We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Welcoming”
Review of The Carriage House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carriage House
Ranked #17 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Not the smartest hotel I've ever stayed in but more than made up for by the friendliness & helpfulness of the staff. We arrived in the hope of spending 4 nights before joining a tour of the Canyonland National Parks. Unfortunately due to the shutdown of US Parks & other government facilities we arrived to a message saying our tour was cancelled. The Carriage House staff helped us contact all the relevant people to re arrange our tour & also the airline to re book our flights. They helped us make the most of our few days in Vegas & find a day trip which meant we did see a part of the Grand Canyon. All the staff were helpful including the maintenance man who sorted our phone so we could phone out from the room. We will stay again when we return to visit the National Parks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Yet again here i am reviewing this hotel, i really cant compliment it enough , if you visit Vegas , STAY here , just off the strip , no casino , noise , smoke , but superb rooms and brilliant staff , i really cannot say good this place is , and NO i am not on commission, rooms superb , clean well equipped and comfy .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BazT831530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The good, the bad, and the ugly. You can find them all at this property.

The good:

- Location. Just a 5 minute walk from the Strip, with easy covered access via the Miracle Mile Shops (Planet Hollywood).

-This is a relatively small property so no long lines, no casino to walk through, and it's easy to get someone on the phone when you need something.

- Rooms. For the most part (see below for the not-so-good), they are comfortable and well-appointed. The smallest rooms are not suites but do have kitchenettes that have microwaves, a small fridge, sink and electric cookers. TV has about 30 channels, including one premium channel (HBO).

- Housekeeping. Unlike other timeshare properties, they do come in daily for a few minutes to make the bed and switch out the towels. Oddly, the do not wash dishes.

The bad:

- While in-room internet is free, the connection is slow and, worse, any non G-rated sites are blocked. I have not encountered this anywhere before other than China and some Middle Eastern countries.

- The shower head was placed at about 5' high. As someone who is 5'10", it was not fun having to crouch down each time I took a shower.

- The so-called fitness center consists of exactly 3 cardio machines (and nothing else) in a tiny space just off the lobby. There is a tennis court and a decent size swimming pool but you will have to time your visit carefully if you want sun due to the high-rise building being constructed next door.


The ugly:

- Speaking of that high-rise, the noise coming from the construction work starts very early (sometimes before sunrise) and goes on all day. Bring very good earplugs if you wish to sleep in.

- The "other" side of the rooms: On more than half a dozen occasions, cigarette smoke (and lots of it) came through our air-con ducts. This was incredibly annoying, especially as our room (and, presumably, our floor) were designated as non-smoking.

When the people staying in the room next to us flushed or used their shower, it was so loud one would have thought it was coming from within our own room. Fine during the day but not at 4 in the morning.

All in all, The Carriage House was a disappointment given the mostly good reviews it gets here on Trip Advisor. We should have better managed our expectations.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
10  Thank Travel Richly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We booked our stay through RCI several months ago. The staff was considerate before we even arrived, sending us an email that the hotel across the street would be renovating and there might be noise. When we arrived, that noise was not noticeable for the everyday sounds of Vegas!

The resort hotel was probably a showplace during its heyday. We had a two-bedroom suite, six rooms in all, on the ninth (top) floor. Full kitchen, two baths, one with walk-in shower, and a spacious sitting room. At one time, there was a restaurant and lounge on our floor; I don't know if they were permanently closed, or just seasonal, but both were locked during our stay. As with all older units, there were a few items in need of repair. When I brought these to the attention of the management, they were addressed within the day. None of them were distractions or safety issues, just the sort of things you'd find on any homeowner's to-do list.

Your room key is necessary to operate the elevator, and since the keycard-readers are showing their age, it was sometimes necessary to reinsert the key. Same thing with our entry door - we once had to reinsert the key 21 times. But this is Vegas, after all, so we began betting on how many times it would take each time we returned to the suite.

We had optional daily maid service. They replaced the towels and emptied the trash, unless we specifically told them to skip us. The concierge had a breakfast meeting on our first Sunday, and her information and assistance helped to make our stay there a truly wonderful experience.

As other reviewers have stated, the location is wonderful! It is a short walk to the Strip, and Planet Hollywood's Miracle Mile casino/shops/restaurants is just across the street. I don't know if we will ever visit Las Vegas again, but if we do, I want to stay in the Carriage House.

Room Tip: A nine-story hotel in Vegas is now dwarfed by others around it, but our suite felt like a penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentuckyHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've stayed here the last 7 trips to Vegas and will stay again. It's an easy, safe walk to the strip, 5 mins from City Center. The rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes, which is perfect for getting a few groceries for breakfast or lunch. But there are tons of places to eat, with fairly good prices, just across the street at the Miracle Mile Shops. The newly renovated rooms are really well done and the ones that haven't been done over yet are a bit dated but CLEAN and the cleaning staff are great and very friendly. It is only rated 3 stars but I've been in 5 star hotels that aren't as clean and the beds not as comfortable. The pool is open for longer hours than most of the casino resorts which makes for great evening swims and and relaxing in the hot tub. A key is required to get in to the lobby after 10pm and always to use the elevators so it seems safer. Also there aren't any hidden resort fees. Parking is included for cars.

Room Tip: try not to get a room at the back close to Harmon Ave as you can hear the traffic quite a bit. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House for two nights after a trip to southern Utah. The location was perfect - just a block from the center part of the Strip, but far enough away from the noise and crowds. We booked a standard room, but were given a large room with a full kitchen, large living space and a table seating four. Parking is free and right outside the front door. There is no resort fee, but they do have a pool and tennis court. The hotel was quiet and clean and the price was very reasonable. If you want to be near the excitement of the Strip, but not right in the middle of it, this is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lndlauria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just got back from spending a fabulous week in Vegas. This was a girlfriend getaway and the three of us thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Carriage House. As others have stated the location is superb, the accomodation great and the concierge always available and extremely helpful...thanks! We were able to get great deals on shows through the concierge and other helpful recommendations. I have recommended this hotel to others and wouldn't think of staying elsewhere if I were to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cordebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,844 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,433 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#47 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
Polo Towers Suites
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,536 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
16,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House

Address: 105 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £57 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House is located just a block away from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip. Enjoy the comfortable accommodations, fully equipped kitchenettes or kitchens, business center and fitness room. Guest services and concierges are always available to provide information about show tickets, tour information and dinner reservations. Our non-gaming Las Vegas hotel is ideal for leisure and business travel, family travel and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Hotel Las Vegas
Carriage Hotel Las Vegas
The Carriage Hotel
Carriage House Las Vegas
The Carriage House Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing