We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
California Hotel & Casino
Ranked #94 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The California is mid-sized property, nostalgic and a very nice throwback to the 50's and the pulse of Old Vegas. We stayed here for 4 weekday nights while attending a conference comprised of 250 people. The group package/rate we received was an INCREDIBLE DEAL including room and 3 meals daily. I just could not believe the value considering we were in Las Vegas.

LOCATION- Great, in Old Vegas within walking distance to The Mob Museum (which is worth a visit), Container Park, Freemont Street and a Walgreen's. This is off of Freemont St. which tends to be crowded, busy and noisy. It is also located within a mile cab ride to The Premium Outlet outdoor mall which has a great selection of moderate and upscale designer discount stores. The new Strip is about a $30 cab ride.

STAFF- Very nice and helpful. There is a Concierge Desk and valet parking

ROOM-Your average hotel room - very clean and adequately sized. We stayed in the newer wing.

FOOD- Just barely average. Food is mass produced so laden with lots of sodium and bottled sauces. The package we received allowed us to eat at multiple partner hotels such as Main Street and The Paradis. I found the dining options at Main Street much nicer in terms of ambiance and food quality. Go to 777 restaurant (got a great Cobb salad there) and the buffet dining room at Main Street which is connected to The California.

I must add, the coffee at the California was so tasteless and watered down. There is a Crispy Cream on the Mezzanine or a Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts (in a hotel casino) on Freemont St.

CASINO-I do not really gamble, but it appeared as though there were a variety of machines, games and tables. I was told the minimums were pretty reasonable.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay here, especially the $ value which allowed me extra money to go see some shows, eat at some upscale restaurants and go shopping. For accommodations other than your large national chains and off the Strip, I would definitely recommend The California. If you are looking to "see and be seen," then you should head up to The Strip. If you seek comfortable, clean and unobtrusive environment, then this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank IMHO X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    256
    140
    38
    28
See reviews for
165
180
70
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

my mother and I took a trip to las vegas again for at least the 30th time. we are from florida and we go to vegas at least once a year and sometimes more. we always stayed at the horseshoe in downtown las vegas till they got taken over by the irs and lost the hotel part. then we went between the fitzgeralds to 4 queens to the plaza and now the California. I want you to all know how important this trip is to my 84 yr old mother and I we save all year round for this trip and we also buy clothes jewelry etc all year for this one week trip. the last few years we have stayed at the california hotel and casino as they give us some good comps this year was the best ever we got 4 nights and coupon books for food. I got my stay at the plaza for four night and stayed there for first 4 nights and my mother stayed at the California. we had room 1948 very nice room high up and facing the main street casino nice view and nice room. large and very comfortable 2 beds. very nice. course we spend little time in a room but I have to say this one was a good room only problem is it is the last one in the hallway which is quite a marathon to walk and at 84 found it strange they would do this to her. she ate at the California four days in a row breakfast lunch and dinner and I then got my four days at the California starting on sat. she checked out on Friday and was going to another place downtown. on Friday after lunch she called and needed help so I checked out of the plaza and found she was violently sick. I suspected food poisoning and knowing she only ate at one place the entire trip went down and reported to the restaurant that she might have food poisoning. they thanked me for the info but pretty much ignored me. now I checked in on Saturday and was sent to the other side of the building in a different tower never been there before. all low numbers and much smaller rooms and you get to look at an alley nothing nice to report about this room at all two beds a refrig wouldn't shut as it was shoved into a space that was too small, drawers opened by themselves light coming in around the door at night too warm and early am awakened by delivery trucks this is where we stayed I ate in the rest, and we both ended in the hospital with food borne illness. at the hospital well known fact if you eat at the California buffet you will be visiting the hospital.....

Room Tip: you definitely want to be in the higher up rooms and on the plus side for a view and remember the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendacole11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel feels like "home"......the dealers and cocktail waitresses are very friendly...I only sleep, shower and watch TV (when my luck is down) in the room...food is great...I love making a weekend trip there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Howroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mililani Town, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The California Hotel is caters to Hawaii visitors. In fact it is almost impossible us to visit Las Vegas and NOT see someone you know there. It is an older hotel in Downtown Las Vegas, but is very close to the Freemont Experience. Lots of Aloha there. Market Street Cafe serves a great oxtail soup. The rooms are average, but who comes to Vegas to be in the hotel room?

Room Tip: For families you can get connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Laid back and friendly. Rooms could use an update, but they were still clean and comfortable. Best food around. If you are from Hawaii, this is where all the locals go when in Vegas. Try the malasadas for breakfast and the ox tail soup at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dialygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked the California (the Cal.), based on location ( close to Freemont & express bus to the Strip) & price and the good TA reviews. We were satisfied for the most part but had to call the front desk, every second day, because of no hot water. The maintenance people would come right away and mysteriously ..."presto" we had hot water. Towards the end of our stay all we had to do was call. They said they didn't know what the problem was! The 3rd elevator quit working, the 2nd week of our stay and the waits were much longer, at times. Don't pickup the shower mat in the Tub; No one has cleaned under it for a very long time!

Internet was an additional $10.00 / day which we didn't pay. Wireless was readily available in the lobby & restaurants of The Plaza & the Grand hotels nearby.

You really don't want to eat at the Cal. as food was mediocre unless you like volume, then the Buffets at the connected by a walkway, sister Hotel, Main Street Station, are reasonable. Our price varied from $27.20 to $125.00 plus tax, usd/ night, likely do to a big Construction industry convention in town, but no Resort fees (I guess not) like so many other places charge. Having come from Canada, mainly for the weather I was disappointed to find the pool area closed. There was nowhere close by to go and sit and just read a book outside! In fact it's hard to find a place to sit outside anywhere in Vegas, except on the patio of the few restaurants and bars that have them. The Flamingo's beautiful gardens were a welcome exception to this! I assume they want you in the Casinos, loosing your money!

I now think the nicest Casino/ Hotel on Freemont is the Golden Nugget and they will let visitors sit in their beautiful Pool area. If you go there don't miss The Gordie Brown show, $35 with a $20 Buffet dinner included! He's fantastic!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaryReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

stayed over the presidents weekend and got the room for $$$$ peanuts massive bed and quite room and clean what more do you want free parking with validation but must pay $5 when entering the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nookiebear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#105 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#106 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#95 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel & Casino

Property: California Hotel & Casino
Address: 12 E Ogden Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89101-2992
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — California Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 781
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your California Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Las Vegas
California Hotel Las Vegas
California Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing