We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing deal with some old vegas charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Station Hotel & Casino

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Ranked #60 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
carlsbad ca
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“amazing deal with some old vegas charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

just got back from a quick 3 night vegas trip. we rented 2 rooms midweek and paid just under 28 bucks per room per night TOTAL. !! the hotels on the strip all seemed to have a 18 dollar per night resort tax? WTF?

for the price (even for 3 times the price) I really like this quaint small off to the side hotel and casino. parking was free and it was very easy to go from parking to the elevator to the room. (having to walk the whole casino just to get to the elevator is a huge hassle in other casinos)

I found the rooms to be very clean and orderly. Both our rooms faced towards the plaza hotel. 14th floor. I didnt hear any of the freeway or even the train noise others talked about. our rooms were very quiet, day and night.

simple 1 block walk to the action on Fremont Street. there is even a walkway from this hotel to the California hotel (same boyd owner group)

The buffet was DELICIOUS we ate breakfast there each morning. 7 dollars, great deal. Manny ? the omelet chef was fun/funny. The steak and shrimp dinner buffet was terrific too.

I wished I had known about the pool on top of the Cal hotel included with this hotel. i would have loved to check that out and go for a swim.

My only real grip at all with this hotel (all vegas hotels it seems) 10 dollars per device per day for internet connection? TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE in 2013. They should make it FREE starting tomorrow and then advertise that fact like crazy. Im sure others must feel that this is a sad joke in 2013. Mcdonalds gives it away for free. That fact alone should shame the hotels into doing the same.

For all the benefits and the insanely great deal on price. I will still hold this hotel/casino in my mind as a first and favorite place to stay on future visits.

Room Tip: higher up in the tower and facing away from the freeway and towards the plaza. very quiet and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndepndant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    600
    191
    59
    27
See reviews for
245
562
176
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

A real bargan! Clean britght room! Good size flat TV. Very good low price buffet. One block from Freemont St. QUIET! If I ever go back to Vegas (doubtful) this is where I will stay.
They cater to folks from Hawaii. Nice people to be with.
For a good view ask for an odd numbered room on a high floor.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms on a high floor bave the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbadjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dansville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

If your looking for less hustle when in Vegas Fremont Street is the must stay area. Have stay on the strip and this is my second stay downtown ,can get to the strip if you what to if you what the constant people pushing factor. It's costs less food is better ,people friendlier more to do . The strip has changes so much and not for the better its just money signs . Can not even cross the street unless your made to walk on bridge walks that will lead you through other casino's Stay downtown

Room Tip: Loved this hotel, would not stay on the strip ,ever downtown is the best and found Main Street Stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Booked this hotel for one night and very glad we did! The two ladies at the check-in counter were extremely rude and disrespectful. Obviously, they do not like their job and it shows!

Once we were in the room, our view out the window was the casino roof. In the middle of the night, we were woke up to a train passing by (a very loud train). The shower in the bathroom is wheelchair accessible- which is great if you have a wheelchair, but we do not. The problem was when you took a shower the water had nothing to stop it, so it ran out of the shower all over the bathroom floor and became a lake. We tried to mop it up, but only had so many towels. It was a HUGE mess. We were scared to complain to the hotel staff because of how bad we were treated when we checked-in.

Parking is not the greatest. I was a little nervous leaving my car there overnight. People walking around on the streets and sidewalks were a little scary looking. We saw cameras, but wondered if they were real, or just for looks?

Stayed downtown because we wanted to be close to Freemont Street Experience. This hotel is over two blocks away. Doesn't sound far, but at night when the people on the street are not the greatest, the two blocks are far enough. Wished we were closer.

The only good thing about our stay was the buffet for breakfast. The food was good, we had lots of choices, and it was very reasonably priced.

My advice: Go for the buffet, but don't spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Main Street Station Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Main Street Station. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during this stay. Your comments will be addressed with our Front Desk Manager, Housekeeping Manager as well as our General Manager. Thank you for the positive comments concerning the Garden Court buffet. We know you have many choices for places to stay, and we hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at Main Street Station Hotel & Casino a couple of months ago, for a few weeknights. The first room was noisy due to thin walls and loud neighbors, so I requested a room change and got a quiet room. It's an average looking hotel and room for Vegas. The rooms are average size, with small flat screen tv's. The blinds don't quite block out the light, but I was only paying $27 a night. This is one of the few remaining hotel/casinos in Vegas that doesn't charge a resort fee (yet), so that makes it more tolerable. They have a so-so buffet that's pretty cheap, as well as a microbrewery with $1.75 pints, I believe. All in all, this is a pretty dull, mediocre downtown hotel. I don't care for downtown Vegas in general, but for the price Main Street Station is ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Main Street Station Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Main Street Station Casino Brewery Hotel. We sincerely apologize to you for the disappointing experience while staying with us. We appreciate any feedback as always. Your comments have been forwarded to our General Manager for review. Once again we would like to thank you and hope that you give us another try in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I like getting my R&R in Vegas and usually stay at the California or Main Street, adjacent Boyd Gaming properties. Of the two properties, Main Street is a little more upscale with a modern hotel tower, casino decorated with vintage decor and historical artifacts and a great buffet and microbrewery. A piece of the Berlin wall fronts the men's room and stained glass, art and antiques abound. Both the Cal and Main Street are more relaxing and less crowded than Fremont Street or Strip properties.

Main Street is a heavy duty video poker haven and has more machines and serious players than any casino I've visited. Although modest in size, the casino has a good selection of slots and table games. The casino isn't as smoky as the Cal or any of the Fremont Street joints. I suspect the high ceilings and ventilation are helpful in this regard. If you bore of Main Street, the Cal is a 60 second walk through an air conditioned bridge.

The rooms are nice but standard hotel issue: clean, reasonably sized and pleasant modern decor. Something in the bed sheets gives me a rash if I stay more than a night, I suspect an insecticide. For this reason, I usually stay at the Cal as the sheets aren't as itchy.

The Garden Court Buffet is one of my favorite places to eat. Breakfast and lunch are reasonable albeit dinner can be pricy on weekends due to the special seafood or prime rib menus.

The Triple 7 Brewery has the best microbrewery in Vegas and you'll find me inside every day at happy hour enjoying a BlackChip porter or brewmaster special. Of course, the microbrews are free on the casino floor if you're gaming and keep me playing video poker longer than I should...

All in all a great place with nice rooms, friendly service (they remember me each time I visit), wonderful beer, great grinds and relaxed atmosphere. Even if I stay at the Cal or Golden Nugget, I still spend a lot of time at Main Street Station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are tried, of staying on the strip, and fighting, the crowd's, then main street station is your place, being in a old rail road station. It is were you want to be, the room's are great, the view's well they are like the strip, but the crowd's are not here, the buffet are is like the waiting area of a train station, long ago, the ceiling area is all glass, the food is great, and the price can not be beat. Room's are very nice, and the staff is always helpful. Will come again.

Room Tip: You forget about the strip when you stay here, you back in time to las vegas of the 60's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
California Hotel & Casino
California Hotel & Casino
#96 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#102 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#127 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Station Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Station Hotel & Casino

Property: Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 North Main Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#50 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Station Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Las Vegas, Main Street Station Hotel may be the best-kept secret in all of Las Vegas! With charming Victorian-era architecture, dozens of rare antiques and curiosities, award-winning restaurants, a slab of the Berlin Wall, Main Street Station offers a truly unique destination experience. The hotel is conveniently located near world class entertainment facilities, shopping, dining, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Station Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Station Hotel And Casino
Main Street Station Hotel Las Vegas
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing