We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #88 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Galveston
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and staff!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed in the Gold Tower. Room was really spacious and bed so-o-o comfy! Parking garage is on premises. Pool area is inviting and pool itself is interesting with a water slide that goes through a shark tank! Many restaurants on site - meals we had were good. There is no "resort fee" here, but there is extra fee if you use wifi. Right out the door is the Fremont Street Experience. Bus stop is nearby to take to the strip. This was my first time in LV, and I hope to go back. There is so much to do! I would absolutely stay at the Golden Nugget again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJ56Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,711
    3,976
    1,650
    826
    592
See reviews for
1,916
4,666
536
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

From the 1st phone call to check out his hotel shone. Having stayed in many on strip hotels we decided on a change having herd good things about the nugget. We paid for the VIP check in service garentering the room type we wanted also vip passes for all resaurants. We stayed over the 4 july weekend and although the hotel was busy we always managed to find a spot by the pool and the H2O pool bar is not to expensive, pool atendent efficient and the pool is only open the guests security manage this very well. Champagne breakfast buffet is well worth the money on sat/ sun ($23). Rooms in the Carson tower were well equiped with 42 flat screems and Ipod docks. We didnt get a great view but then that was not the aim of the room we were on 18 floor and at the back of the hotel so very quiet. The whole hotel has benifited from the reinvestment and really stands out in fremont. The only small points are no coffee facility in rooms but there are 2 Starbucks. No free internet $12 per day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pands178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Gold Tower at the Golden Nugget in Las Vegas for two nights over the July 4th weekend. The hotel has a nice physical presence, and everything you may want or need, however.....................

As far as the room goes, it's nice but not plush. Nice 42" flat screen on the wall with many HD channels, and the beds were pretty comfortable. It annoyed me that they offered no free coffee for customers to make in the morning before they left the room. They did have a Keurig coffee machine with four pods for $10, and a bottle of water for $7 sitting on the table. $12.99 a day for internet access. Every little bit of noise from next door and outside the rooms was in our ears all the time. The wall air conditioning unit provided a little relief from the noise, but in no way did it block out all the noise.

The pool looked nice, but there were hundreds, and I mean hundreds of people around and in the pool. They charge $10 for a chair, $20 for a chaise lounger, and $50 for a day bed (think of an eight foot round bed with a kind of vinyl cover on it, and nine times out of ten, a fat chick looking like a beached whale holding it down), and cabanas for $100 a day. The chaise loungers were set about less than one foot from each other on the sides, and about two feet lengthwise. It kind of reminded me of watching one of those shows on TruTV about Spring Break. It didn't look like any fun at all.

The nice part is that the Fremont Street Experience was right outside the door, but you really don't have to stay here to take advantage of that. also, parking is free for hotel guests and there is no resort fee. All in all though, it seems like the hotel is looking to squeeze every penny it can out of you one way or another. We got a deal on our room which came to $95 a night, but I probably won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Rush Tower is best, Gold Tower is next, and Rush Tower is the bottom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrWinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Nice pool. Would be a great hotel if not on Fremont street. Took forever to check in. Got 2 complementary drink coupons for the wait. Good pizza spot. Lots of penny slots. Nice big tv. Housekeeping took my fork which was sort of odd.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mequon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

If you are looking to have a band practically playing in your room, knowing exactly when your neighbor is showering, and not being able to sleep a wink because of all the noise, by all means, book a Rush Tower Junior Corner Suite. While the suite itself is beautiful, ours faced Fremont Street and no one in booking warned us. There were 2 bands on Fremont Street who might as well have been playing directly in our room, the walls were so thin I could hear our neighbor showering at midnight and finally at 1:00 a.m. demanded a new room. They were out of suites in the Rush Tower so we were moved to the Gold Club Room which was only slightly smaller than the Rush Tower Suite and so so so much quieter with an unlimited supply of free bottled water and snacks as we got off the keyed elevator and free access to the Spa for workouts. A much better value and best of all, no noise!

Room Tip: Ask for a Room opposite of Fremont Street Noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valoriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We are locals and booked this hotel so we could have a little "staycation" and swim at their pool, "The Tank." The pool has a water slide through a shark tank, and I'd heard it was really fun. We got a great price on the room, and it was pretty nice and clean, but other than swimming, sleeping, and one meal, we spent all our time on the Strip. There were lots of disappointments, too. The hotel seemed overwhelmed by all the guests. After waiting in line to get checked in, we made the long walk to our room only to find out that our key wouldn't work. So we had to go all the way back to the check-in desk and get keys to a different room. Then when we went to the pool, it was so crowded that at first we couldn't even find two lounge chairs together. Plus, they were all out of towels when we first got there. The shark tank is pretty cool, so that's the one reason I'd recommend this hotel (and the price). But even the second day when we went to the pool, it was so crowded that we couldn't find any lounge chairs at all. I don't know about you, but when I go to the pool I do like to spend time laying out and reading, and we couldn't even do this.

We also at breakfast at the hotel (Carson St. Cafe), and the experience was poor. We had to wait a few minutes to be seated, but then once we were seated it took about 30 min for the waitress to even come to our table to take our orders. Then the food was underwhelming; I wouldn't recommend this restaurant at all. And in the morning, the maids knocked on our door at 8:30am! We were checking out that day, so they shouldn't have even knocked on the door at all. Also, the self-parking was not very convenient. Overall, I'd only recommend this hotel if the price is right and you want to go down the water slide, but don't expect to lounge by the pool unless you get there soon after it opens.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingKatie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed a night at the Golden Nugget after leaving an upscale strip hotel. We have stayed at the Golden Nugget before and will definitely stay there again. We book two junior corner suites and, as usual, they were clean and spacious. They did not have the worn look as the strip hotel did and, while it was an oversold weekend due to some rave going on, the staff was courteous and went out of the way to help us. One suite was ready on check in and the other, within an hour of the appointed check in time. Beware, however, that, when we asked for a late check out by two hours, we were told we would have to pay $70/hour. Not cool, especially when they weren't on time. That, however, was the only drawback of the stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#101 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,387 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#99 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing