Encore hotel.

Service was friendly, the room was clean, well-appointed and roomy with nice views on either side. It is a quiet location with handy local amenities like a Walgreens and an excellent taco bar.

The spa is particularly nice to relax in after a day hiking the Strip. This is where I will stay again when I return to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We're glad you had a nice stay with us and plan on returning in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valley stream
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was in Vegas for a business conference - I only was allotted $60 per day - so I looked for hotels that fit the bill. The reviews on Trip Advisor regarding this hotel are spot on. It is by no means fancy or luxurious BUT the rooms were spotless, the bed very comfortable, and the hotel in general is very quite.

My only complaint or warning to fellow travelers would be this - if you are looking for a hotel to workout in every day pick another hotel. The cardio machines are antiquated and work on and off.

The restaurant on premises is not owned or managed by the hotel; however, the food and entertainment on Friday and Saturday night is AMAZING!! I would say the food is the BEST value in Las Vegas.

Overall if you are on a budget and looking for a nice hotel one block off of the Strip, the Royal Resort should be your first choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rich l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the food and entertainment as well as the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you so much for your positive review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#151 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
#130 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
The Strip
Courtyard Las Vegas Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Residence Inn Las Vegas Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Resort

Property: Royal Resort
Address: 99 Convention Center Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89109-2010
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal offers all the intimacy and comforts of a smaller property located in the heart of the famous Las Vegas Strip. It's next to the Wynn, and is within easy walking distance of the Las Vegas Convention Center. Enjoy the marble floors, smoke-free lobby, and spacious lounge. Or soak in the hot tub, enjoy the refreshing pool, and relax in your own private cabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Vacation Las Vegas
Royal Vacation Hotel Las Vegas
Royal Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing