We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Las Vegas
Ranked #76 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 12 March 2012

In my effort to find a hotel that is fun, but decent in Vegas I attempted the Hard Rock Hotel. First of all, I reserved a "City View" Suitewith one King Bed which looked great on the website. I checked in and was assigned my room. When I got to my room, first it had two queen beds..not a huge deal. I open up my curtains to look at my "city view" and I discover that I am looking into the parking garage directly and two gentlmen are urinating in front of me. So that was great. I go back to desk and ask if there is a possibility to change rooms and the agent says "what exactly don't you like about your room" I say first it has two queen beds which I can deal with, but I reserved a city room and I look literally into the garage and there are two men there relieving themself outside my window. She tells me ok you are lucky as I park in that garage for work and I usually look into the rooms at naked people. I told her that is fascinating news, but I am not really into it. She then tells me the room is what I paid for as "City View" at the Hard rock means it is not a pool view and you look at the garage in most of the rooms. City like. WOW. So for an upgrade charge of $30 per night she can switch me to the other side of the building which looks at the pool. So now I am up to 180 per night at a hotel that normally charges not more than $100 and I am looking into another building and a pool. The upgraded room was very much like the orignal room, smelled like baby oil which was not ok. The service was not great. Upon checkouot after having just a really horrible few days, the agent asks me "how was your stay?" I reply it was actually really bad, probably one of the worst ever. She then replies "Ok then have a great day" and handed me my receipt. So I am thinking they are pretty much aware the hotel is not a super great place, but is a step above like Motel 6 for example.

Room Tip: Call a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cal_woodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,940 - 5,946 of 8,829 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed in the Casino Towers which are the ones directly in the main building, accessible opposite the main check in.

What to expect:
Rooms - very cool and stylish in a rock and roll way. Zebra like black and white carpet, oversized headboard with black fabric, dark wood and metal. white sheets and comforter--amazingly comfortable bed! Big rooms

The lobby- yeah, its going to get loud and sloppy. If you're young and want to get drunk this is the place.

Come to party at this hotel. And not necessarily if you want to see the strip though because on busy weekends you're looking at lines as long as 40 people to get a taxi.

Room Tip: away from the elevators and "mountain" view if you want to avoid late night drunks and ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retrorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I don't know where to begin. The front desk is incompetent and negligent. We asked for adjoining rooms, were reassured that we had them when we checked in, and discovered that our rooms were about half a mile from each other. When we tried to call the desk to complain, we were put on hold for so long we finally had to call guest services to even talk to anyone. My impulse right then was to try to find another hotel, but we had paid in advance for a "package deal," another mistake. The rude concierge told us that there was no public transportation to the Strip, (the location is very inconvenient), so we shelled out big bucks for cab fare, only to discover on the last day of our stay that there was an hourly shuttle. They never informed us about the resort fee (the pool was closed and the internet costs .25/minute, so I don't know what this fee is for) and tried to tack on charges at every opportunity. I got home yesterday to find three bogus charges on my account and, of course, can't reach anyone to discuss them. I'm cancelling my card (another inconvenience) because I don't trust that they won't put additional charges on my account. This outfit banks on people just accepting extra charges and shoddy treatment. Stay away at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I booked the hotel for my birthday for myself and my family. Do not stay here under any circumstances. From the minute we walked into the hotel we knew this was trouble and if we hadn't paid ahead of time we would have left right away. I have traveled all over the world and have never and I mean never had worse accommodations, even in third world countries. They charged us a resort fee but nothing was available. The pool was closed and under construction. They wanted to charge $1.00 a minute to use the hotel computer. We asked for two rooms together which we were told was booked and found that half my family was on the other end of the floor. The Lucky Restaurant was a total bust. Every morning we ate breakfast the staff was rude and it was like eating at a construction site as they were repairing a part of the casino next to the restaurant. Now we find we have charges on our account that we haven't authorized. Horrible. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Look for a hotel that doesn't have resort fees...they do exist as we found out later. Stay on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bellinghambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were originally staying at The Tropicana on the strip. However after waking up to someone robbing us (while we were in the room at The Tropicana - see my review of that hotel), we changed to The Hard Rock Hotel and Casino (which is about a mile or so off the strip). It was interesting that we ended up there, because we had been debating between those two hotels and chose the one on the strip. I really wish I had picked the Hard Rock from the beginning. The rooms are spacious and the decor is modern. The Casino rivals those on the strip. The club, Vanity is awesome and frequented by some of the rich and famous. The only thing is that we were leaving on a Tuesday and there wasn't much to do at the hotel on Monday night other than gamble (so we had to go hang out on the strip again). Also, even though the hotel is only about a mile away from the strip, I wouldn't walk it. Some of the area in between seemed a bit questionable. All in all, moving my party to The Hard Rock Hotel saved our Vegas trip!!!! Thank you HRH!!!

Room Tip: If you just want to go to the strip and walk around, the least expensive cab would be to Planet Holl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJhagroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel is cool. The sound track, the memorabillia, the room's all very cool. The room was big HRH corner suite. The bed was good. 2 TV's in the room with Hard rock music in the rooms. The Casino is small, and the whole hotel is far from the strip. the Shuttle only runs from 10-5 once a hour and drops you off at some mall on the strip, so you need to pay for taxis to get a round. They should run taxies every 30 minutes untill 1am.

Room Tip: Stay in the HRH tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Had a great time at the Hard Rock. The memorabilia was really cool to look at and added a special something to the hotel. We upgraded our room to one in the HRH tower and it was absolutely gorgeous. Huge room with cool stereo unit built into the wall. Rain shower, bathtub. It was great! I have seen a lot of reviews saying it is a young party crowd, but I didn't really see too much of that. Very cool vibe, loved it! The only downer is that it is a bit far from the strip. It looks close...but it's not. Probably a 30 minute walk to the strip.

Room Tip: Book in the HRH tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,808 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#108 of 264 in Las Vegas
4,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Las Vegas

Address: 4455 Paradise Road, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6574
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#67 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#81 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £57 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Las Vegas 4*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino is Las Vegas’ off-Strip playground, just minutes from McCarran International Airport. Mixing rock ‘n’ roll with class and sophistication, Hard Rock Hotel offers an energetic entertainment and gaming experience. The property is known for its innovative music scene where acts such as The Rolling Stones, Bon Jovi, Paul McCartney, Incubus, Nine Inch Nails and The Killers have all performed. Hard Rock Hotel has 1,500 fully modern, state-of-the-art rooms with all of the services and amenities of larger casino hotels, while still preserving an intimate and exclusive environment with unique advantages such as its world-class pools and comfortable boutique feel. Hard Rock Hotel & Casino is the premier destination entertainment resort, located on 26 acres on Harmon Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Las Vegas
Las Vegas Hard Rock Hotel Casino
Hard Rock Cafe Las Vegas
Hard Rock Hotel Las Vegas
Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing