We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities and food, tired rooms and tired staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
Ranked #51 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good facilities and food, tired rooms and tired staff.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here with some friends and stayed for a whole 7 days... Yes that felt like an eternity in Vegas.

The hotel staff seemed to me to be really unhelpful and not very welcoming, maybe they are a little fed up with the amount of people that kick through that hotel every day and week.

Checked into our room, featured in Century tower. First room we had we changed to one with a queen size bed instead of a room with two doubles, didn't go down to well with reception but they managed to relocate us. The room we had was the same in style as the first, the room was tired and dirty. Don't get me wrong it had been cleaned but if you looked behind the curtains or behind the chairs there was a good layer of dust on show.

This hotel has good facilities, a pretty cold pool and a small gym. The food options are amazing, you can get a snack whenever you wish and it's not as exclusive or luxurious as Caesars or the Bellagio.

Then there is the roller coaster, definitely worth a bone shaking ride, they don't mention, or failed to mention, that it's two for one in the morning between a certain time.

There are other rooms to be had, our friends messaged to say they were getting married and celebrating a fortieth birthday and they had a small upgrade to a room that looked a little more new in terms of this hotel.

Hotels location wasn't bad, it's pretty easy to travel around the strip but the New York is near the end of the strip, if you want more luxury move over to one of the aforementioned hotels or maybe take a look at Planet Hollywood. PH - Great location but didn't see a room!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mrshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear mrshelley,

Thank you for allowing us to host your seven day visit in Las Vegas. Although we are excited to know you enjoyed our dining options and facilities, it is upsetting to know you were not impressed with the level of service you were extended, as well as the room quality. We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to improve and work to provide a flawless resort experience for each and every guest. We hope to have the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations during a future visit!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
New York-New York Hotel & Casino
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,701
    6,348
    2,296
    616
    406
See reviews for
3,480
6,825
561
991
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at New York New York for the first time and had a wonderful experience, smooth check in, great room with awesome view of the strip, Great food choices at wonderful prices, very satisfied 10 and 14 year olds. Great having a Starbucks there too. Casino was good but was very smokey but this seems to be everywere in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Amanda K,

It is wonderful to know you had a great first stay with us at New York-New York recently! Between our unparalleled service, mouthwatering dining options, and riveting Casino atmosphere, our resort never disappoints. We are thrilled to hear we may have earned your loyalty by delivering a uniquely enjoyable experience, and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
New York-New York Hotel & Casino
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a blast in this hotel. Room was so clean and quiet. Super fast check in service. We had a view of the strip, and we enjoyed it. The dueling piano bar is worth the price of a table, we were there for a couple of hours. The irish restaurant was fantastic, and I ate a chocolate croissant for breakfast every morning. It was a great hotel. My only suggestion...if you are going to spend a lot of time walking the strip, you may want to choose a hotel that is more central, as this one is on the end.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi_DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Andi_DH,

Thank you for choosing our resort recently. We could not be happier to know you had such an amazing stay! Our staff is constantly recommending our guests go to Bar at Times Square to see the No. 1-rated dueling piano show in Las Vegas, and we are thrilled to see you enjoyed your time spent there. Also, Nine Fine Irishmen is a pub of epic proportions and it is exciting to hear you loved this venue as well. Please, hurry back for another great time!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
New York-New York Hotel & Casino
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel was very well laid out, easy to find exactly what you needed. Different bars and restaurants definitely provided a nice variety. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Rooms were cleaned daily at a reasonable time. Concierge was great. I recommend you hold off on booking certain events till you visit concierge as they were able to find us several discounts on big shows. Maybe call the hotel in advance and speak with their concierge if its an event that may sell out. The only item that was less than perfect were the rooms. A bit dated; however, very clean and suitable. Not like we spent much time in the room anyhow.

And by the way, the roller coaster is not a cheesy novelty. It was one of the best roller coaster rides I've been on at any major amusement park. Again, see the concierge to get discounts on the ride.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room facing North so you can get a good view of the main part of strip.
See more room tips
Green Features: Like most hotels in Vegas, they were very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear merendez,

It is very rewarding to know you felt the star feature of New York-New York was our staff! Our top priority is providing exceptional guest service during any and all interactions, and our team will appreciate your kind recognition. We are excited to hear you were able to ride the Big Apple Coaster during your stay, which is certainly one of our unique resort features. We hope you could see Zumanity while staying with us, and if not, you’ll have to return again soon!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
New York-New York Hotel & Casino
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked a room at NYNY for a business trip and I reserved the Madison Ave room with a Strip View. I specifically requested a king size bed. My view was of the roller coaster and parking garage, while I was given 2 queen beds. When I went to notify the registration of my reservation, the staff stated that's all that's available. What's the point of making reservation and then not being told upfront they can't meet those request or even the reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjfranklin357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at New York - New York Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear marcojpolo,

Thank you for sharing your honest thoughts. It is most unfortunate that we were unable to fulfill your particular accommodation request during your stay. Guest preferences are extremely important to us. However, we are regrettably bound by the limits of our prevailing room inventory. We encourage you to contact us at GuestServices@nynyvegas.com if you’d like to speak about your visit in further detail. We truly hope to have the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations in the future!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
New York-New York Hotel & Casino
GuestServices@nynyvegas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stay at NYNY every year. We just love the atmosphere it's not too big or too small. This year we spilt our trip up to stay here 3 nights and at Monte Carlo three nights. The only reason we did that is so that we could enjoy a better pool. That is the only complaint I have about NYNY is the small pool. Monte Carlo also has a coffee maker and 2 free small bottles of water per day but that does not make up for me ever wanting to stay there again (that's a whole other review). At NYNY the room was very clean, the beds are comfortable as usual. There is a great variety of places to eat and it was neat visiting the new Hershey's store. We visit almost every hotel on the strip and some are better some are worse but this place is the perfect meeting in the middle for us. We want to try another hotel again next year, possibly Aria or Cosmo but we will split our hotel stays again so we can be at NYNY for part of our vacation. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had reservations for the smaller-size room (New York Tower) which was still large by many hotel standards. It was very clean and the air conditioning was perfect. I would like to see a coffee maker in the room, though, for that first cup in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJones1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#49 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,682 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#104 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,235 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Paris Las Vegas
#56 of 262 in Las Vegas
22,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York - New York Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Property: New York - New York Hotel and Casino
Address: 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New York - New York Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2024
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Resorts International, Destinology, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New York - New York Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York - New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York Resort
New York Las Vegas
New York New York Las Vegas
Ny Casino
New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York - New York Hotel And Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing