We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #114 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“could be so much better”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We came on a holiday weekend, so I'm sure that plays a part of what I experienced. We checked in late on a Thursday night. We had reserved three nights, requesting a king bed, non smoking. When we arrived, the clerk told us that he only had smoking double rooms left. I asked if he had any upgrades, that would allow us to have no-smoking. I said I would even pay for the upgrades. He said, very sorry, but there is nothing else other than smoking rooms. At the same time as I was trying not to be angry, my husband handed me some cash that he wanted to put into my wallet. The clerk saw me now holding cash and said, oh I think I can arrange a non-smoking room for you. He never typed anything into his computer, he didn't talk with another co-worker, he just suddenly knew there was a non-smoking room, as long as cash was being shown.

So we got our non-smoking room, which was very worn. The carpeting was torn in several places, one area which even had tape on it to stop the fraying. The lampshade was shattered. But the room was clean, so we didn't let this bother us.

Of the three nights, housekeeping only cleaned our room the first night. The other two days, I guess they couldn't be bothered. No matter, we had hung up our towels to reuse anyway.

The public areas of the casino and the restaurants we tried were enjoyable. The casino was lively and the pool area was nice as well.

I just wish that the first encounter I had at this property was not with such a shady character.

Room Tip: have cash to bribe the clerk to get the room you booked months in advance.
See more room tips
Green Features: Any attempt to conserve resources is a good choice.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear lovepea,

The events described in your travel review are both discouraging, and not in keeping with our strict commitment to superior service. We deeply apologize for the challenges encountered at check-in, and again upon entering your assigned room. Rest assured these unfortunate issues will be revisited upon the appropriate staff here on property, so no future guests are subject to similar shortfalls.

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,204
    6,032
    3,575
    1,348
    856
See reviews for
3,023
6,258
610
1,189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We've been to several steak houses everywhere we go. Brand Mac n cheese is awesome as well as the creamed spinach for sides. We enjoy all of their steaks so far. If ur just grabbing a quick bite and beer their pub has some delicious Philly cheesesteak sliders. Ur only mistake would b not to hit either of these spots

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innerfatkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The casino is nice but does not led the show at the Monte Carlo. The amenities, shops, restaurants and pubs, are great.

The ambiance is upscale casual. The buffet was delicious with a random Chinese option at breakfast.

There are basic shops, a food court and a team to aria, Vdara and the Bellagio. A good place to rest and call home on your Vegas stay. It is quiet enough to be relaxing with enough to do to stay busy

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zkrscasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear zkrscasa,

It’s nice to know you found great comfort and value in your recent visit to Monte Carlo. With fantastic casual and fine dining options, plus incredible shopping choices along our Street of Dreams, the MC is a fun and affordable travel destination in Las Vegas. We appreciated your patronage, and hope you’ll be calling Monte Carlo home each time you visit Sin City!

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent a week at the Monte Carlo. Staff were friendly and the rooms were comfortable. Only complaint I have is the pool had way to many kids and our internet in the room didn't work! Asides from the location (being at the bottom of the strip) I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Caitlin C,

We were delighted to host your week long stay in Las Vegas, and pleased to know you enjoyed your time spent at Monte Carlo. With numerous dining options, like our always popular D.Vino and Diablo's Cantina, plus spacious hotel rooms designed for maximum comfort, there really is no safer bet in town. Please, hurry back!

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After researching the large variety of Hotels Las Vegas has, we found that the Monte Carlo had the best to offer. Great Great location - right in the spot you want to be on along the Strip.
Rooms are great value for money - got a great deal on booking.com! The rooms and facilities were very luxurious. we Had a strip view room for my boyfriend and I (aged 25) and it was awesome.
The staff were always so helpful anytime of day... It is so easy to get to any other Casino from here- even a shuttle bus between some!

Would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Emily1007,

Whether you come here for the convenient location, spectacular Strip views, or the friendly service, you're guaranteed a one of a kind resort experience at Monte Carlo. We appreciate your patronage, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Use the free tram to go to Aria and Bellagio. Got $75 for each room for food credit at the Pub. Not bad for a family stay in Las Vegas. Wifi is only available on the 1st and 2nd floor, it should be available in all rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raychan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Raychan1,

Although we regret the WiFi functionality issues encountered during your stay, we are pleased you found tremendous value in our inexpensive room rates, as well as the complimentary monorail service that connects us to several sister properties. Thank you for staying at Monte Carlo, and please come back again!

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just spent 3 days at the Monte Carlo, it was a fabulous hotel. The rooms were clean and larger than most, the best feature is that we were given the opportunity for a very small fee to check in at 10am and check out at 3pm, we LOVED being able to do this. Front desk staff were fantastic, as were all the staff we encountered, the Mlife customer service staff, the server's, the housekeepers and especially the servers out at the pool, they were cheerful and friendly in 112 degree heat! Great location on the strip and lots of reasonably priced dining options, we love breakfast and happy hour in the Cafe. We will definitely go back, hopefully in March, I'm not even going to look into other hotels, this is where we want to stay. Thanks to all the staff at Monte Carlo for making our vacation so great.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can be loud, but we liked being able to hear the activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcg211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear cmcg211,

Thanks for making Monte Carlo your new home when traveling to Las Vegas! Our fantastic pool facility is a fun way to beat the summer heat, while our beneficial Mlife program rewards you each time you stay and play at any MGM Resorts property. We were grateful for the opportunity to host your recent stay in Sin City, and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Lori P.

Guest Relations Manager
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
guestrelations@montecarlo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#103 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,395 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Resorts International, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing