We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #67 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Waunakee, Wisconsin, Usa
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having only one opportunity for a "First" impression, we feel that your front desk used that chance very well. Not only were my spouse and I treated as genuine guests of the MGM Grand Las Vegas, we were made to feel very at ease and welcome to what could be an extremely intimidating facility simply due to it's gigantic size. From the excellent room service menu and prompt service of quality food, along with presentation of same, to the efficiency & friendliness of the valets, we're genuinely grateful for making our special occasion visit memorable. We'll see you again mainly due to your willingness to help be a part of our enjoyable visit with MGM Grand Las Vegas, rather than just "another ho-hum place where we stayed in Vegas". You truly are a destination to be remembered. Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,649
    5,642
    2,431
    938
    659
See reviews for
3,047
6,700
611
2,142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September and found it to be the least overbearing of a similar rated hotel. Check-in took an age but be warned to have a debit or credit card available as they take a $200/$300 deposit "just in case". If you do not use the bar and do not trash the room you get it back on check-out.
IMPORTANT: RESORT FEE - If you booked through a travel agent this fee is included in your booking. It took a few phone calls and emails to ensure we weren't charged $28 per room per day. Check this out before you travel as they will ask you for it,
The hotel rooms are a really good size and have all that you need. The black out curtains were the best feature. Maid service was daily and unobtrusive. The casino is busy but not so much that you feel claustrophobic. The table prices change through the day and I found that 6am (yes, first day I did get up that early) was at least $10 cheaper than the end of the day. Drinks as free as long as you are playing but need to tip the ladies. This is easier said than done as they do seem to be in short supply.
House-keeping is a bit slow when problems, I was getting married and there was a problem with the water. An hour later and after a long conversation they agreed to open another room for me. All worked out in the end.
Warning. If you are planning to use Wet Republic it is a bit of a con. My son wanted to go and tried to book before arriving in LV. Their site didn't register him or respond to any emails. He arrived the day Tiesto was on. He was told that it would be $100 each. Once in there was no shade, no food just alcohol. The bouncers kept asking people to leave as they were "too drunk" to stay. They sold the drink and didn't mind taking money for the overpriced drinks. Add to this no food and really hot day, you are going to get drunk quicker. It seemed as soon as you were in for a few hours they kicked a few out then took another $100 from unsuspecting youngsters.
Pool area doesn't have enough shade unless you want to pay for a cabana. We did this one day and found for 6 people is was excellent value. Not so much if you are a couple.
Hakkasan - really good restaurant but please put some lighting in so that you can read the menus. Breakfast is really good value at the 24/7 and the hotel buffet. Watch our for the $5 meals which are good value.
I would stay here again but I do feel they cater to the younger market rather than 30 upwards. We did go Labour weekend so not sure if this is how it is at other times. Outlet Mall (South) is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the MGM Grand from 5th-9th October.

On arrival the hotel really is HUGE there was a lot of people in reception and in the check in queue however the queue didn’t last long and before we knew it we were checked in and off to our room.

We had originally booked a petite king room however upon getting to our room it was in one of the towers. Room was beautiful two large double beds, large TV, very clean and spacious. The room had a large window with electric blind which looked out onto the MGM Signature towers and wet republic pool. Bathroom was large, hair dryer in the bathroom came in handy as the travel hair dryer didn’t seem to work properly in the US. The shower wasn’t amazing but it worked and we had no problems with it. Maid service was very good room was always cleaned everyday with fresh towels.

The hotel really is as big as everyone makes out it is. We did have to use the signs around the hotel to find our way around for the first couple of days but you soon get used to it. There is plenty of restaurants bars throughout the hotel we didn’t eat the MGM however they all looked nice.

The MGM is it brilliant location, it isn’t central strip however it is a pleasant walk to and from the centre of the strip. It is also close to the airport which was very convenient after our 11 hour flight from London.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at the MGM and we would definitely recommend the MGM to friends and family and without doubt be returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We got upgraded to a bigger room which was very nice and clean.
Hotel was big and pool was amazing however after walking through other hotels it is one of the smaller ones but still adequate.
Lovely restaurants and check in/out was pretty quick.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Rent a car and use the valet services. Terrific!
The location at the end of the strip make car travel easy in and easy out to any destination. But just because you rented a car, does not mean you cannot walk the strip for a bit.
There is a nice variety of food and entertainment at MGM
We will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, ND
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Throughout the years I have visited Las Vegas several times and have stayed at MGM twice. Here is what I think about this massive property.
It is perhaps the largest property on the strip and this offers pros and cons. The pros are the open lobby area that provides enough room for literally hundreds of people who may be checking into the hotel at one time. It is very glamorous and grand. I have always had prompt service and no delays when checking into the MGM.
The casino areas seem to go on and on for miles and offer gambling guests to find a table or machine of their choice without a problem.
There are small little lounges located throughout the casino for guests to stop, have a cocktail and enjoy a little down time.
The restaurants and shops that are located within the MGM are varied and unique. Big name, celebrity chefs have restaurants that add to the exclusivity of the property.
The rooms seem to be updated and are a nice size. Stylish, comfortable beds and adequate accommodations.

For me the cons to this property are what many would deem a pro: The size. For me this property is just too large. I prefer some place a little bit smaller. But it is a nice place and would make a good choice for anyone wanting to experience all that Vegas has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I went to this hotel because it was part of the package for this amazing Haitian festival for three nights and four days in June. I had maybe walked through the MGM once before but never, played, stayed,ate or went to the pool so it was a first time experience for everything. Rating after 3 nights...awesome! Great pool area, restaurants and I was especially impressed with the room service's customer service skills...exceptional! Will definitely visit this hotel again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank aetienne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,258 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#37 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,103 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#94 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxor Las Vegas
#70 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Property: MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag and Hotels.com so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino
MGM Grand Hotel And Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing