We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inexpensive but good casino/hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
Ranked #74 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel by accident via Pirceline.com. We overbid. This is the first time we stayed at an off-strip hotel. We stayed at Mirage, Luxor, Treasure Island & Turnberry private residence before.
Pros: the room is pretty sizable and clean. The Asian restaurant Ping Pang Pong offers delicious food with a reasonable price. The hotel has a huge Bingo place and a 70 lane bowling facility. Cathy at T.G.I Friday is very welcoming and positive. She also has a big heart as I witnessed that a customer disappeared when she came out of the kitchen to serve the breakfast. Instead of wasting the food, she offered it to the cleaning lady who was mopping the floor to sit down and eat. It was about 6:00 in the morning. It was an inspiring gesture of Cathy.

Cons: We were given a smoking room initially. We went back to the front desk for a non-smoking room as my husband and I are both non-smokers. The gentleman, Steve, stated that Priceline.com booked a smoking room with double bed for us. How odd it is. Priceline never gave us a choice to select the type of room or bed. The casino is smoky.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fallinlovewtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

The hotel is somewhat shabby but the rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is good. This is a nice place for an inexpensive stay. The casino is smoky to the point I could not play at the tables and the smoke permeates the entire first floor. We ate at the buffet for breakfast one morning and the oatmeal was excessively watery and the rest of the meal was room temperature. The restaurant Ping Pang Pong has GREAT food and was voted best Asian restaurant in Vegas recently.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Body Gaming Digital Marketing Manager at Gold Coast Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Gold Coast. We are currently remodeling a portion of our standard rooms, with hopes of completing the whole hotel early in 2013. Your "Good" and "Bad" comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments, and by the way we agree with you, Ping Pang Pong is a "Great" restaurant. Again thank you for your comments and we appreciate your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I go to Vegas pretty regularly, but I have rarely stayed off the Strip just because I like being in the middle of everything. Due to a tight budget and only being in Vegas one night over the weekend, I chose to stay at the Gold Coast. I am so glad I did!! The price was incredibly reasonable and the location is great. It's just off the Strip next to The Rio and across the street from The Palms.

The room is huge!! It was very nicely furnished and the bed was really, really comfortable. It had a nice big screen TV, a good view of The Palms and part of the Strip, and it was incredibly clean. One weird thing though.....the small window in the bathroom and the big window in the room both open. I find that really odd for a Vegas hotel. There's a warning not to open the window, but it's something to be aware of if you have kids....I'm not sure they could reach the top latch on the big window but still, you never know.

My favorite part of the Gold Coast is it's setup. The parking garage is small, but there were plenty of spaces. Once you enter the casino from the garage which is not a far walk at all, you are right at the check in desk. Then, the elevator to our room was seriously right around the corner. No walking 5 bajillion miles through a casino to get to your room. I really appreciated that part after spending the whole day driving, I just wanted to get to my room ASAP.

I would definitely stay at the Gold Coast again, it was wonderful and awesome and all sorts of other amazing adjectives.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WendyLady03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Having liked gambling at the Gold Coast on previous trips, I decided to take up their two night free room offer for Wednesday and Thursday, October 10 & 11.

IMO, the Hotel was excellent with with a nice view of the surrounding area. It was clean and quiet--not even any minor problem. The employees were friendly and helpful. I will certainly return --nice stay.

I played the slots most of the time (no significant wins). There was, of course, easy access to the Rio and the Palms. The shuttle was used to go to the Orleans and to Bill's so spent one afternoon on the Strip.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarkson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I've been staying at the GC off and on since it opened back in the 80's. The property has not been allowed to age by the ownership or show any significant signs of wear and tear. I stayed in one of the recently remodeled rooms and it was a very good value. Food choices are on par with good quality local places. I can't recommend TGI Friday's though - the food isn't that great and it's not really that good of a value. Especially when one can spend a few dollars more and eat well at the Cortez room - which was outstanding for dinner, and the buffet for breakfast which is also quite adequate. I've not tried the Asian restaurants yet but they always seem quite busy. Table minimums are quite reasonable at around five dollars. Staff is friendly and prompt with a drink when you're playing. Most games are available almost all the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled suite. The beds are pretty good, the TV's are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadwarrior10069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

we stayed thier 2 days in october,,i travel to vegas twice a year and have stayed at several hotels and i must say i loved this one. It is very simple but it gets you away from the tourist madness on the strip,, hard to recomend it for the first timer though as it is fairly far from the strip and does not have alot to see inside , but for the regular it is great,, it has clean rooms, good service and a great buffet,and at the end of the night when you are tired of the crazyness on the strip you can relax at a table game or slot and have a drink....the staff are very friendly and helpful

when it comes to my rating for location i had to give it an average only because many may not like it as thier is little around and it is further from the strip,, personally i give it an excellent because it keeps the tourists to a minimum,, and this is why i chose it, and will again.
- their is a shuttle to the strip and orleans, but it is a wait and almost full some times
- the pool is small but not crowded,
- their is no nightclub thier so less younger people (im mid 30's)....
- suprisingly not terribly smokey either much like many others
-WIFI is a reasonable $5 a day but touchy to hook up,, only works in the room
-thier is a $3 day resort fee far less than others,, i almost payed less for my room than the resort fee alone at the mirage so i have no problem with the fee and think it is very reasonable



the only thing for me to note was someones food bill was mistakenly billed to my room, the problem was quickly fixed however with no problems (hopefully as i have not seen my visa yet) so next time likely at any hotel i will mention i plan on not billing any meals to my room as i never have and see if i can get that option locked out as paying for someone elses meal can really be a negative impact on a stay......and if i may reiterate, the GC clerk fixed the problem quickly and i was very happy with my service


Thank You to the gold coast for a relaxing time, you will see me again

Room Tip: for the extra few dollars get a renovated room,, very few standard rooms have any view at all so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Gold Coast Hotel & Casino. The room was great and with a view of the strip. The Ports of Call Buffet was wonderful. The food was great, the service was great, and was very clean.

I have been at this Hotel many times but this was the first time I stayed there. When we were in Las Vegas we always went out of our way to eat at the buffet. Well worth the trip if you are not sleeping there.

We even found the the slot machines payed more at this Hotel than others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msg0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#56 of 264 in Las Vegas
6,028 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#38 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palms Casino Resort
#71 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,354 reviews
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#122 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Hotel and Casino

Address: 4000 West Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV 89103-4004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#72 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#78 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £43 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Coast Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 780
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gold Coast Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Las Vegas
Gold Coast Hotel Las Vegas
Gold Coast Hotel And Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing