We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just average for a 4 star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #116 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This was our first trip to Las Vegas - a stop over on a cross country trip. We did not get the handicap accessible room we were promised at the time of our reservations. The front desk clerk did not seem to understand the word wheelchair or that a king bed would not accommodate 4 people. After much fuss and getting the manager invovled we finally got a suitable room that was clean and quiet. The customer service was awful. Every time we called housekeeping for towels or the front desk we were put on hold for 10-15 minutes. We had a horrible time getting the internet to work - it turned out the modem in our room needed replaced. The pool was quite crowded and very noisy and seemed to cater to the heavy drinking young crowd. Not at all relaxing! The casino was fine - not as smokey as most. I just got the feeling this resort was so big they really didn't strive to please the customers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deecan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,935 - 11,941 of 16,223 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

-We stayed at the Monte Carlo June 19-23, 2011...and we LOVED it! Two married couples, (ages 28-33) two rooms, two reservations on a very limited budget. Our plane arrived at 11am so we were well before check in time of 3pm. However we thought we'd give it a shot and get in line once we arrived to the hotel. There was no real designated check in/check out lines but we didn't mind as the lines moved quick! The gal that checked us in was super friendly and told us she was sorry but being that we were early our rooms weren't ready yet (2 king non-smoking rooms) we could come back later or she could get us into 2 double non-smoking rooms. We asked if they were adjoining (we didn't request this, but thought we'd give it a go and ask!), they were not, but she did have two rooms on the 12th floor that were side by side. We said that sounded great and took them! We didn't plan on being in our room much anyways. We also asked if they were running any promotions that we could get in on and we got BOGO buffets, BOGO tube rentals, BOGO roller coaster passes at the NYNY, and some more. We didn't need or use all of them, but hey, anything extra at no additional cost is wonderful!
-Resort fee. Lets get it out of the way. Yes its silly and annoying. Why they just don't add it into the room total from the getgo is beyond me...but we knew about it in advance so we just factored it in and didn't allow it to ruin our experience. Our room with the resort fee was still cheaper than any downtown hotel in Chicago.
-Our rooms faced the mountains/pool area and yes its true... Thursday thru Sunday they have a DJ at the pool and you can hear it in your room. But who cares! We weren't going to hang out in our room during the day anyways. Monday-Wednesday you don't hear the regular non-dj music from the pool in your room. I don’t know why all the complaints about the towels/showers/etc. in the room. We had absolutely no qualms. They have a sign that they are trying to go green and a towel left on the floor will be replaced and a towel on the rack will be left to be reused. I think that’s a great idea! Our shower worked fine and it felt great after a long day out and away from the room.
-The pools themselves were great, and that lazy river was more fun without the tube than with it! Oh and it’s true. If you carry a bag in they will inspect it to make sure you aren’t carrying in any food/drinks. We just chugged some beer in our room then headed down to the pool. The only thing we found a bit silly was all the VIP chairs and cabanas that were never used. Yes I'm sure they wanted them available for those willing to pay for them, but they sort of look stupid just wasting space when people aren't paying for them. It’s kind of like saying “Hey! We’re overpriced and no one ever uses us!” A touch wasteful in my humble opinion.
-The casino was not what I expected. The reviews I read said the casino at the Monte Carlo was a dead zone and the machines/tables didn’t pay out well at all. I beg to differ. My husband and I played Game King machines for hours on end. He came out ahead on his money and I lost ten dollars total in 5 days. Not to shabby for non-gamblers. The waitresses came around very often and we tipped $1 a drink and it was well worth it. Those gals work fast and were very very kind. If you aren’t a member, go to the M Life desk and sign up for their card. You earn points and those points help you get free/comped things. We used our card at the Monte, MGM, NYNY, Bellagio, and Excalibur.
-There is a free tram thru the shopping area that will get you all the way down the strip to the Bellagio. We used this when our feet were tired, which was quite often. You can also walk to the Excalibur and take a similar free tram all the way down to the Mandalay Bay which was equally nice and so convenient!
-The hotel is in such a great location. Walk next door to the NYNY and take the bridge over to the MGM or Excalibur and from either of those places you can get to the Tropicana. There is a CVS in front of the hotel and an ABC store directly across the street. Both stores have most anything you need that you might have left at home. Los Salsa Cantina also across the street had a $3.95 morning breakfast with $.99 bloody mary drinks. It was a great inexpensive meal and we went there 3 of our 5 mornings. We had Catalina as a server...fabulous lady! Way better than hitting fast food for breakfast. But if you want fast food there is a Del Taco, Sbarro, DQ, Panda Express up an escalator right near Los Salsa Cantina. Also across the street near the M&M’s world is a store called the Grand Canyon Experience (G.C.E.); this place rocks! They had 2/$2 16oz cold beers. A little hint if you’re a drinker, buy their $4.95 cold bag and they’ll fill it with ice for free and then you can take those beers back to your room and reuse the bag with the ice vending machine on your floor. Also at the G.C.E. with every purchase if you mention their sign that says a free 16.9oz water you’ll get it for that…free! Yes the store is mostly touristy for sale items, but we didn’t mind. We were just on the lookout for deals! It was so nice to have those kinds of prices in such close walking proximity when on a strict budget.
-Check out was really painless. The offered us to do express checkout, but I wanted a copy of our room bill (which by the way you can verify on your tv in your room to keep an eye on things). Once again there was no direction for check in/check out, but the line moved quickly once again and we were settled up and headed over to the concierge to leave our bags. The gentleman that checked us out was as equally polite as the gal that checked us in. Way to go Monte Carlo on getting such wonderful staff! Our flight wasn’t to leave until later that night so we needed to check our bags for awhile. We tipped the bell man $1/bag (we had 12 altogether) and by george they were super fast to get our bags back out to us when the shuttle arrived! These are some of the most polite workers in a hotel we’ve ever experienced and we’ve travelled quite a bit domestically and internationally (and all on a budget I might add!).
-With all this said, YES! Absolutely! We will stay at the Monte Carlo Again…. The sooner we get back to Las Vegas and the Monte Carlo the better. I guess our Midwestern manners go a long way... We were laid back and polite and we got back the same if not better from the Monte Carlo staff. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: Real politeness not fake goes a long way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank InAnotherLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Quick and easy check in/out. Rooms bigger than expected and cleaned everyday. Staff very friendly. Lovely pool and jacuzzi, and music to keep you entertained. Good choice of food within the hotel. Fabulous location, central on the strip. Good variety of shops, restaurants and entertainment within walking distance of the hotel. Free tram available to take you to the other end of the strip. Went with a large group of friends who stayed at various other hotels, several wished they had stayed at the Monte Carlo. It was our first time in Vegas, but would definitely stay at the Monte Carlo again.....Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gem94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Hotel was a stop for one night on a bus trip. We got there around 1:30 and of course our rooms were not ready. We were told to come back at 3:00, which we did, but the rooms were still not ready. I was expecting a lot more since I had stayed at the hotel about 20 years ago. This time the hotel seemed very worn. There was absolutely nothing in the room: no coffee maker, no refrigerator, no microwave, no paper; we had to go out for any thing we wanted. Our bus left at 6:30 in the a.m. and the only breakfast option was the Mc Donalds since the Starbucks wasn't even open. Room itself was adequate, just not what I expected for Las Vegas. Fitness center closed at 7:00! (isn't LV a 24 hour-type place?)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennis4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed 4 nights at a good rate we found on-line. The rooms are nice. We checked in early and settled on 2 queens instead of a king. It was fine. I liked the food court which had good breakfast options. We enjoyed the casino, The Pub - happy hour specials, and Karaoke bar. The pool area was nice and during June the sun was out by 10:30 am.
The down sides were the thin walls were we could hear the drunks next door. Though we bought things at the resort (water bottles) we were not allowed to carry in ANY food or drinks. They did not sell water bottles at the pool. Inner tubes for lazy river could be rented for a fee. The mandatory resort fee is unnecessary. We got the paper, internet (only WIRED, which we could not use), and gym (not my cup of tea), that was it for $15 plus tax a day. Really they could just raise the cost of a room and do away with fee. Maybe get wireless internet, give out inner tubes as part of fee? We had a wonderful time and feel this resort is just average.

Room Tip: Check on-line in advance for best room rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Burmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Pros: good location on the strip; staff was friendly, GREAT hamburger in the cafe.
Cons: carpets and upholstery stained; had to beg to get more than one washcloth in our room everyday; food was not that great and very pricey; walls in the rooms were so thin we could hear everything the people in the room next door said-even a sneeze! The safe in the room was so small you could hardly fit anything in it. There is an irritating commercial playing in the elevators over and over and over again. We did not choose this hotel-it was a company trip-but if we return to Vegas, it will not be at the Monte Carlo....I was expecting more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakiLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was my first time to vegas. Wasn't sure how much I would spend in my room, so I picked a hotel the I thought was average in price. It was actually a very nice stay. The pool was a lot of fun and clean. The rooms were tidy and the beds were comfy. The only negative is that they could upgrade their carpets which were filthy...but not the end of the world. Location was good, right on the strip. The buffet was also just ok...the food wasnt spectacular but it wasn't the worst. Had some nice shops and I liked how it was connected to the Aria.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adimars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,822 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#49 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,173 reviews
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £63 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, MGM Resorts International, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing