We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York - New York Hotel and Casino
Ranked #52 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Six of us travelled to Las Vegas for our Wedding Vow Renewal and found New York New York to be a brilliant hotel to stay at. We booked through Travelbag and the daily resort fee was included so there were no hidden extras. The location was superb and we were able to walk easily to all of the other strip hotels. We were on a room only basis but each morning went down to one of the coffee shops and collected coffee and brekkie. We ate in the Italian restaurant which was very good. Te roller coaster ride is a must as is chill ot time by the pool. We will all definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12,541 - 12,547 of 16,763 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

With a 4 star hotel, I expect a certain level of service, amenities, and cleanliness. New York-New York does not measure up to my expectations. When we arrived we were told that the non-smoking room with a king-size bed that we had reserved was not available. We were given the option of a king bed in a smoking room or two queens in a non-smoking room. Being non-smokers we opted for the non-smoking room with two queens.

The room was somewhat tatty and not very clean. The lighting was dim. There were toothpicks left in the bathroom trash can and litter on the floor beneath the luggage rack. Despite the fact it was a non-smoking room, it had the lingering smell of stale smoke. The worst, however, was the absolutely filthy air vent in the bathroom. It had a huge layer of dust and grime on it. On the bright side, the room was fairly large with comfy beds and a couple of nice, comfortable chairs.

The casino itself appears to cater to a younger crowd. It is loud and smoky, with dancing girls and plenty of bars offering expensive drinks. There are lots of options for eating and shopping. Unfortunately several of the escalators were not operating, making for a long trek up the stairs or a search for the appropriate elevator to get to another level.

We did not particularly enjoy our stay at New York - New York, and will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NevermindCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Very poor room service, rubbish every where in the hotel waiting to be pick up days. Resort fee, 12.95 + tax. PER DAY, which nobody told us. They charge you $200 on your credit card when you check in ( which they dont tell you, and you dont know what they charge till you come back home) then they say they put that money back within 5-7 working days in the account, which I did not received it yet. Food expensive at the hotel restaurants. We stayed in room 901 ( new yorker tower ) when you come off from the lift you have to walk about 5 minutes to get in to your room!!! Unhelpfull staff, no smile, they just don't want to be there. Stayed a few different hotels in vegas in the past, but NY NY is the worst one. If its your first time in vegas you might not see the difference. I can go on and on and on but i dont want to waste may time for this resort. Friendly advice, for the same price, go and stay else where, because Vegas hotel prices not much different then each other.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whirlikidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This is a lively Hotel in the City that never sleeps, even when busy over the Haloween Weekend it was never over crowded at the bars and resturants as it so big inside. Much better than the Monte Carlo where I stayed last time I visited Vegas.

Clean and tidy rooms, with seperate lifts to each tower no long waits to get to your room.
The only negative is that the walls between the rooms are a bit thin and its noisy if the guests next door are having a loud chat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The hotel was nice as far as rooms go. About the same you would expect in say a Hilton or Cambria. Biggest complaint was the resort fee, which is 12.95 + tax. PER DAY. That part I was not aware of until I got home and was sent a bill, I thought it was per stay. Yes, they told us up front but I missed the part about per day. I went back and looked on the sight I used and noticed in very fine print the resort fee per day. There are other hotel/casino's that do not charge this. The resort fee was supposedly for internet service and the pool. Well, the pool was in need of an upgrade and most hotels have free wi-fi.
The other downside was there were escalators out of use for repair.
Be prepared to do alot of walking. Even if you drive to another casino, it can be a long way from the garage(which are all free) to the casino.
While at the NYNY casino (played slots) my group never heard bells go off indicating someone won a large amount.
Be sure to go downtown where the older casino's are. We will probably stay there next time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelbygirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

having stayed at NY NY some years ago I stayed there again recently. Pleased to say it hasn't changed. Service in Restaurants and bars was excellent, rooms comfortable and clean and entertainment fab! It is at one end of the strip but near to the monorail (At MGM grand) and within easy walking distance of all majpr attractions. Would definitely recommend it.
Rooms are could do with a bit of updating but given the current concerns about bed bugs in the USA it was spotlessly clean with fresh towels and linens daily.
whether you stay here or anywhere else in Vegas you must visit the Bar in Times Square in NY NY. Yes It's loud but it is by far the best atmosphere of any of the piano bars and we should know - we tried them all!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecatsmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We did our first trip to Vegas.Booked a flight with 3 nights at New York/New York plus their Zumanity show($1200)and yes they charge over $40 with tax for wi/fi.
The room was nice and roomy,but our view was a roof top cubby hole,all you could see was blue sky when you looked up.
The Zumanity show was awfull(should have asked for my $272 back!),they really need to get another show worth seeing.
Everything on the strip is pricy!$3.88 for a small bottle of water at MGM(and don't waste your time and money on their CSI display)
And while waiting for the Cher show,3 drinks each,$75!
The only highlights of the trip was "Cher" and "Fremont St.", Las Vegas is there to suck every dollar they can out of you for what? Fancy building with lots of lights?
With a total cost of $2300 for 3 nights,we could have gone to a tropical 5-star hotel for a week!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank releasetheh0unds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,803 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,771 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#50 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
#77 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York - New York Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York - New York Hotel and Casino

Address: 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £75 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York - New York Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2024
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MGM Resorts International, Southall Travel, Prestigia, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New York - New York Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York - New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York Resort
New York Las Vegas
New York New York Las Vegas
Ny Casino
New York Hotel Las Vegas
New York - New York Hotel And Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing