We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good news - then the bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
Ranked #79 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
“The good news - then the bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location of this place is spot on. You are dead in the middle of all the great action. Loads of fun costumed characters show up right in front of the hotel, and you have the mall, and are across from the fountains and the restaurants at the hotel, PF Chang's and Burgr have great food and amazing service. Even the breakfasts at planet dailies were decent, yet $$. but again, great service.

the bad.
I booked a package with a travel agent. And i was assigned to a smoking room, without either myself or the agent knowing. I do not smoke. When I registered. (the line was longer than at the airport check-in) i was told to 'upgrade' to non-smoking was $50 a day! no way. The room didn't stink right away, but towards the evening, I felt as if I was smoking a pack a day, and ended up with a chest infection.

Then...on check out, i was charged for a phone call made on Christmas day from my ROOM. I had my cell phone and wasn't even in the room that day, so one of their hotel employees must have used the phone in my room to make the call. They refused to tell me what country or state the call had been made to. I had also pre-paid internet with the package and they claimed I logged into it with multiple computers. I had one laptop, and a crappy phone that does not get internet. They removed the fake charges but...really???? i had to fight them? it was sad.
they charge extra for a refrigerator,(there is none in the room) (even Holiday inn express has those!) the safe was so low on the floor, I had to belly crawl to even put things in it...

would i recommend it? If you are a smoker, have a ton of money, and don't mind being treated as cattle. Yes. Yet, their concierge was wonderful. They helped me book amazing tours, and were sweet as sugar.

so?? mixed bag. Would I stay there again? no. Would I recommend it. No. But it wasn't all bad. so if you don't mind some glitches....then go for it. Location, location, location...and it had that.
Just be wary of your extra room charges. They hit you when you are leaving for your flight out, so have time to argue.

Room Tip: if you don't smoke, make them create an agreement in writing for a non-smoking room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,857
    6,394
    3,556
    1,468
    1,022
See reviews for
2,852
6,477
894
1,622
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I recently stayed at Planet Hollywood and have stayed there on at least 3 other occasions. Unfortunately, on this most recent stay, it is evident that the hotel is going downhill. My room on the 10th floor was very dark - even in daylight. The large furniture is dark as is the duvet cover. The small window overlooking the roof of another building (parking lot?) meant that lights had to be on all the time. There was no coffee maker and no fridge. It is possible to have a small fridge but it comes with a charge! The toiletries were not replenished and I did not get shower day until the 4th day of my 5 day stay. (I left a note for the room staff).The air conditioner/ heating unit was so noisy that it had to be turned off to allow sleep.
The bed was comfortable with ample pillows. There was lots of drawer and closet space though a dab of paint would cover the scuff marks. An ironing board and iron were supplied and a good hairdryer.
There is ample evidence of the previous theme of Aladdin in the bathroom hardware and other touches.
The gym is nice with the usual basic equipment. The staff are helpful and friendly though I did experience a number of guests being embarrassed when they were turned away because they had not paid the daily $25 resort fee. New yoga mats are required as the current ones are a bit grungy. Time for a makeover! I will be looking at other hotels on the strip in the future.

Room Tip: As much a gamble as the casino. Hard to know if you are missing amenities unless you talk to other...
See more room tips
Green Features: Guests can set their own temperature levels in the rooms. No recycle bin in rooms. Rooms so dark, lights have to be on all the time.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in November.
Be prepared for ridiculously long check in / out times. The queue can go out the doors. We waited over 45 minutes on both occasions which is totally unacceptable for any hotel in this day and age. HINT : GET SOME MORE CHECK IN STAFF P.H !!!!
The rest of the stay was fine - rooms (we had 3) all showed signs of age but were clean and beds were comfortable.
Location is excellent - close to everything the strip has to offer.
I probably wouldn't stay here again as my first and last memories are of the painful wait at reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigkegs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

good, not great hotel. Checked in on Sunday the 26th for 2 nights. 7th floor room overlooking the roof. The room itself was nice and clean. The bathroom was big, but needs a little repairs. It is quite a walk from the parking garage, through the mall, through the casino, to your hotel room..and back when you wanted to leave. Outside on the strip was a maze of people walking all over. Food and drink prices were expensive at Planet Hollywood. Casino was typical, noisy smokey, dark. Check in was 20 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanfromidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
496 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have stayed at the Planet several times over the last few years and it has gone down hill. The wait to check in was crazy and they only had about 5 people working. The room itself was ok but the outside noise was very bad. The towels felt like sandpaper. Someone had placed a bag of trash beside the elevator and it stayed there for 2 days. We also had a problem with the vallet service. Two days out of three it was full and we had to self park and drag our luggage throuhg the shopping mall. Not fun at 3:30 am when you are leaving. I doubt that I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidflemingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed at the Planet Hollywood Hotel or a few nights recently. Chose this hotel based on the pictures on their website and obviously the description of the hotel and how modern and excellent it was. Also the location is right in the middle of the strip opposite the Bellagio so that was great.

Check-in - Really slow- didn't tell us that if we didnt add a credit card to the room that we were unable to collet the $9 per day starbucks breakfast which led to many visits to the check in to sort this out. The man on check-in seemed nice enough, we told him we were there for a special occasion and he replied with " you have a really nice view from your room"....he gave us no information about the hotel nor did he ask if there was anything we needed...we were just hurried away really.

Room - now after the vague mention from the check-in guy I expected a lovely room with an apparaently great view...we opened the door...the room was really dark - only 3 lamps in the room and a tiny window which meant that most days were spent in almost darkness unless you went to the bathroom which was full of lights..the view was an awkward one but you could see the Bellagio fountains but this sadly also meant that you were constantly startled by the noise.

The desk was completely covered in scratches and dents and the carpet was really worn and fraying. The bathroom floor was also covered in scratches and it generally felt and looked grubby.

Had to call a few times as the wifi firstly didn't work and then we discovered we were charged for it when it wasn't connected - the staff weren't really apologetic and didn't seem to care to be honest.

This is my 4th visit to Las Vegas and I would definitely never recommend this hotel - even though the location is great - this still would never entice a return. Totally let down on the service and state of the rooms.

If you want a beautiful hotel try the Aria or the Cosmopolitan

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I liked this hotel for many months. But now, I feel it has lost it's mojo... It needs to be updated. I would love to go back here, but for now, I'd much rather go to the Cosmopolitan, if you can afford it.

One smart tip: don't check in on Fridays after 3pm: you MIGHT get a room facing the parking lot on the 5th floor. Awful!

Room Tip: don't check in on Fridays after 3pm: you MIGHT get a room facing the parking lot on the 5th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmonari07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Bally's
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,546 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#78 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,716 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#23 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Caesars Palace
Caesars Palace
#37 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23,303 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#38 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Property: Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
Address: 3667 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#82 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#83 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience celebrity first hand at the "House that Fame Built" - Planet Hollywood Las Vegas Resort & Casino. With star-worthy accommodations and an upscale atmosphere, you never know who you might see. Dine in style at Gordon Ramsay BurGR Las Vegas, the acclaimed chef’s latest Las Vegas hotspot; at Koi, where Japanese tradition meets California innovation, or at Strip House Las Vegas, the critically acclaimed NYC-based steakhouse. If you’re looking for something a little more casual, stop by the Spice Market Buffet, featuring fare from around the world, or at Ringer, where you can feast on wings and tenders, all-beef sliders, New York-style pizza and waffle fries while watching and wagering on your favorite games. On the casino floor, Heart Bar and The Pleasure Pit ensure non-stop excitement each with their own brand of fun. You can also discover the latest trends at the Miracle Mile Shops or socialize and sunbathe at the Planet Hollywood pool, home to dozens of cabanas and the only Las Vegas pool with a FlowRider wave machine. For those who’d rather relax indoors, the Spa by Mandara hosts a bevy of rejuvenating services in a calm, serene setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Resort And Casino
Planet Hollywood Las Vegas
Planet Hollywood Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Aladdin
Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing