We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for above average room.”
Review of The Carriage House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Carriage House
Ranked #18 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2007

I stayed there May 12-16. Like so many people I did not want to pay $200+ per night for a room in the new mega -deluxe "resorts." Going midweek is usually much cheaper, but they only charged an additional $27 for the Saturday night. I stayed at this hotel about 7 years ago and was happy to see that it has been kept up very well. With all the construction going on around it, the pool is closer to the hotel and the parking lot is smaller. But that is all for the better. This is a great location. Only 1 block to the New Planet Hollywood shops, 2 blocks to the strip. Rooms were very clean and staff was great. They took time to answer any question in detail.

I like having the kitchentte in the room. I'm not a big breakfast person so the first day I stock up on some food. It is great to have a relaxing morning instead of having to get dressed just to go get something to eat when you get up.

I had read some reviews about construction noise so I took ear plugs with me. Maybe it was just my room location, but construction noise was not a problem. I thought the noise would be bad while trying to relax by the pool, but that didn't bother me either. The air conditioner would be my only minor complaint...that was annoying. So I was glad I had the ear plugs.

This is an excellent value for the size of room and location. It is by no means elegant or luxurious. It is a very good hotel. I hope it doesn't get squeezed out by everything going up around it. That seems to be the way of things in Vegas now...out with the old, in with the new. Let's hope they keep a few of the traditional hotels for us "regular" people.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank onedohfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2007

We stayed at The Carriage House in Las Vegas for the last four days of our 11-day trip. This is a small hotel, nine floors, about one (long) block from the strip. Access to the Miracle Mile Shops is only one block away and a great place to cut through to avoid the heat of the day.

Very conveniently located near the strip, it has free and ample parking. There is no casino in this hotel, so access to your room is quick and easy. All access into the hotel is monitored and the keycard must be used to enter the building after 10:00 p.m. and at all times to access the elevators. Great security!

We had a king room with small kitchenette. Perfect for our needs! Came with everything we needed to cook simple meals which was a nice break after eating out for seven days in row. The hotel supplied everything needed in the kitchen, including coffee pot, micro, stove stop, fridge, towels, dish soap, etc.

We received a room on the third floor away from the construction which is taking place around this hotel at an amazing pace. We were only disturbed once by the construction noise. Otherwise, it was a small buzz in the background, but nothing to disturb us.

The room was immaculate. The beds were comfortable and had a cotton waffle-weave blanket instead of the velour blanket all hotels seem to use. The front desk employees were always so helpful. The pool was open until 10:00 p.m. and we enjoyed that several evenings after a long day on the strip and before we went back out for evening touring. They have a snack vending area which supplied us with ice cream treats at a very reasonable price (75 cents to $1.25). After paying $3 for bottled water on the strip one day, I could really appreciate the value of a ice cream treat for 75 cents!!)

I would recommend this hotel whoeheartedly to anyone. At $70 a night, it's a value that can't be beaten by any "off-strip" property.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kcsdtypist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2007

This was our second stay at the Carriage House. Last year, we really wanted a suite hotel and saw some good reviews on this one on tripadvisor. This year we didn't really need a suite but decided to stay there anyway. It's right off the strip so you can walk to the Dessert Passages Mall (now turning into the Miracle Mile Mall) and the Planet Hollywood Casino (formerly Aladdin). We even did that last July and lived to tell about it. This is a great place to stay if you will want a break from all the crowds and dodging slot machines--it has no casino. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the drain in the tub and it was fixed right away. I would definitely stay there again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Lost_Detroiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We stayed three nights in a one bedroom suite in mid April.

Following instructions we found the hotel easily enough and could park close to the entrance.
Very small by comparison with Las Vegas hotels, but this made it all very smooth. Coffee available in the morning. Swimming pool, smallish but handy. Basketball court (which my kids loved), which overlapped with tennis court.
Our suite wasn't huge, but it all worked fine. Slightly odd smell in the room, but you could open the windows slightly which we did. Good sized kitchen area. There was a lot of construction work around, as in many parts of Vegas. This could be noisy through the night, on only one night did this approach a problem. You might want to check when this would be through if this could be a problem for you (Although this would appear to be a common problem in Vegas).
Easy walk to the Desert Passage and onto the Strip.
We only paid between $95-129 a night which seemed a real bargain.
Certainly we'd stay there again for the peaceful off strip non-casino ambience, location and value.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bettyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

Spent only two nights at the Carriage House in a one bedroom suite. Not much room in the dining/family room area with the sofa bed pulled out. No complaints about comfort on the sofa bed, but the pillows are foamy & stiff. Bedroom was quite large with a large vanity/sink area. Normal size bathroom with one sink & a bathtub/shower with very good water pressure. Every kitchen should be supplied with more than one frying pan. When cooking for four, this would be very helpful!
Spent a couple of hours out by the pool. It was not crowded and was very nice and the water was warm but refreshing! The front desk was very helpful with requesting taxi service to the airport. Not fancy, but perfect for families and those wanting a little quiet time. Many of the best hotels and free attractions are within walking distance. Go on the Eiffel Tower at night to see all the lights!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank woodsy528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Three of us stayed in a nonsmoking one-bedroom unit (524) April 2-5 and were quite comfortable. This southeast corner unit is very large, especially compared to a one-bedroom unit (stayed in by other family members) located on an upper floor in the middle of the west side. The room was clean and the pool was fine. The front desk staff were helpful. By unlucky coincidence, the road behind the hotel was repaved starting the night we arrived, so in addition to jack-hammering and asphalt truck back-up beeping, we had the inconvenience of difficult entry into the parking lot. The paving was complete by the time we left, but there are still huge construction projects next door and across the street. We enjoyed being near the Strip and almost across the street from the nonsmoking Desert Passage (Aladdin/Planet Hollywood) shopping area, which also gave us an alternative walking route to the Strip, connecting us right to the crosswalk to the Bellagio. One evening we walked from the Carriage House to the Monte Carlo, and down to Treasure Island. This is all within about 1 mile of the hotel. For our family, being able to park right outside, not having to walk through a casino, and having a kitchen are all strong recommendations for staying at a small non-gambling place. Construction is so widespread that next time I will be calling hotels directly and getting specifics about nearby projects before booking anything near the Strip.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2007

Booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit through RCI on an exchange. We were very pleasantly surprised with the overall size of the unit and the decor. Although we did not use it due to the time of year, the hotel had a very nice pool and hot tub. Daily maid service was a plus, something we are not used to in a timeshare. Hotel was just 2 short blocks from the strip and across the street from the Alladdin. Very secure environment, snack machines just off the lobby, 24 hour manned front desk, security guard on duty, high speed internet access in each room, computer in the lobby. We had a very enjoyable time, would definitely recommend the hotel. Also, don't miss Fremont Street (downtown). We waited till our last day to go there and wished we had gone there first - affordable Black Jack and Roulette.

Stayed: January 2007
10  Thank S1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,398 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,771 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
16,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#43 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,745 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House

Address: 105 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £65 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House is located just a block away from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip. Enjoy the comfortable accommodations, fully equipped kitchenettes or kitchens, business center and fitness room. Guest services and concierges are always available to provide information about show tickets, tour information and dinner reservations. Our non-gaming Las Vegas hotel is ideal for leisure and business travel, family travel and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Hotel Las Vegas
Carriage Hotel Las Vegas
The Carriage Hotel
Carriage House Las Vegas
The Carriage House Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing