We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel....sticky fingers somewhere!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #89 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel....sticky fingers somewhere!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at the Golden Nugget rush tower April 27th-29th. Hotel itself is beautiful!! Stayed on the 24th floor which is a secured floor, meaning you have to have a special key to put in the elevator to go up to that floor. Room was fabulous, very clean, wonderful amenities. Bad part was someone stole our camera while we went to breakfast! Housekeeper knocked on our door to clean and we told her we were going to breakfast and would check out when we came back. Returned from breakfast grabbed our luggage and left the camera on the desk. Our bad yes. Called security to tell them and they ran me around for three days!! Said nothing has been turned in to housekeeping or lost and found. Either "Mouda" the housekeeper or the runner (the person who retrieves property left behind) took it! It did not just walk out of that room. Security could care less of our situation. Be aware of your belongings people! Be aware of a housekeeper named Mouda....just in case!

Room Tip: 24th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2trvl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,652
    3,916
    1,606
    802
    579
See reviews for
1,862
4,598
525
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,857)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

great place to stay and a great base for all of the fremont street experience and a short taxi trip to all of the other hotels and casinos on the strip food was good and the room was really nice staff were very helpful from the word go too

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrzo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I did enjoy this property and think it absolutely was the best choice on Freemont St. That being said, I would not stay on Freemont again. It is great to check out, especially on the weekend, but not stay for your entire trip. We ended up spending so much of our time going to the strip. We stayed in the Rush Tower, the rooms are nice and fairly new. They are also VERY dark, which I personally don't like. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff was great. Also, we were given two free buffets @ check-in, which was so nice! Staff is great! The pool looks really cool, but it was so crowded, we never attempted to hang out there. All in all, we were satisfied with the property, especially for the price, and NO high resort fee (there is a $5 Freemont charge though, which is fine). So the only downside was Freemont. It's IS NOT pretty when the sun comes up. No great places to eat or beauty to see. If you are there to party though, this may be your place.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor away from Freemont. We did have a room on Freemont initially, cause I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
328 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our second trip to the Golden Nugget and it was even better than the first. We were not here for a vacation but stopping overnight when driving home from Southern California to Idaho.

We picked the Golden Nugget, Rush Tower specifically, because of its lovely rooms, GREAT rates, great location and its user friendly design. But, the number one reason was "NO RESORT FEE!"

One of the best things about the Golden Nugget versus hotels on the strip is how easy it is to get around. The Rush Tower has its own private entrance. You pull up in a cul de sac behind the hotel, a valet takes your car and you walk in about 30' to the registration desk. Note: The lobby has absolutely incredible crystal lighting and the whole tower is non smoking .

Behind the desk is a gorgeous huge aquarium that is part of the Chart House restaurant (an excellent choice for food or drinks). We told the very friendly young man at the front desk how happy we were to be back because we loved it for our last stay and he surprised us by nicely upgrading us to a suite.

Then we walked about 20', took the elevator to 19th floor, and had an easy walk to our suite which was great. The room had an awesome bed and lovely amenities. It had a lovely sectional with a second TV which made it very nice for relaxing. Our luggage came very promptly and the young man was also nice and helpful. He gave us his name, told us how long he would be on duty and to call him personally if we needed anything.

The view was incredible and looked down on Fremont Street and across the city and desert. This actually was the only problem we had. The desk associate did not know that we had to get up at 6:00 a.m. in the morning to continue our drive home and the bands on Fremont played until 1:00 in the morning. We were on the 19th floor but really couldn't sleep until they stopped. It was not his fault, he was just being generous, but next time, if we need to get up early, we will be sure to mention we need a quiet room. This was a Friday night in Vegas so we should have realized that might be the case.

Again the easy access around the hotel made it easy to go to the casino which was only about 20' to the right of the registration desk. The entrance to The Chart House is right next to it. I can't stress enough how easy this hotel is compared to the strip hotels if you do not like, or can't do, a lot of walking.

The restaurants in this hotel are all awesome. We especially love the Grotto. Really good Italian food with a reasonably priced menu. The dessert cart will stop you in your tracks.The pool next to it is incredible to see even if you don't use it because it too has a gigantic aquarium wall.

As to gaming: They have a nice selection of slots but a poker room that is a bit small.

Checking out on the TV was a breeze. We took our own luggage down because it was such a short walk to the door from the elevator. The nice thing for us was it was only about 3 minutes to the I-15 North on ramp so we did not have to battle all the traffic on, and alongside, the strip.

We have always stayed in the big 5* hotels on the strip, loved the ambiance & shopping and didn't mind the high prices but, frankly, changed because of the unethical Resort Fees they all charge. It is not the money, it is the principle. Put it in the darn rate and quit trying to trick guests by offering a different rate than what they will eventually pay. The rate at the Golden Nugget was incredibly low but they still didn't nickel and dime us which we appreciated. It also had restaurants with decent food prices that are now impossible to find in hotel restaurants on the the strip.

Room Tip: Again, if you like or need to go to bed early be sure they put you in a room away from Freemont Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley S, Public Relations Manager at Golden Nugget Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about our property, from the Rush Tower room to the restaurants to the casino floor. I apologize for the noise inconvenience and hope you made it to your next destination safely! We hope to see you back at the Golden Nugget soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was so excited to come back to the Golden Nugget- i stayed here last year- but didnt realize there are two different towers! STAY IN THE RUSH TOWER! you will not regret it.
To be clear- i stayed in the older tower- its a great room. nice and big...comfortable...clean. But not nearly as nice as the rush tower. totally worth the upgrade.
The pool is fabulous- i got there at noon and there were no seats..had to sit on the edge of the pool- so get there early! Coffee line at starbucks is nuts- so go across the street to Dunkin Dunots if u dont want to wait!
PROS: location, convenience, pool
Cons: CHECK IN AND CHECK OUT......oh my gosh..there was only ONE PERSON at the desk when we checked in and out- AT PRIME time....waited 45 minutes both times..which is just straight up nuts.

If you don't mind waiting in line ...the rest of your stay will be flawless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heatbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sublimity, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just came home from a wonderful warm weekend in Vegas.
When we arrived Friday night at the hotel we discovered we were given an ADA room, which we did not need. Saturday morning we asked if we could switch rooms and the hotel accommodated us. The rooms were very clean and bigger than any other hotel we stayed at. We stayed in the Carson tower. We had our morning breakfasts at the Grotto and the Buffet and everything was fresh and tasted good. I need to give a shout out for a restaurant we found by chance with reasonable prices, the Pasta Pirate restaurant located inside the California Casino. I had the Chicken Portabella. Out of this world taste! The food was hot and got a lot of food for the price.
When we come back to Vegas,we will definitely stay again at the Nugget and visit Pirate Pasta.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 385Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for our 50th birthdays last August and had a great time. Stayed in Rush tower, so worth the upgrade! We were here with 2 other couples and they treated us well. Usually stay on the strip but Golden Nugget is our new favorite. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,336 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#100 of 263 in Las Vegas
990 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Prestigia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing