We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome old and charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #89 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome old and charming hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This was the first time my friends and I had stayed at Downtown LV and we had never heard of the Golden Nugget before and, to be honest, we were a bit skeptical about staying here but the cheap prices lured us in. We were NOT disappointed. The GN is an old, charming hotel with lots of personality. The lobby was beautiful and clean; the marble floors were impecable, too. Our room was cozy and comfortable; we are smokers and opted for a smoking-room which was a mistake because four smokers in a two-bed suite makes for a lot of smoke and heavy breathing, but that's our fault. Eventhough we did not eat at the hotel's restaurant, we could tell it was a nice little place. The pool area is awesome, trendy and hip. The casino has that 70s charm to it and we just loved gambling and drinking there. Also loved the fact that Fremont St. is right around the corner and if you want to do some fun, cheap shopping then you'll feel in heaven there.
All I can say is that if you want an awesome Vegas experience without a whole lot of spending, then go to the GN.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexguyUSA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,652
    3,916
    1,606
    802
    579
See reviews for
1,862
4,598
525
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,857)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We have been to Vegas many, many, many times and have never stayed Downtown. As a matter of fact, my husband had never even been downtown before so this trip out we decided to stay one night downtown and the other two nights on the strip (THE Hotel, see other review).

I believe it was about a 20$ cab ride from the aiport, but honestly I forget now. Check in folks were very nice and we stayed in a Gold Tower room, was about 60 bucks via their website.

The hotel was alot nicer than I thought it would be actually. I had a minds eye view of the downtown hotels and don't know about the others, but GN was classy, clean and well appointed.

The room was wonderful really. Super comfy bed, nice side bathroom, flat screen tv (never turned it on so can't comment). Better than many of the rooms at the mid level hotels we have stayed at on the strip. Certainly not as nice as Bellagio, MGM or Mandaly but I guess that goes without saying for most.

Casino was great, checked out alot of them downtown but mostly played here. Others have said they were lean on the payoff but we did not experience that. Found an Invaders From Planet Moolah here and had a ton of fun for quite a long time on that quirky little machine! Spent a good bit of time at one of the sit up bars (can't remember which on) and fell upon a Video Poker machine that really, really liked us - hit 400$ bucks twice on it. Gambling gods were smiling on us here. Actually came back to that same one the next morning, however a very nice lady was perched on it. We waited.....and waited....and waited but she was not moving!! We were joking with her and she promised after her last deal she was on her way. Low and behold....her last spin she hit the jackpot. Rats for us but good for her. High fives all around.

Food: Sorry, can't comment. Did not eat at the GN. Did have the buffet at the Paradise across the way and it was really very good and very reasonable. Would eat there again (breakfast).

Pool: Too cold but looked very nice. On the small side in my opinion. Bet it is jammed in the summer time.

Downtown Experience: Interesting. Lots of characters down there. Nothing to complain about on our end but I wouldn't roam around down there by myself. Street is a party to be sure. You can walk around with drink in hand so you know how that goes. I'd like to comment on the light show, but I'll be darned...we missed it!!! How might you ask? Well we roamed into Glitter Gultch (what the heck....why not....it's Vegas) and ended up hanging out there quite a while. While certainly not a high end club, service was good at least. Let's just say husband did not spend a whole lotta time staring at the various ladies, every one outta ten was at least average. Made it fun thought. I will say I woke up the next morning without my drivers license and new I left it there when I cashed out the card. Had to hang around till 11 the next morning to get back in (nice...on a Sunday morning....lurking around the club entrance waiting for them to open). Managers searched high and low and found it behind the bar. They went out of their way to find that sucker for me. Very much appreciated as I needed it to fly home!

Yes, I would stay at the Golden Nugget again and would recommend it to others.

Enjoy and have fune.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martini 425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We have stayed at the Golden Nugget many times over the years and keep returning because the cost per night stay is always very reasonable for the room type and ammenities available. We have always been treated very well by all staff members we've encountered. I had booked a king room in the Carson Tower for 6 nights using my slot club card (which is what I typically do) but at check-in was given an upgrade to the new Rush Tower. WOW - the linens, bathrobes, flat screen TV, spa like bathroom, and leather seating area were far beyond my expectations! We LOVE the pool and spa and try to take advantage of them as often as we can.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Once again my stay at the Golden Nugget was successful. I have stayed here many times and have yet to have a bad experence. Maybe I don't set overly high standards or something, but I always enjoy myself when I stay here. I was at the Golden Nugget from February 16 - 19, 2010 for work and stayed in the North or I guess it is called the Golden tower now. My room was very comfortable and the bed was to die for. I slept every nite as if I was at home in my own bed. We arrived at about 11:00 a.m and waited about 10 minutes to check in. Our room was ready, and we were on our way in no time. We had a room with a view of the pool area. The weather was in the high 60's low 70's and there were alot of people using the pool area. The family pool was heated to 83 and the adult pool is heated to 90. I didn't do great on the slots, but a friend of mine hit for $900.00, so I guess it is just the luck of the draw. Would I go back and stay here again, you better believe it. If it is the hussle and bussle you are looking for, then maybe downtown is not where you want to stay, but if you just want to be able to relax and have some fun then try the Nugget, I think you will find it is well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymisfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I loved staying in downtown and the newly remodeled Golden Nugget was the perfect choice. I enjoyed being able to take the Deuce to the strip and play during the day but come back to Fremont Street at night and watch the amazing video shows overhead. Excellent food and rooms. I will likely stay here on my next trip to Vegas because out of the 4 places I've stayed, this is by far my favorite.

Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melissalynn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Beautiful Lobby, very elegant for the money paid. In the old part of Vegas, but just a very elegant hotel to stay at.

Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MaryW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I'm a single traveller between 50 and 65 years of age who booked through Expedia and got a real deal on my flight and hotel from Feb. 17 to 24 at the GN. First time I've been a guest there. At around 9PM there wasn't much of a wait at the front desk and the 3 ladies working it were all very nice, efficient and one in particular very cooperative at accommodting my requests. Those being a high floor with a view of the strip and a king bed. I had to settle for two double beds which turned out to be OK because it was so clean and comfortable that I slept like a baby. The quality, size and cleanliness of the room was very good. The walk from the eleavator was exhausting but I lived through it. I'm talking about the good, old Carson (South) tower. The view of the back of the county jail (OJ stayed there) and the Strip were fun and OH! So Las Vegas. Seeing the tallest mountain of those surrounding the valley covered in snow after a night of rain in town from my 19th floor window was something I'll never forget. Mt. Charelston, I believe. Just beautiful. I only visited the buffet once for breakfast which was a real quality treat. Loved it! I never enclountered a grumpy staff member. Everybody was great to deal with. Think quality when you think Golden Nugget LV. You won't be disappointed unless you are prone to being disappointed. The shared shark tank by the pool should be seen by all visitors in the downtown area. Other worldly. I look forward to going back to the GN soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HNRVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,336 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#100 of 263 in Las Vegas
990 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing