We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan of Vegas, but the hotel was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #77 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to Las Vegas and spent 4 nights at the MGM Grand. I will say up front that I am not a huge fan of Las Vegas (I prefer trips that involve hiking and more family-oriented entertainment). Not judging - just not my cup of tea... That said - I enjoyed our stay at the MGM Grand.

Parking - I did not want to pay for valet parking (which was roughly $20-25 per day - average as it goes), so we did self-parking in the garage. This was easy enough to access and had direct connection to the hotel through an "Underground" that had some fun shops. Quick tip for parking - when you get in the garage, you want to head to the side of the garage the is closest to the hotel. Even if the spot you find is on an upper florr of the garage, the elevator/escalator/stairs are convenient and it is less walking distance to the hotel.

Check-in/Check-out - Multiple staff at the desks, so even though the line was long, it went quickly and we were given our room keys very efficiently.

Casino - won't say much here because I don't gamble. Didn't spend a penny - The basic thing here is that it is a casino and that unlike most other places I have been (outside of casinos), people can smoke wherever they want. Being a non-smoker, it was a little off-putting to need to hold my breath while walking to the food court or the pool, but it's to be expected.

Room quality - We were VERY pleased. It was a very elegant room with a king size bed, desk, and couch. Only 2 cons in this area - 1. There was no in-room fridge and to use the fridge that was in the room (which held the mini bar stuff) would earn you a $50 fee if you got caught... (renting a fridge is $25/day). So - trip to Walmart for a styro cooler and regular trips to the ice machine were needed. 2. The television stopped working on our last day. Again - I realize that this is Vegas and that most people don't go there to watch TV. That said, there was a very convenient panel of inputs where you could plug in your HDMI cable, ipod/pad, etc for bringing your own entertainment.

Food - Food court was good with multiple options. Slightly overpriced as expected. It's comparable to the higher prices for things that you would find in the airport or any other area that you are trapped and they can get away with it.

Pool - Nice lazy river. Again, the cigarette smoke was a little off putting, but it was still very nice.

In summary - while I will not choose to vacation in Vegas again, if I did go back for business, the MGM would be a good choice.

In my opinion, Las Vegas is not the place to take children AT ALL. Between the cigarette smoke, excessive drinking everywhere, and (while walking on the strip) mostly naked women (seriously, just a g-string and nipple pasties) - this is not the place to bring kids unless you have great insurance for the future lung cancer due to second-hand smoke, are prepared to have "the talk" with your kids about human relations (of any sexual preference), and can deal with the fact that your sons will develop their porn addiction beginning there and your daughters will learn that they will get a lot more attention from boys by being mostly naked and drunk... (but again, that's just my opinion). :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,301 - 10,307 of 18,667 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Came with family for my first visit to vegas and had the time of my life! Stayed in the grand queen room everything about it was amazing. Pools are great although the hotel is massive. The best holiday I've ever had and I will be back with friends In September. Love the MGM!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Smell of weed on our floor, beer bottles rolling around in the elevators, snuffed out cigars in the hallways & noisy neighbors, need I say more. If you want to party at a Frat House then this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawaii1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Hawaii1999:

It is truly disheartening to hear your experiences at MGM Grand proved so unsatisfactory. Please know we take the comfort of our guests and the upkeep of our facility, very seriously. We apologize that this was not your impression, and we will work to address these matters moving ahead. We look forward to changing your perceptions of MGM Grand, and better serving your needs in the future.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at the MGM Grand Hotel and Casino from 5/17/14 - 5/21/14, I was in Vegas on business with several of my colleagues for the ICSC Conference. After a difficult flight from the East Coast and checking into the hotel late saturday night, I learned that the hotel suites that were reserved and paid for upfront were not available. We had reserved five (5) Tower Spa Suites for the conference, but due to MGM having the Billboards Awards Show that weekend, they didn't have the Tower Spa Suites available until Monday. I think it is poor business practice to reserve and take upfront payment and then not deliver what has been paid for. If I would of known the suites were not available I would of had the company change reservations to the Wynn Hotel, where several of my colleagues were also staying. We were given a $100 food credit for our inconvenience and stayed at the Executive suites instead.

I did not have any other problems with the hotel but I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: get a room on the higher floors and ask for a view of the Strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear GAntonio:

Please accept our apologies for the room assignment complications you endured while staying with us. We deeply regret any inconvenience these concerns must have caused you. Rest assured these miscues are not representative of how we intend to serve our guests. We hope for the chance to better provide you the resort destination experience you deserve moving forward.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great rooms, clean and very comfortable. Never disappointed in MGM's quality of rooms, casino and gaming.

Staff is friendly, love the variety of restaurant and entertainment choices as well.

Pool is always awesome, too. Thanks for another great stay, MGM.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Corey M:

Whether you come for a quick trip, or an extended stay, at MGM Grand we strive to make your visit memorable. We are so pleased you enjoyed our fabulous casinos, plush accommodations, beautiful amenities, and unbeatable customer service. Your feedback is deeply encouraging, and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel ranks pretty high among the hotels I've stayed at in Las Vegas. The room was very large, I had a king bed regular room. The bed was fantastic. The room darkening shades were great as well, it kept the room really dark in the morning. The bathroom was nice as well, not huge, but a good size.

There were shops at the base of the elevators, which was a nice feature. There were restaurants not too far away in the casino as well.

Room Tip: My view wasn't very good, but I didn't ask for a particular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Lindsey M:

While MGM Grand is an impressive and spacious resort destination, our convenient layout and friendly service make enjoying our facility easy. There are so many exciting things to do, exploring is sure to be fun! We also provide beautiful accommodations so your in-room experience will be relaxing and luxurious. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Everything at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas was wonderful from the food to the staff. I can't say enough about how wonderful my stay at the MGM Grand was. Clean, friendly, professional, caring. There was a little problem with the drain in the bathtub but the hotel was right on it and fixed it right away. Everything was clean and it seemed like the staff couldn't do enough for us to make us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armsteadveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMGuestExperience, Manager at MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing the wonderful experiences you had at MGM Grand. We strive to give our guests the very best in service and amenities, because your complete satisfaction is our objective. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,


The Guest Experience Department
MGM Grand – Las Vegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,773 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#50 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,167 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARIA Resort & Casino
#16 of 263 in Las Vegas
24,365 reviews
Luxor Las Vegas
#81 of 263 in Las Vegas
30,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Hotel and Casino

Address: 3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £78 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MGM Grand Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 5034
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MGM Grand Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Hotel Las Vegas
Mgm Grand Hotel Casino
Mgm Las Vegas Hotel
Mgm Casino
MGM Grand Hotel And Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing