We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Inexpensive Off The Strip Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
Ranked #54 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
TailgateJeff
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice, Inexpensive Off The Strip Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had some worries about staying off the strip at a hotel/casino that was charging less than $40 a night for the room. I had even more worries when I called to make confirm the reservation and somehow, the reservation that I had made directly with the hotel was cancelled. I had a confirmation number, so I was able to keep my room.

I was pretty shocked that because of the confusion about the rooms mix up, the hotel upgraded me to a suite at no extra charge. A very nice gesture.

I was staying there for work-related training, so I didn't take full advantage of all the complex has to offer like the 70 lane bowling alley and pool. The hotel appeared to be well maintained and there was ongoing work to upgrade some of the older rooms.

The casino is just like many of the others in Las Vegas. There are a number of bars and restaurants here. The Prime Rib Loft is very good and a great value.

If you are traveling to Vegas on a budget, this would be a great place to stay. You need a cab or bus to get to the Strip, but I'm guessing that it's a $10-$12 cab ride each way. It's also close and easy to get to from the airport.

If you are traveling with a large vehicle, say a semi, RV, travel trailer or boat, this would be a great place to stay as they have a large surface parking lot next to the hotel. Don't know if they charge you for the parking, but I did see a number of larger vehicles in the lot during my stay.

A couple of negatives. You are off the strip and going anyplace else I going to involve taking your car, a cab or a bus. There isn't anything else around the hotel/casino.

During my stay, the hotel was a mix of older retired age people and families with children. Not a problem unless you are looking to hang out with hot babes by the pool and party until dawn. This isn't the place for that.

It's pretty quiet during the day and it does pick up a little bit at night.

Overall, if you are looking for a inexpensive place to stay in Las Vegas, this is your Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TailgateJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,602
    2,074
    671
    224
    118
See reviews for
1,197
1,821
482
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel with reasonable rates. It also has a bowling alley and a movie theater, a arcade for the kids and a area to leave the children for babysitting for a fee. There is a spa and a very nice swimming pool plus lots of machine, tables, sportsbook and restaurants. the french market buffet id reasonable and one of the best I've seen

Room Tip: get one of the new rooms and make sure to get a pool view or strip view. plenty of parking in the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okla
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at The Orleans many times. This time we were comped a Premium Room. These rooms are pretty nice. As we walked to our room though I was commenting to my husband that the hallway carpeting on our floor was still old. I was worried we didn't get a premium room. We get to the room and find a note they are replacing the hall carpet this month. Nice!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovevegasbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We always stay at the Orleans when in Vegas. Off the strip, less crowded decent restaurants. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. And they have bowling! They try to make you happy. The folks at check in are great! Always do their best to accomadate your needs. Security is great.
We have experienced issues here but they have alwys been resolved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
439 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for one night on a player deal and can't really fault it, nice room, everywhere spotlessly clean and a nice pool, I think I had become obsessed with staying on the strip only and this place showed it's not always necessary, you do need a car though, if I came solo and wasn't driving I would still prefer the strip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

1 st time I stayed here
was a hidden charges they charge money for the wifi per room per day even if you don't have a wifi device
swimming pool closes early at 9 pm and if you ever stayed in vegas by the time you get back to the hotel from the strip it 7 or8 pm and once you get the kids showered to get in pool you only get a few minutes to play (unless you cut site seeing short)
water pressure was bad and varied

Room Tip: room faced east we had great sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Whilst I enjoyed aspects of my stay at The Orleans, I do have to say that I was totally appalled by the excessive packaging of items in the room. Polystyrene coffee cups, each individually wrapped in plastic; single coffee bags, each in a separate bag; individual creamer, plastic stirrer and sugar, all wrapped in plastic; plastic cups in the bathroom, each individually wrapped in plastic. Completely unnecessary and almost criminally irresponsible. There was a little note to guests about not washing sheets and towels every day in order to protect the environment - which I found deeply ironic. It's time The Orleans took some responsibility themselves for the environment.
A kettle would be much better than a coffee machine; some people do not drink coffee and would prefer tea or hot chocolate. Also, a small fridge would have been very helpful (and is standard in any hotel I have ever stayed in).
I also found the incessant piped pop music by the pool area intensely annoying; there was nowhere in this hotel other than the guest rooms to relax and unwind. Not everybody who comes to Las Vegas is there for the noise, lights and partying (some, like myself, are there for conferences) and the swimming pool should be - at least for part of the day - somewhere to unwind.
Largely because of these things, it is highly unlikely I will be staying again or recommending the place.

Room Tip: Take earplugs and a reusable cup for the in-room coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#78 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,678 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,539 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#56 of 263 in Las Vegas
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Palms Casino Resort
#64 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,269 reviews
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orleans Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Property: The Orleans Hotel & Casino
Address: 4500 W Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89103-5450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orleans Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1885
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Orleans Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
The Orleans Hotel And Casino
Orleans Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Orleans Hotel Casino
New Orleans Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Orleans Hotel
The Orleans Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing