We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best $1.25 Hot Dog ever!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mermaid's Casino

Mermaid's Casino
Ranked #121 of 447 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best $1.25 Hot Dog ever!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We always stop in Mermaids for their $1.25 Nathan's Hot Dog. Now I am not a hot dog fan but this has become one of our Vegas traditions! They also have deep fried twinkies, oreos and many more deep fried items. Yum!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TinaTomHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks! We are honored to be one of your Vegas traditions! See you next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    113
    35
    20
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will always go to Mermaids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My review for Mermaids last year was not that good because of our waitress denying us drinks because we were on penny machines, which I later found out was not their policy. But we said we would give it another try and we were so glad we did! The waitresses were great and beautful (I am a straight female btw, but such an improvement from who we had last year!) The machines were playing great and we just love the overall atmosphere at this place, it is a good break from the strip! We come to Vegas every year and we will be back to Mermaids next year! Thanks again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SVT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are happy to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife an I have been going to Vegas since 1978, this is our first time staying downtown, found the Lil Mermaid by accident, we gambled 4 night straight there an had a great time every night, Connie was our waitress an she took very good care of us every night, she funny worked hard an always had a fresh drink for us all the time, we won alittle each night on the slots an video poker, the place is a lot bigger inside than it looks, pays out in real coins just like old Vegas, we had more fun in this place than all the casinos we have ever played in, give it a try an you wont be sorry, Thank You again Connie for making my wife an I fell at home. All the people that worked there are friendly. Bill & Ellen Woods

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BillEllenWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
With so many places to choose from in Las Vegas, we are honored that you decided to spend so much time with us! Thank you for the review and I will be sure to pass it along to Connie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dirty, filthy, and disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I don't care if you can get fried Oreos and Twinkies here, they use old coin operated slot machines here, and you have to use a pressure washer and a gallon of sanitizer to remove the nasty gunk and grime off your fingers after playing. This is the NASTIEST place downtown, and I certainly wouldn't go back in to play!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Leigh,
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We strive for a clean and friendly environment. We do appreciate your candidness. It helps us to improve.
Best,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Loved that friend Twinky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We discovered this gem walking Fremont street. From the huge 1/2 pound hot dogs to the fried twinky its a steal of a deal. We especially liked the frozen chocolate coverd bananas. Most things on the menu are 99 cents!! It is a stand and dine place so dont get scared.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dougrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid's Casino, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed our treats! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mermaid's Casino also viewed

 

Been to Mermaid's Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing