We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dissapointing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #86 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
alberta
1 review
“A little dissapointing!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed at the Nugget for 6 days and found the service adequate, but nothing special. The restaurants were pricey, the rooms nice and clean and cool, the pool overcrowded. You could never get a chair at the pool unless you were there the minute it opened. We booked a Cabana on the 3rd level for the whole day - 10am - 2am., upon arriving at 11:00am and staying about 25 minutes we were informed that the pool was closing for a private function and all the Cabanas were booked so we would have to leave. We immediately canceled our Cabana and requested a full refund. This was very poor repesentation on their part, failing to give any notice. There was also a charge for the internet. You would thnink that a 5 star hotel could provide free internet!! The housekeeping staff were freindly, but the security at the pool left alot to be desired with a grumpy attitude and poor people skills, I would reccommend a different line of work maybe. We will not be staying at the GN again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feranelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,554
    3,841
    1,559
    760
    560
See reviews for
1,806
4,472
512
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
361 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

The new Rush tower rooms are better than most on the strip for only $69 per night. They also have an awesome pool with a waterfall and a waterslide that travels through a shark tank. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We always stay here because It's more like the Vegas we knew and love. I don't like the strip anymore. This hotel is beautiful, clean, & friendly. You can walk from A to B without being worn out. Lots of fun and free entertainment on Fremont Street. The pool is wonderful and the rates are great. I wouldn't want to stay on the strip if the rooms were free, I have been going to Vegas for many many years and sometimes twice a year. I liked the way it used to be and I like to play with tokens. I am from the old school but it used to be a lot more fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoTav21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

I don't expect much from a Las Vegas hotel on Fremont Street, just a clean room and the basics but Golden Nugget was just awful on this last stay. We have stayed there years ago (before the huge remodel) and back then we enjoyed it but this place has forgotten all of the ideals that make people return to Las Vegas. For starters, for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed there, there was no parking available in the ramp for us. I have never in my life heard of a hotel that denied it's guests use of the parking garage! They put us in a remote lot 2 blocks away which was a huge inconvenience. If you going to increase the size of your hotel by adding several hundred rooms here is a tip- Add more parking!!! In addition to that, upon our arrival the registration desk for our tower was closed so we had to drag all of our luggage from the remote parking lot- to the other registration desk which had a wait time of about 30 minutes only to drag it all the way back to the tower we knew we were staying in.
Those were the big inconveniences but we had several more complaints.They wanted $2 per cup for the low-quality coffee self-service in the rooms. How about a decent brand name if you want people to pay for coffee in their rooms? I won't even begin to get into how they apparently offer the same size small uniform to the girls working at the pool regardless of their size- the poor girls- give them a size that fits! The elevators were terribly slow and sounded like they were about to break down at any moment.
Golden Nugget should have kept the tacky old decor since the remodel apparently sucked all of the quality service out of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank butterscotchhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Golden Nugget. We were pleased with the rooms, especially considering that this is an older hotel. You wouldn't know it from the rooms, and we stayed in the older tower (the other one has been relatively newly renovated). The Golden Nugget is not on the strip, but on Fremont Street. It was cool to see the Fremont Street Experience. We just drove to the strip, because you can park for free at most of the casinos/hotels along the strip.

One of the main reasons we stayed here was because of the shark tank in the pool. According to several online sources, it is one of the top 10 hotel pools in the world. We thought the shark tank was pretty awesome. There are several varieties of sharks in the tank, and the waterslide that goes right through the middle of the tank. Would definitely recommend if you have kids or if you just like sea life like us.

We didn't come to gamble, but to see the sights, and we thought this was a good value for the price, a pretty good location in relation to everything (if you have a car), and a neat unique experience at the pool.

One of the negatives was the incredibly long line to check in and check out. It took at least 45 minutes each time. It would have been nice to have free wi-fi too...we went down the street to Krispy Kreme to use their free wi-fi.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoorestTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We received a very generous free upgrade, so I cannot review a 'regular' room. I can report that the staff was uniformly friendly and professional, and that the hotel facilities are well-maintained. Public areas were notably clean.
One-of-a-kind pool is a great attraction.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SC-NY-CT-PA-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 3 night stay (7/4-7/7) at the Golden Nugget in downtown Las Vegas. We've stayed there many times before and would heartily recommend the hotel to our friends and family. Over the years there have been no problems to speak of until now. Their garage parking seemed to create such a problem during our stay that they were directing their guests to a remote overflow outdoor parking lot a block away. We were told the parking problem was due to a busy 4th of July weekend. However, as the days passed the situation didn't seem to improve much. Perhaps the hotel management didn't anticipate the need for additional parking when they built the new Rush Tower so now the garage can't accomodate the increase in hotel attendance. My advice is to reconsider using the remote parking lot (dimmly lit,no attendant) if schlepping all your luggage the extra distance causes a problem and use the valet parking instead. It's free.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arewren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#106 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#105 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#108 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing