We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #114 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
columbus, oh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but great value”
Reviewed 6 March 2009

My wife and I booked a trip to vegas from columbus ohio for 3 nights at the monte carlo. The price was incredible compared to other hotels in the same location, we got air and 3 nights for less than $700. I read the reviews and knew what to expect-construction next door, thin walls etc. We actually loved it and thought above all the place was CLEAN. don't listen to what you hear about people saying it is not kept up well, just not true. For this price, you have to be willing to put up with the imperfections and enjoy yourself. We didn't do any expensive meals, but the fee buffet was fine and the cafe was really very good for the money any time of day.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mdanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,195
    6,004
    3,555
    1,337
    833
See reviews for
2,999
6,221
607
1,185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swanton, VT
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Took advantage of the email rate and we were comped 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. Room was large with large bathroom. Very clean with good maid service. Check-in was quick and the lady checking us in was extremely helpful. Despite comments to the contrary, we found this place quiet (much more so than the Mirage). Machines were tight, but the casino is large and easy to get around. Will not eat at the Cafe again. We went for a late lunch and I ordered a simple salad and my wife ordered a sandwich. It took nearly 45 minutes, despite the fact few people were there. No apology even after asking the waitress where our food was. Food was no better than a salad at McDonalds.

We needed a cab to get our rental car. bellhop said that this was a new cabbie, but he told him to just drive down Las Vegas Blvd. the the Fox car rental. When he turned right onto Tropicana Blvd, I asked why. he said that the freeway was quicker. Since it was 9 a.m. and the was no traffic, and only 3 traffic lights to go through, I questioned why. Well after getting off the freeway, he drove right past the rental place and then wanted to drive even further to turn around. He then drove us up to the entrance and expected us to get out and walk across the parking lot to the office. His credentials were not displayed on the dash as required. We were WAY overcharged. This was the trip from hell! The Monte Carlo should not be dealing with thiefs like this. I would absolutely stay at the Monte Carlo again, but would refuse to take another cabbie who is new. Incidentally, this was the only Mid-eastern cabbie we met out of about 6 cab rides.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VTer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, CA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I was very disappointed with the Monte Carlo. We were told it was a four star...far from it. The reason we chose it was because of the pool, but the pool was closed and they didn't tell you unless you asked. They informed us we could use the Bellagio (which they made seem like it's right next door) but it's over half a mile away. The walls were sooo shallow, we heard people's TV's above us, below us, and next to us plus everyone in the halls. The beds were uncomfortable, shower head very low, and the handle to the sink came off when I put it on!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerx40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Minneapolis, MN USA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I stayed at the Monte Carlo Hotel and Casino on March 2, 2009, with my wife, my brother and his wife. We were in town to see The Beatles Love at the Mirage. Overall I would give the Monte Carlo very positive reviews. I like the Monte Carlo because the casino is fairly small by strip standards and not so hard to find people or lengthy walks to get places. The casino was very nice, clean and very good drink service. The rooms were nice and clean. Diablos Cantina was a lot of fun during Happy Hour with crazy drink specials with the female bartender pouring wild shots while standing on the bar. My only complaint involved an incident at the Cafe and involves something that would have never happened in Vegas 15 years ago before the whole town went corporate. After we returned from the show at the Mirage we went for a quick bite to eat the Cafe before going to bed. While we were in the process of being seated the hostess had a fight with three servers right in front of our table over who was going to be our server. We waited for about 10 minutes and no one even brought water to our table or took our drink orders. If the cafe had been busy I would have understood, but it was close to 90% empty. I called over the hostess to ask if there was a problem and she said someone would be with us shortly. We waited a few more minutes and still no one came to our table to even bring us water, let along take our food order. I then complained rather sternly to the manager about what the problem was with the service. She informed me that if I did not calm down she was going to call security and have me removed. This despite the fact that we had been waiting for 15 minutes with no assurance we would get water let alone dinner. I told her this level of service was not acceptable and she told me that she would not speak to me until I calmed down. I saved her the trouble and our party just left the cafe. 15 years ago that would never have happened in Vegas and is now one of the reasons I go to Laughlin now rather than Vegas. 15 years ago that manager would have go to the kitchen themselves to get the water and probably comped our meals. But in these modern times where these corporate casinos have to squeeze every dime out of every possible source of cash in the hotels customer service has to take a hit. So instead of taking care of us, the manager was complete rude and disrepectful to me and probably cost her resturant $100 that night. In the grand scheme of things that doesn't matter to the Monte Carlo, but it demonstrates how much Las Vegas has changed and not for the better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNBigRedFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We stayed here for the Valentine's weekend. It was much better than expected after reading some of these reviews and we would stay here again forsure! We got the deal from Westjet with 2 free buffets (AMAZING!), 2 drinks and 2 spa passes. We only used the buffet. We also got $10 slot money with the package on top of the $10 for signing up for the MGM card. (The casinos in Old Vegas only give free cards or entry forms for signing up.) The fast food places were ok, but a little expensive.

The room was very nice (especially compared to Stratosphere), the service was great, and the casino had very loose slots. It was the only casino I won in. I also won the free trip to Cancun that the casino in Old Vegas draws each night, but the trip was not free. It would cost over $300 in taxes and fees. We asked for a room away from the construction and we got a room on the 27th floor. We did not hear a thing, and the beds were very comfy.

We saw the V-Show after getting a cheap ticket from a timeshare promo. It was good for $10 but not worth a full price ticket. If you are going to see a show, but the tix for half price on the street. Just get in line early in the morning.

We also went fishing in Lake Mead with a guide and it was AMAZING! We caught 23 fish in 5 hours. It is only 30min away from the strip. The wax museum was ok, but not really worth the price of the ticket and the aquarium at Mandalay Bay was not cheap but very good.

We will definately stay at the Monte Carlo again. Our stay was great! Thanks!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank starshine137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

3 Night stay at a great price.Asked for a room away from construction which they obliged by putting us away from the major City Centre construction.However we still heard construction early from building works near New York New York so ask for a high room.Room was fine,beds comfortable but the walls are very thin and if you have a neighbour with a noisy child like us and you have jet lag it can be a problem.
Loved the Brew Pub downstairs- nice atmosphere and good cheap specials.Casino had a nice atmosphere.Diablo restaurant out front was a little like a conveyor belt with the staff constantly rushing you through to serve the next eaters.The construction work next door also hinders walking up and down the strip as the sidewalk was closed at times causing much crossing over the busy road and extra steps.Also what is it with the people giving out the porn cards on the street .All in I would stay again but would probably wait a while until the construction is finished.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brighty1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York State
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

The Monte Carlo is a great value in a great location. It is safe and clean with nice amenities. It is not as "over-the-top" decor-wise as other Vegas properties. The pool is lovely and suitable for both adults and children. The restaurants provide quality foods appealing to a variety of tastes. The casino is bright and cheerful with a nice range of slots and tables.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CmonLetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#104 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,235 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#49 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Resorts International, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing